Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Western Mennonite School

Private | 6-12 | 215 students

Our school is best known for our caring and loving Christian community
 
 

 

Living in Salem

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $190,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Monday, September 15, 2014

Very concerned by the recent actions of the administration. Questionable decisions, lack of professionalism, and poor leadership is taking Western down a path that doesn't reflect a Christ-like walk, and apparently departing from their Mennonite heritage. The school used to have a great reputation, now it's not a viable option for a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2014

Teachers are great- excellent class size but very limited scheduling choices and electives. Administration is very small minded and prejudiced. Teacher turnover is a sign that something is amiss. Students are often treated questionably depending on how much money their parents donate or if they play boys varsity basketball. Practicing the moral code the administration insists they stand for is not seen by parents and alumni. They need to get their act together.....They are needing some fresh Christian oriented leaders. As a parent I have been pleased with the learning but very unhappy with the politics and poor P.R. Very sad to see school image being tarnished after so many years of good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2014

My son attends Western and is thriving both academically and spiritually. The teachers and staff are amazing. It is like a great big family. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

Academics-5 star Spiritual Talk-5 star Spiritual Walk- 3 star Drug Use Ignored- 4 star Bullying Tolerated - 4 star UnChrist-like Administration-4 star There are some amazing teachers, coaches, students & staff. BUT, they live in a bubble of passiveness which makes anyone afraid to stand up for what's right.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2013

I graduated from Western last year and really enjoyed the two years I had there. Western is like my home-- I lived in dorm and love it!! I have good relationships with my teachers. Faculty members respond to students very fast and are very friendly. I am currently a freshman in college and would like to come back to visit Western every year!


Posted May 4, 2012

From our experience all I can say is that I am not impressed. The main reason we sent our child to western mennonite was because he was being bullied in the public school. We were told there was no tolerance for this kind of behavior. From our experience this is not the case. There are other concerns that we have seen, and that is why I will be pulling my child from western mennonite and not be allowing my other child to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2010

Western is a family like school where everyone encourages one another! The staff are also very friendly!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2010

I attended Western Mennonite for 6th grade and I am currently attending 7th. I believe the school is doing well because any bullying (which, by the way, rarely occurs) is addressed immediately, and they have managed to create an environment where students are not afraid to ask for help from the teachers. Also, the teachers are very cooperative with students pre-excusing an absence; they are very helpful and understanding. Overall, a very, very good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 27, 2009

I went to Western for 6th and 7th grade. Its the best school i've ever gone to. The teachers are more like friends, it's not awkward to go in after school and just hang out and talk to them. The whole atmosphere is great. They are very good academically too.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 2, 2005

We have two children at this school. One has been there fro Grade 6 to Grade 10 and the other from Grade 6-7. The results are exceptional and result in high academic outcomes.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted May 11, 2004

I am a '69 graduate of this school and then all 3 of my children graduated from WMS. They had a great experience and were very prepared for college. After my daughter's first college chemistry test, she called to thank her HS chemistry teacher for preparing her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

I am a 1988 graduate from Western Mennonite, and am sending my daugter this year. I can't say enough good about WMS!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 65%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 4%
Hispanic 5% 21%
Black 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Riviera Christian School
Sonshine Christian School
Brush College Elementary School
Colleges most students attend after graduation Hesston College
Corban University
George Fox University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Science lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Computer programming

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Anime club
  • Woodshop
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:45 pm
School Leader's name
  • Paul Schultz
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Some boarding, some day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Mennonite
Fax number
  • (503) 370-9455

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Business management
  • Computer programming

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Anime club
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • International Club
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Woodshop
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
90
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
100
Students typically come from these schools
Riviera Christian School
Sonshine Christian School
Brush College Elementary School

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$7000 - $9000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Hesston College
Corban University
George Fox University
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9045 Wallace Rd NW
Salem, OR 97304
Website: Click here
Phone: (503) 363-2000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT