Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Grant Community School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2014

My son attends Grant school's special education Emotional Growth Center (EGC). They are FANTASTIC with his special needs. The teacher texts me with questions, and calls me at any hour if I have questions or concerns. The IEP team has been supportive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2012

My review may be a bit different as I am not a parent of a student attending Grant, but rather a former student myself. Granted, this was thirteen years ago, but of all my academic career, the year I spent at Grant (4th grade) was the best of them all! I really loved the bilingual system and it actually ended up really helping me once I entered junior high and high school and began taking Spanish. The Spanish I learned at Grant put me way ahead of my peers. While I'm not fluent, I know enough Spanish to pass as bilingual, and this has allowed me to get jobs I wouldn't have gotten otherwise (it's a requirement to be a nurse at Salem hospital). So to anyone who isn't quite sure about it yet, you might want to consider the area you're living in first before pulling your kid out. We live in an area with a very high Hispanic population, so learning Spanish at a young age would not be a bad thing at all.


Posted May 29, 2008

At Grant the teachers are very dedicated to helping each student succeed. You cant get lost in the crowd and if you fail the class, your parents get a phone call, and you work out a plan on how to succeed. Also, at Grant despite being a small school, they offer many classes such as Art, Orchestra, Band, Technology, etc. that many other schools do not offer. The bilingual program is great, and after going up to 8th grade the students are almost completely fluent. This school can really help kids succeed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 18, 2007

I would not recommend this bi-lingual school to another family. If you don't speak english it's great. The english speakers, and bright kids get left behind. My daughter is above average, gifted, I believe she wouldn't have academically come so far if she had been in Grant for her entire elementary years. We were only there for some months in 5th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2007

Grant is great. All the teachers try their hardest to help the kids learn. Some of the kids came here not knowing how to speak English. Now they can speak English. This is helping their future.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 3, 2006

I will agree that the quality of teacher at Grant is excellent. Unfortunately, we found that this program is not being taught the way it was presented to us. These students don't even begin basic skills like writing, math and reading in english until the third grade! Considering 75% of the students already speak spanish, it has become evident that english only students are left at a diadvantage. We were more than diappointed with the curriculum. While 3/4 of my son's class thrived, my own son fell horribly behind. If your child speaks english only, this program can actually be harmful to their education. Our son will be in one of the schools new english only classes this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2004

The teachers are great at this school. However, I don't think the only bilingual should be spanish. We are in America and not Mexico. The kids should be offered several languages because their are more people here than just hispanics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2004

As a parent of a third-grader at Grant, I have noted the extraordinary enthusiasm and energy shown by the teachers and staff of this school. I strongly support the notion of bi-lingual education for all, and quite obviously the teachers do, too. The principal, Grant Foster, has been at the school for quite some time. He strikes me as a strong example of quiet leadership. I can whole-heartedly recommend Grant Elementary to most other parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
65%
Writing

2010

 
 
37%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students37%
Female33%
Male41%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learners21%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students40%
Female50%
Male30%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learners17%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students55%
Female57%
Male52%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities<=5%
English language learners33%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students65%
Female68%
Male61%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learners33%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students34%
Female40%
Male29%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic22%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities<=5%
English language learners6%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students48%
Female55%
Male42%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learners22%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students46%
Female55%
Male38%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities<=5%
English language learners22%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted88%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 54% 21%
White 34% 65%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 5% 1%
Two or more races 3% 5%
Black 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

725 Market St NE
Salem, OR 97301
Phone: (503) 399-3151

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Sonshine School
Salem, OR







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT