Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sprague High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 27, 2011

As a former student, two years out and in college, I can say in retrospect that Sprague is a very strange place. I agree with another review on here that the math department is a joke. Most of my peers that graduated and went on to college were unprepared, largely due to the disinterested and standoffish math teachers who have had multiple complaints filed against them, but nothing has changed. I can say that the writing/English program is exceptionally good, and in that respect I was more than prepared when I got to college (I took honors and AP). They do, as someone else pointed out on here, track students (put them on an AP/honors track or a remedial track), and it is very difficult to move up to the higher track. The problem with such a system, obviously, is that the remedial track has lower expectations and generally not-so-great teachers. In my opinion, tracking hurts students in the middle of the academic pack the most since they are given the lowest expectations, worst teachers, and least room to grow. It's not a terrible school, and some of the teachers are outstanding, but even the AP and honors classes taught by the best teachers there were not academically challenging.


Posted March 9, 2010

I almost died at Sprague. Yes, died. I was struggling with depression at the time. I got no support despite all of the people I reached out to. When I confronted my councilor, she called the police into the office. When all I wanted was to attend an art class, I was rejected. When I pointed to a rule in the handbook that rendered their exclusion unjust, a new rule book was printed. Why? Because I was a homeless student from a low income family and did not participate in cheer leading or volleyball. And I brought down their image. If you are a student at Sprague or have a student at Sprague that is independent, an out of box thinker, or a non conforming human being, get out while you still can.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2009

I no longer attend Sprague High School, but I regret to say my time there was time wasted. The school was crowded, teachers, staff, and students alike were generally rude and dismissive, and classes were far too strict and structured to allow for any room to grow. They would not allow me to advance into an AP class in one subject because my grades in another were only average. I failed many classes because teachers couldn't/wouldn't offer assistance to students who were struggling. I admit the Sports and Music programs were supurb, but overall, that's not important. I had one teacher out of two years who could give me my name without checking a roll call sheet. Many of my former peers agreed that unless you stood out, you weren't called by your name, which is important for growing young adults. I'm glad I didn't waste my high school career here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 16, 2008

Sprague seems like a good school, but my son had a lot of problems there and was very unhappy and complained about rudeness of both staff and students. Then he went to South and still had lots of academic problems but is much happier with staff and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

Staff is very enthusiastic and willing to teach, and they also help you not get behind.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 3, 2008

Sprague High School is Awesome! My daughter came in the middle of her freshman year and they did a great job helping her to adjust. Teachers, counselors and staff are so supportive. I am forever greatful to them, especially Ms. Nancy Olsen and Jane in the office - Thank you so much. Hope your having a wonderful summer. We'll see you in a couple of years when Thomas arrives!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2006

I must say that this school is wonderful! They have great extracurricular activities for all the students that want to be involved. In 2005 we were football state champians and this year we were one away from the semi finals. We also have a really good governing board that really does a lot for the school and cares about all the students and staff. Sprague's governing board does a lot to get student involvement. The teachers at this school really go out of their way to help students out in anyway they can. They really strive to prepare students for adulthood and college with the many different classes the school provides. I would'nt want to go to any other school in Salem.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 6, 2005

I am a student at Sprague. My sister graduated from there in 2000 and my brother did this year. I love it there, I would never even think of changing schools. They have excelent classes for everyone. I love the music programs, they are awesome. I am in choir and love it. There is a lot of parental involvement, you can walk into one of the offices and you will see parents helping out. The security guards are nice, they can be tough, but thats their job. If you are nice to them they are nice to you. I love it at Sprague and so did my siblings. I would never change schools. -Erin
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 13, 2005

I am a graduate of Sprague. I'm currently in Dental School and constantly find myself thinking back to what I learned in high school. Most students don't have that luxury. I feel blessed to have had such wonderful instructors and still keep in touch with several of them eight years after graduation. The sports teams, the music program, the student newspaper are all superb. Someday I may end up raising my family in Salem and I would definitely look for homes in the Sprague area.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 1, 2005

My son attended this school. He was absolutely miserable there. The school did not meet my son's educational needs, thus we transferred him to South Salem High. His grades went from D's and F's to A's and B's. The entire attitude of the school is unsupportive and dismissive. I wouldn't recommend this school unless there was an entire staff turnover from administration to faculty. The new principal is much better than the last one and I am glad to see the change, but they still have a long way to go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2004

I'm going to be honest, I'm not a parent, but I am a student at Sprague High School. I love it there! There's such a wide variety of kids to make friends with, and the teachers are fantastic...even the hall monitors are nice. There's plenty of activites to keep us busy after school, and even on weekends sometimes! I have a great time, and wouldn't ever think of changing schools!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2010.

2010

 
 
83%
Science

2010

 
 
72%
Writing

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

355 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

354 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
>=95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

355 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2013.

356 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female86%
Male85%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander76%
Hispanic80%
Multiracial91%
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students>=95%
Female>=95%
Male94%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander91%
Hispanic95%
Multiracial92%
Native Americann/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities77%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students79%
Female78%
Male81%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander71%
Hispanic74%
Multiracial83%
Native Americann/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities48%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Writing

All Students72%
Female81%
Male62%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander71%
Hispanic73%
Multiracial63%
Native Americann/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities26%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 65%
Hispanic 11% 21%
Two or more races 6% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 4%
Black 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2373 Kuebler Blvd South
Salem, OR 97302
Phone: (503) 399-3261

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT