Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Portland, OR
Students enrolled: 1,435
Before care: No
After care: No

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Wilson High School 4

Posted December 03, 2014
- a parent
When my child comes home and tells me he "loves all of his teachers," what else can I do but be thrilled? His grades are up from the high pressure college prep school he attended on the East Coast, and his overall enthusiasm for toward his education has changed. My only concern about the school is the amount of money spent on things like the turf field vs. the amount spent on technology.

Wilson High School 3

Posted February 12, 2014
- a parent
Wilson is a very basic school. There are a few great teachers, a few very disrespectful-to-students teachers/staff, and some simply awful ones. Wilson seems to ride on an old reputation of being a great school. But in 2014, I would not concur with that. The arts programs written about are just average, if you're an artist and have insight into arts education. There are just a few AP classes and zero IB. But most of all, the overall school culture is oppressive. There is an excited group led by the principal raising a million for turf for the football field while curriculum suffers; there are teachers with 190 students who have lost their compassion or creativity for anything outside low level thinking such as hand in your work and show up or else, to cope with it; and the school structure itself is full of asbestos. I don't know if it's connected, but my child gets migraines while at school since the first year there. If you are into academics and building a meaningful, holistic, compassionate, strong academic school experience outside sports, I don't recommend Wilson.
1 person found this helpful


Wilson High School 4

Posted January 23, 2014
- a parent
Wilson has a great community and a very supportive atmosphere. Staff are very caring and involved. Lots of AP courses, tons of electives including many in the arts and computer science.

Wilson High School 1

Posted December 09, 2013
- a parent
I was disappointed with Wilson HS. While it may be a good school for the average or above average student it fails miserably for the below average/minority student. Poor communication with parents when there are behavior issues. Poor/slow reaction to bullying. Little or no accommodations for children with learning disabilities. Poor teacher quality for below average students. Poor leadership from administration. Difficult to contact school administration when urgent action is needed. The fault is not entirely with the school. My child and the school gave up on each other. The school recommended that my child move to another alternative school. I think this school can do well with the self motivated/easy to teach students. Any variation from this model (including minority students) will have problems.

Wilson High School 5

Posted February 19, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Wilson High School 0
no rating

Posted August 08, 2008
- a student
Rigorous school - prepared me for college (I could have slept through most of my first year). Great teachers. Ridiculously snobby students.

Wilson High School 5

Posted August 04, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Wilson High School 2

Posted October 26, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Wilson High School 5

Posted October 16, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Wilson High School 5

Posted June 02, 2005
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wilson High School
1151 SW Vermont St, Portland, OR  97219
(503) 916-5280
Last modified Wilson High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Wilson High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top