Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Walker Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
Honestly, by the years end, outside of my son's language arts teacher (who was amazing ty!) the rest of the classes we had to teach him EVERYTHING because his teachers thought him nothing in class. He tried to learn but without proper instruction what is he suppose to take home with him from this?

Walker Middle School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
There was always HOURS upon HOURS of homework for the students, they had NO life outside of homework, and no real direction or in class work. Are they not suppose to be doing work at school too?


Walker Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
No, the teachers (except maybe a few) don't seem to care about their students, expecially if they are struggling, the mentality is better catch up before you get left behind. Thats how my son felt, he was trying but without support from the school there isnt much he can do. Hence why I am puling him out of this school.

Walker Middle School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
Respect did not seem to be an issue, but my son has NEVER ben mouthy wiht an adult except with one of the staff there, wish I could have been a fly on the wall to get the story straight, took me days to determine that my son was in the wrong because none of the staff seemed to be aware of the situation. That being said my son WAS in the wrong but why do the staff not know?!

Walker Middle School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
If your teaches and staff don't care how do you expect your children to? This was the overall mentality, is that "we don't have the time".


Walker Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
Honesty was never put into the picture for the children, all but one of my sons 5 teachers it felt like was only there for the paycheck. The one GOOD teacher there is sadly out numbered by teachers that "just don't have the extra time" to help a normal 11 year old boy pass his classes. Its too "time consuming" And waiting almost 2 weeks to get any sort of feedback regarding your child's work is obscene.

Walker Middle School 1

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
I had to contact the school counselor to get most of my son's teachers to work with me. All they ever wanted to do was send my son to a doctor (he has a short attention span) when there was nothing medically wrong with him, but he needed the extra attention and it was not provided. As a parent not having up to date information or communication with the teachers is important, but was not available with the staff here. As a result, we have chose to put my son into an online class where I can be present because this school wont help children that need that extra little help, because its inconvenient.

Walker Middle School 5

Posted September 20, 2012
- a parent
Great school. Walker has gone through a tremendous transformation in the last couple of years. It has a new talented principal. It has half the number of kids it had just a year ago (because of the new middle school in the area) and is in fact the smallest public school in the district (not considering charter schools). The building is in good condition due to the bond repairs. My child is happy and academically challenged; the teachers are outstanding. My child was assigned a research project just two weeks into the school year (6th grade) in social studies; was tested and placed appropriately in advanced math. Walker s test scores are best or second best (depending on grade and subject) in the district. Walker has been a not-yet-discovered gem of a school in the last two years.


Walker Middle School 2

Posted March 27, 2009
- a parent
A disaster waiting to happen. Overcrowded, rundown building. Likely gang activity. Weak response to reported behavioral problems. My child has been bullied here and her classroom needs not consistently addressed. However, great orientation for 6th graders and some excellent teachers.

Walker Middle School 4

Posted January 12, 2008
- a parent
My daughter has loved all three of her years at Walker--great friends, great teachers. Lots of student opportunity to get involved outside of the classroom.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Walker Middle School
1075 8th St NW, Salem, OR  97304
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (503) 399-3220
Last modified Walker Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top