Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Grant Community School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
They teach the core four but I feel that they preference some students over others.

Grant Community School 1

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
This is the worst school I have ever had to deal wit. It used to be tolerable but now that they have this new "principal" it is terrible. My kids are not thriving. They could care less about the kids that are advanced or delayed. My daughter has been asking for homework from her teacher and after an entire semester still no homework. She is bored and doesn't want to go to school. They routinely send my children to the wrong release line and the teachers are, to put it nicely, a challenge to work with.


Grant Community School 5

Posted February 05, 2014
- a parent
My son attends Grant school's special education Emotional Growth Center (EGC). They are FANTASTIC with his special needs. The teacher texts me with questions, and calls me at any hour if I have questions or concerns. The IEP team has been supportive.

Grant Community School 5

Posted September 08, 2012
- a community member
My review may be a bit different as I am not a parent of a student attending Grant, but rather a former student myself. Granted, this was thirteen years ago, but of all my academic career, the year I spent at Grant (4th grade) was the best of them all! I really loved the bilingual system and it actually ended up really helping me once I entered junior high and high school and began taking Spanish. The Spanish I learned at Grant put me way ahead of my peers. While I'm not fluent, I know enough Spanish to pass as bilingual, and this has allowed me to get jobs I wouldn't have gotten otherwise (it's a requirement to be a nurse at Salem hospital). So to anyone who isn't quite sure about it yet, you might want to consider the area you're living in first before pulling your kid out. We live in an area with a very high Hispanic population, so learning Spanish at a young age would not be a bad thing at all.

Grant Community School 4

Posted May 29, 2008
- a student
At Grant the teachers are very dedicated to helping each student succeed. You cant get lost in the crowd and if you fail the class, your parents get a phone call, and you work out a plan on how to succeed. Also, at Grant despite being a small school, they offer many classes such as Art, Orchestra, Band, Technology, etc. that many other schools do not offer. The bilingual program is great, and after going up to 8th grade the students are almost completely fluent. This school can really help kids succeed.


Grant Community School 1

Posted May 18, 2007
- a parent
I would not recommend this bi-lingual school to another family. If you don't speak english it's great. The english speakers, and bright kids get left behind. My daughter is above average, gifted, I believe she wouldn't have academically come so far if she had been in Grant for her entire elementary years. We were only there for some months in 5th grade.

Grant Community School 5

Posted May 16, 2007
- a student
Grant is great. All the teachers try their hardest to help the kids learn. Some of the kids came here not knowing how to speak English. Now they can speak English. This is helping their future.

Grant Community School 4

Posted August 03, 2006
- a parent
I will agree that the quality of teacher at Grant is excellent. Unfortunately, we found that this program is not being taught the way it was presented to us. These students don't even begin basic skills like writing, math and reading in english until the third grade! Considering 75% of the students already speak spanish, it has become evident that english only students are left at a diadvantage. We were more than diappointed with the curriculum. While 3/4 of my son's class thrived, my own son fell horribly behind. If your child speaks english only, this program can actually be harmful to their education. Our son will be in one of the schools new english only classes this year.


Grant Community School 3

Posted October 10, 2004
- a parent
The teachers are great at this school. However, I don't think the only bilingual should be spanish. We are in America and not Mexico. The kids should be offered several languages because their are more people here than just hispanics.

Grant Community School 4

Posted August 18, 2004
- a parent
As a parent of a third-grader at Grant, I have noted the extraordinary enthusiasm and energy shown by the teachers and staff of this school. I strongly support the notion of bi-lingual education for all, and quite obviously the teachers do, too. The principal, Grant Foster, has been at the school for quite some time. He strikes me as a strong example of quiet leadership. I can whole-heartedly recommend Grant Elementary to most other parents.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Grant Community School
725 Market St NE, Salem, OR  97301
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (503) 399-3151
Last modified Grant Community School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top