Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Vincent De Paul School

Private | PK-6 | 87 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Salem

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $110,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

3rd generation at this school.My father, aunts and uncles went to this school. My cousins and I gradutaed from here. My son recently graduated and my youngest son is in 5th grade.This school has so much to offer to the children and families. The teachers are so talented and the administration is wonderful.The faith and values the children receive are outstanding. You grow as a family while your children attend here. Lasting friendships not only for your children but for yourself. The parents are higly invovled.This is a place that will enrich you for a lifetime. I am so glad it is still educating children. You have to check out for yourself. there are so many rewards to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2013

I went to St. Vincent's many years ago. I loved it. My education there was the best prep for college I could ever have. I graduated from there in 1971. It was the best and I hope others have the same experience. Have fun !


Posted May 17, 2011

My son began in the 5 day per week PreK program & is now in the 5th grade & thriving. I really like the combined classrooms because it give him a chance to excell above his grade level. My daughter is currently in the 5 day per week PreK program & loving it! At her last review, her teacher said she was "kindergarden ready" at age 4!! Excellent school & teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2009

My two sons attend this school, we love it! Very high parent involvment, loving atmosphere, we are totally accepted even though we are not catholic. Teachers respect our Christian religon, discussing religious ed w/ me before it is taught. Family atmosphere, Teachers love the students, Carol in the office is like a second mom to all. Highly reccomend this school, no matter your religion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

This school uses blended grade classes to enhance achievement for students. All classes have core subjects instruction at same time so students can move between classrooms to meet their academic needs. They expect a high degree of respect and responsibility. Nice little school with high degree of parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2007

This school is a small (128) neighborhood private school. They offer Preschool (3 yr. olds), prekindergarten (4 yrs. old), full day Kindergarten, and grades 1st-6th. Planned for 2008-2009 is the addition of 7th and 8th grades. Elective band and choir are available. A licensed school counselor, music and PE specialists add to the school offerings. Diversity is celebrated in this Catholic loving and learning community. Very supportive and active Parent Club helps new families become involved. My five children attend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2006

We love St. V's. Our eldest son started in 3 yr old preschool and is now in third grade. On recent testing his reading and math levels were in the junior/high school range. St. V's has a fabuluous music program. The kids are encouraged to be in band and the choir sings at mass. Both of our children participate in CYO sports with other area catholic school kids. Our youngest has also been attending since pre-school. His teacher told us that she thought it would be hard to beat his brother's skills but he is even more advanced! His cousin asked him why he loves his school so much he said because they get to go to church and the teachers! We attribute our children's success to the loving and learning environment and excellent staff! We have made lifelong friendships from volunteering with the other parents. We highly recommend St. V's!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

I love this school! My daughter started the preschool program when she was three, she went two days a week, three hours each day. The four year old program is a 5 day a week, 3 hr program. She is currently in Kindergarden and reads, writes, is articulate, and has been doing math. Since the school is small, she knows all the teachers, the administrative staff, and most of the parent volunteers. She is thriving at St Vincent and I've already registered my son for preschool. The school has students up to 6 grade, and the upper classmen read to the younger students and they do spend some recess time together before/after lunch. All the kids look out for each other and they know each other by name. Its a wonderful school. I'm looking forward to many more years at St V's!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 43% 18%
White 33% 73%
Two or more races 22% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Asian 0% N/A
Black 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • CYO Swimming (2009)
  • CYO Basketball (2008)
  • CYO Swimming (2007)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15
School end time
  • 3:15
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Ruth Whitnah
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (503) 363-1516

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Portland
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • All parents are required to volunteer a minimum of 25 hours, with most families giving much more time.
More from this school
  • It is a safe family oriented school.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Public Schools

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Blanchet Catholic High
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1015 Columbia Street NE
Salem, OR 97301
Phone: (503) 363-8457

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Sonshine School
Salem, OR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT