Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Wilson High School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
No, unless a student is self motivated. No, unless a student is self motivated. No, unless a student is self motivated.

Wilson High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
There is little to no disciplinary actions, and no rules are enforced. You can basically do whatever you feel.


Wilson High School 2

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
No disciplinary action, whatsoever. You can skip as many classes as you like, and your parents will not get either a note or a phone call. There are a few teachers who don't get along well with kids, and some are just bad teachers. My first year, I learned nothing. The rest were OK but otherwise, Wilson High isn't a very good school.

Wilson High School 5

Posted February 26, 2015
- a teacher
Wilson High is a wonderful school in a kind and caring community. Our principal does a fantastic job at listening to students, teachers and parents as we build on the strong programs already in place at our school. We have been recognized for our strong find and performing arts program, our math and computer science program (5 years of CS), our AP classes are robust (18 courses), and our broad range of elective offerings. 88 percent of WHS students attend college right after graduation. We hear from our graduates all the time that our teachers prepared them well for their college level courses. Our school is wonderful! Please come for a visit and learn more about us.

Wilson High School 5

Posted January 26, 2015
- a community member
I came here as a student with autism. This was the best and most autism friendly school I went. Teachers and staff were amazing and very friendly. I had accommodations and the people actually cared for me. My teachers understood my learning needs and they helped me with a lot of support. They worked with me one on one during quiet work time and after school. The school is very strict on bullying, which it's good. I was accepted who I was and I became friends with the girls basketball team as their team manager. They have really good clubs and after school activities with many choices. It's great school and it's always remembered, especially my Senior year. Go Trojans


Wilson High School 4

Posted December 03, 2014
- a parent
When my child comes home and tells me he "loves all of his teachers," what else can I do but be thrilled? His grades are up from the high pressure college prep school he attended on the East Coast, and his overall enthusiasm for toward his education has changed. My only concern about the school is the amount of money spent on things like the turf field vs. the amount spent on technology.

Wilson High School 3

Posted February 12, 2014
- a parent
Wilson is a very basic school. There are a few great teachers, a few very disrespectful-to-students teachers/staff, and some simply awful ones. Wilson seems to ride on an old reputation of being a great school. But in 2014, I would not concur with that. The arts programs written about are just average, if you're an artist and have insight into arts education. There are just a few AP classes and zero IB. But most of all, the overall school culture is oppressive. There is an excited group led by the principal raising a million for turf for the football field while curriculum suffers; there are teachers with 190 students who have lost their compassion or creativity for anything outside low level thinking such as hand in your work and show up or else, to cope with it; and the school structure itself is full of asbestos. I don't know if it's connected, but my child gets migraines while at school since the first year there. If you are into academics and building a meaningful, holistic, compassionate, strong academic school experience outside sports, I don't recommend Wilson.

Wilson High School 4

Posted January 23, 2014
- a parent
Wilson has a great community and a very supportive atmosphere. Staff are very caring and involved. Lots of AP courses, tons of electives including many in the arts and computer science.


Wilson High School 1

Posted December 09, 2013
- a parent
I was disappointed with Wilson HS. While it may be a good school for the average or above average student it fails miserably for the below average/minority student. Poor communication with parents when there are behavior issues. Poor/slow reaction to bullying. Little or no accommodations for children with learning disabilities. Poor teacher quality for below average students. Poor leadership from administration. Difficult to contact school administration when urgent action is needed. The fault is not entirely with the school. My child and the school gave up on each other. The school recommended that my child move to another alternative school. I think this school can do well with the self motivated/easy to teach students. Any variation from this model (including minority students) will have problems.

Wilson High School
no rating

Posted August 08, 2008
- a student
Rigorous school - prepared me for college (I could have slept through most of my first year). Great teachers. Ridiculously snobby students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wilson High School
1151 SW Vermont St, Portland, OR  97219
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (503) 916-5280
Last modified Wilson High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top