Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Salem, OR
Students enrolled: 535
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Walker Middle School 5

Posted September 20, 2012
- a parent
Great school. Walker has gone through a tremendous transformation in the last couple of years. It has a new talented principal. It has half the number of kids it had just a year ago (because of the new middle school in the area) and is in fact the smallest public school in the district (not considering charter schools). The building is in good condition due to the bond repairs. My child is happy and academically challenged; the teachers are outstanding. My child was assigned a research project just two weeks into the school year (6th grade) in social studies; was tested and placed appropriately in advanced math. Walker s test scores are best or second best (depending on grade and subject) in the district. Walker has been a not-yet-discovered gem of a school in the last two years.

Walker Middle School 2

Posted March 27, 2009
- a parent
A disaster waiting to happen. Overcrowded, rundown building. Likely gang activity. Weak response to reported behavioral problems. My child has been bullied here and her classroom needs not consistently addressed. However, great orientation for 6th graders and some excellent teachers.


Walker Middle School 4

Posted January 12, 2008
- a parent
My daughter has loved all three of her years at Walker--great friends, great teachers. Lots of student opportunity to get involved outside of the classroom.

Walker Middle School 2

Posted November 20, 2007
- a parent
My daughter enjoys art there, not a bad school. However I agree it is way overcrowded and is semi rundown. This comunity needs a new school

Walker Middle School 5

Posted September 25, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Walker Middle School 0
no rating

Posted September 12, 2007
- a parent
Impressed with the organization. The first day of school was pleasent for my family. Thank you Walker Middle School Staff

Walker Middle School 2

Posted April 30, 2007
- a parent
Way overcrowded;runs almost like a correctional facility; building and grounds in poor shape; in need of a new school. Mixture of excellent and not so good teachers.

Walker Middle School 5

Posted January 12, 2004
- a parent
Walker has been given a bum rap. Walker is a great school. Terrific teachers and an outstanding Principal.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Walker Middle School
1075 8th St NW, Salem, OR  97304
(503) 399-3220
Last modified Walker Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Walker Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top