Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Joseph Lane Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 706 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 8, 2013

My child's classes were so noisy and distracting. A lot of time students were talking, disrespectful while the teacher was teaching and teacher didn't seem to notice or care, my child was not getting any help when she had questions. When I told my concerns to the teachers, I was told that was the "makeup of the class." Way to blame it on the kids, not on your own management of your class. My student has been unhappy all year with this issue, I should have insisted on changing her teachers right of when my child was coming home daily upset from school about the classes but I thought it would get better.....I was wrong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2013

I know there is only one other middle school in this area, but I still would not recommend this school. I don't know if the teachers are overworked or just don't care, but I have never seen such a lack of willingness to help a student. I contacted the school several times for a couple of different issues and never received any type of reply. My child was beyond frustrated and it was just getting worse, so we decided to homeschool. It's only been 3 months, but going great so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2013

If your child is on an IEP, this is not the school for your child. The 6th grade teachers my daughter had were very condescending to her, constantly pointing her out as to one of those kids who go to the resource room with a special ed. teacher. The teachers told me outright that my daughter did not belong in their classes and needed to be in special ed classes for most of the day, as they were not "equipped" to suit her needs. Got a long speech from them about state testing scores. I got the impression that this was all these particular teachers cared about. My daughter did not enjoy her 6th grade experience because of her teachers and how rude and condescending they were to her and other students. In fact, her resource teacher was the only teacher she liked because she wasn't treated "special" and was treated with kindness instead of rudeness. My daughter did great once in 7th grade as the teachers did not view her as just a test score, but a capable student. The 6th grade teachers, however, have much lacking in the kindness and professionalism department.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2008

If you live in Roseburg, there are only two choices of middle school: Jo Lane and Fremont. Between them, I'd say Jo Lane stands head and shoulders over Fremont. The teachers are quite good (despite what the administration may lack...)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2007

Why dont i know anything about the pricipals leadership! I am hoping with all the influx of students this year / additional revenue's generated, that more activities will be held for the students!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2007

I have taugth at two middle schools, one high school, and at Pitchford Boys Ranch. Joseph Lane Middle School is an excellent school. Hallways are peaceful, School expectations are clear, and staff, including custodial, are united. I would not hesitate to send my child to this school; nor would I turn down an offer to teach there again if I still lived in the Roseburg area. Gregory H. Allbright, M.Ed.-Teacher--South Fork High School, Miranda, California.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 26, 2004

I loved this school! The teachers made everything really fun and I learned so much! I had a ton of homework, though. But I did it and passed with flying colors. If a class wasn't available for the more advanced kids, we would ride the bus to RHS to take the class and then go back to Jo Lane. I miss that school so much! I thought about purposely flunking to stay there another year!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 1, 2004

Acedemically this school needs help! As for children with acedemic gifts this school provides little challenge. There are few if any classes for the gifted. This past year my daughter was in the seventh grade; she had no challenge all year. On top of that they no longer offer a foriegn language, so this year my daughter will have to attend the high school so she can take spanish. The math program needs great improvment (but that is throught the district). My daughter will not be attending Rousburg High School in the following year. To be where she needs to be in the 9th grade at a different school she needs to take classes that are not offered. This school is prime example of what education has become!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

238 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

214 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

214 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

210 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students52%
Female48%
Male55%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic25%
Multiracial67%
Native Americann/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation8%

Reading

All Students64%
Female64%
Male64%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracial61%
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation17%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
Female69%
Male61%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracial73%
Native American43%
White66%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation8%

Reading

All Students76%
Female78%
Male75%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracial93%
Native American57%
White77%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation18%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
Female79%
Male64%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic72%
Multiracial73%
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities32%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation28%

Reading

All Students63%
Female72%
Male54%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracial55%
Native Americann/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities16%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation13%

Science

All Students67%
Female65%
Male70%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic72%
Multiracial41%
Native Americann/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities44%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation41%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 65%
Hispanic 8% 21%
Two or more races 8% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Black 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2153 NE Vine St
Roseburg, OR 97470
Phone: (541) 440-4104

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Geneva Academy
Roseburg, OR


Cobb Street School
Roseburg, OR



Phoenix School
Roseburg, OR




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT