Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Elton Gregory Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 679 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 28, 2014

My school is a very good school but we have a lot of kids in class how talk and won't listen to the teacher when he/she is talking. I like the sports program a lot because the games are on a school day instead of a weekend and I think parents really like that because It frees up your weekend when nothing is going on. Subs really like to sub at my school because they say where really good kids. Student review


Posted September 13, 2013

My daughter has been bullied at this school for 3 years! Nothing ever gets handled no matter how often I call!!! Her dad and I are now gonna take her out of this school. Her safety isn't important enough to them! Stop Bullying!!!! One teacher even told her that they didn't like her hair! Seriously not a FAN!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2012

agreed! TEACHER bullying forced my son out of the school and i was then bullied myself with threats of resource officer interviews. the principle is ridiculous, the vice principle a joke. these people do not know how to fairly advocate for our children and their rights against bullies, teachers or otherwise! I encourage all parents of 6-12th graders to investigate the wonderful alternative they have at their fingertips called Redmond Proficiency Academy. These jerks never even told me a thing about them, preferring me to instead just remove my kid from their school, saving them the trouble of having to actually give a care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2011

gives no support for those who are being BULLIED...my child experiene at this school has been an emotional ordeal..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2011

my sons in the 6th grade. So far he is really enjoying his experience. I know that acouple of his teachers are exceptional, and of course some are o.k. He hasn't experience any bulling issues at he grade level yet. Team sports (cross country so far) has been fab for him
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

i go to this school and kids are doing very well! i am in 7th grade and sports are good! we are doing great! I love my school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 17, 2009

My son is a 7th grader and is struggling but I do not believe it is the schools fault. We moved into this district this year and Isaac s need to be more organized has been highlighted as a result of being in a tougher environment. He is challenged and that is a good thing. Also, when he wanted to play basketball and failed to make the varsity or jv squad, he was still able to play intramurals. He hopes to make jv next year. Good for Elton Gregory!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2005

Even though I consider this school to have exceptional academic teachers, the cutbacks to curriculum in recent years has greatly depreciated the entire program. Understandably, the recent population explosion within a short period of time creates many hardships for school staff to provide quality education to students. However, my concern (after personally observing throughout the 2004-2005 school year)is that these highly qualified teachers and staff are spending way too much time monitoring hallways and 'policing' the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2005

i believe that this school is not a very good school. It need a lot of help. There are no after school programs and the sports are not doing too well. My son goes to this school. The kids there are failing to look cool and the ones who do well get caught up in popularity and end up failing with the others after their first taste.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2003

My daughter made Honor Society her first year in Middle School. I feel the school and her teachers as well as the programs helped her achieve all of her goals and will continue to do so.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

184 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
78%
Writing

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
Female56%
Male64%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracial71%
Native Americann/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities23%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation15%

Reading

All Students60%
Female58%
Male61%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracial57%
Native Americann/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation17%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female65%
Male76%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation21%

Reading

All Students77%
Female83%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities28%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation11%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
Female70%
Male67%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities28%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation36%

Reading

All Students66%
Female72%
Male61%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities26%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation18%

Science

All Students72%
Female70%
Male75%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities41%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 66%
Hispanic 16% 21%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Black 1% 3%
Asian 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1220 NW Upas Ave
Redmond, OR 97756
Phone: (541) 526-6440

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT