Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wright Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 433 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2012

I have attended Faye Wright when I was growing up over 15 years ago. I didn't realize it at the time, but looking back I can recall having a wonderful opportunity for acheivement. The school had a sense of kindness, a perseverance in helping students like me improve, and organization that I had not experienced again until attending college. Now, I've often been tempted to move back to Salem so that my children can grow up, and be educated there as well.


Posted February 3, 2012

WE moved in middle of school year last year and My kids have grown so much, and felt welcome, the teachers and the staff are amwazing
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

Faye Wright Elementary School has been such a perfect school for my daughter. The teachers and staff members really 'Go the extra mile' to make sure that each and every student feels important and valued in their school community. I really feel fortunate to have such a great elementary school for my daughter to attend. When asked by others about which school our daughter attends, we as a family are proud to say, 'Faye Wright Elementary School in Salem, Oregon!'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

Excellent school, they address the needs of my children with learning disabilities. Also, my brothers and sisters attended Wright, my kids are being taught by the same teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

My two kids have graduated out of Faye Wright. The teachers and staff were all wonderful. They were open and responsive to feedback and new ideas. The teacher remember the kids when they are there just to visit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2004

My kids have a great time at Faye Wright, and the staff there are all very helpful. I wish that I had educators like these when I was a child. They really care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2004

I have 2 children attending this school the teachers and staff are top notch. I would reccomemd this school to others anytime
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

My daughter is in her 5th year at Wright and loves it. I am very happy with the staff and the school. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2003

My daughter has gone to Faye Wright for 3 years and the teachers and staff are outstanding! From behing the scenes as a volunteer I have met others who are also very involved with the school, its a very well rounded school.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students67%
Female63%
Male69%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracial46%
Native Americann/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities53%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation50%

Reading

All Students68%
Female67%
Male69%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracial64%
Native Americann/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities47%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
Female61%
Male75%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities54%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation60%

Reading

All Students71%
Female73%
Male69%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female85%
Male71%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracial50%
Native Americann/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation30%

Reading

All Students79%
Female82%
Male74%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracial50%
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities40%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation33%

Science

All Students83%
Female85%
Male81%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracial67%
Native Americann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities60%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 66%
Hispanic 13% 21%
Two or more races 9% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Asian 1% 4%
Black 1% 3%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4060 Lone Oak Rd SE
Salem, OR 97302
Phone: (503) 399-3198

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





H.I.S. Academy
Salem, OR



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT