Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Abiqua School 1

Posted June 28, 2015
- a parent
What I would have rated this school a few years ago and what I rate it now are vastly different. What you think of Abiqua will depend on how long your kids have been at the school and whether or not they went to the middle school. Abiqua Academy (its new name) is a vastly different culture than Abiqua School. If you are looking for a prep school where homework is more important than sleep, along with a dash of arrogance and dismissiveness, this is your school. If you are looking for a well balanced lifestyle for your child with exposure to good music programs, sports, good academics, and a lot of different peers, stop. This isn't your school. The middle schoolers go on a trip every year so in addition to the $12,000 in tuition, you will want to budget an additional $3000 or so per person for the trip. If your child doesn't go on the trip, they aren't given a serious education that week so it is wasted money. The school is also heavy on donations and an email already went out this past school year about how they will need everyone's support for the new high school. If you enroll in the fall, just plan to be inundated with requests for money. The middle school is bleeding students so those missing tuition dollars will need to be made up by the remaining parents. Then there are the practical things you don't think about as a parent. The middle school gets out at 3:30 which is an hour after Salem-Keizer. So if you have a child that wants to play football, for example, you have to decide if you are going to pull them out of school early to make practices. The community is geared about public schools, and Abiqua's schedule isn't in sync with that.

Abiqua School 1

Posted May 04, 2015
- a parent
After committing the resources for Abiqua I felt a bit mislead. Despite the small class sizes students DO NOT get individualized teaching. I found out late in the year that the testing they do is just for the office and doesn't benefit the kids. Students are all clumped towards the mean and advanced students are held back for teacher convenience rather than placed based on their test results. The music program leaves a great deal to be desired and repeats identically each year so no opportunity for advancement exists. There is a culture of extortative intimidation by the administration to solicit donations which begins once you sign your contract. Despite the advertised cost there are numerous "hidden fees" that add up quite a bit such as "field trip fees", "technology fees", "technology maintenance fee", inflated costs for iPads that you have to buy through the school. Plus they change required technology arbitrarily so you might have to buy multiple iPads or computers. Plus tuition rises each year despite the fact that they do not provide more each year. Finally, any attempt to address any topic with the office is met with a smile, a nod, and no further action.
1 person found this helpful


Abiqua School 5

Posted March 19, 2015
- a teacher
Abiqua Academy is not only a wonderful place to work but it is one of the best schools in the Willamette Valley for PreK-12. Students are given one-on-one time with teachers at every grade level. Abiqua provides an environment that allows students to thrive.

Abiqua School 1

Posted February 08, 2015
- a parent
Having had multiple kids at the school for multiple years I have noticed a trend towards mediocrity. Despite ever increasing tuition which is now over $10 K per child the overall quality of education is declining. The school has had a great deal of teacher turnover recently. The classes are being combined and taught at a lower level than they once were. The Principal acts like a greeter at the door each morning but cannot retain good teachers. Additionally, the principal wants zero parent involvement (unless you are donating more money). Discipline has also been a major problem especially with bullying which the school seems unable to manage.
4 people found this helpful

Abiqua School 2

Posted March 09, 2014
- a parent
Abiqua school has been drastically changing it's direction in recent years. This shift causes valid concerns on either side of the issue. There are people happy with it and others quite unhappy. Both sides will have valid views. The reputation it has enjoyed is shifting and where that will stop is still to be seen.
3 people found this helpful


Abiqua School 1

Posted February 25, 2014
- a parent
Tuition at Abiqua School is over $10,000. Annual giving donation is a requirement. Registration Fee is $1000 per child. Capital Campaign contributions are made through binding contracts. Since the school is in an aggressive growth period, more of this hard earned tuition money is being spent on speculation. As a parent it feels like academic preparation has taken a back seat to creating an illusion of exclusivity. In the past teachers were allowed to keep pace with the individual student so that advanced children could be challenged. Now our new administrator prefers that all the kids get the same curriculum and meet the same standards. The result is that even though some classes are as small as seven kids some are lost and others are bored to tears. It just is no longer a good value for academics.
3 people found this helpful

Abiqua School 5

Posted January 19, 2014
- a parent
My children are entirely different learners but Abiqua's individualized attention makes it possible for each of them to be confident and successful, despite the rigorous curriculum. The teachers and staff really know what they're doing. We couldn't be happier with our choice.

Abiqua School 5

Posted January 16, 2014
- a parent
Abiqua is an amazing school- the sense of community and dedication to academic excellence ensure that our children will have the best possible foundation in life.


Abiqua School 1

Posted December 17, 2013
- a parent
Dear Board Member: We are writing you this letter because we disagree with the path the school is taking under the direction of the new Head and we believe it is no longer safe to voice these concerns to her. It would be easy for each of you, individually, to decide that the problem is a few outspoken people who get everyone riled up . You may never imagine who has contributed to this letter. Contrary to what the Head has said, we are not mad at the school . We think the school is great and feel lucky to have hired so many talented and loving teachers. This special staff has been built over years of careful selection and they are absolutely devoted to their profession. Furthermore, we have a great new facility with a beautiful playground and tons of parking. We pay our tuition in full, contribute to all requests for donations and volunteer whenever possible. We are a supportive part of the Abiqua community. We have chosen to stay at Abiqua even though there are other private school options for us, as she has offered.
3 people found this helpful

Abiqua School 1

Posted December 07, 2013
- a parent
At Abiqua obedience from parents is a requirement. Head of school knows what is best for your child. Dear Parents, Abiqua has a mission to provide the best for our students through an integrated, engaging curriculum in all subject areas. This commitment is implemented and created through a shared vision of the teachers and administration. As an Independent School our teachers work collectively to develop and present a rigorous curriculum aligned with our mission by constantly keeping current with best practices. This begins with looking at the standards. Educational standards help teachers ensure their students have the skills and knowledge they need to be successful. Standards provide clear goals for student learning. While individual states have developed their own standards, the nation s governors and education commissioners, through their representative organizations, the National Governors Association (NGA) and the Council of .... blah, blah, blah... Jo Ann
2 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Abiqua School
6974 Bates Rd S., Salem, OR  97302
(503) 399-9020
Last modified Abiqua School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Abiqua School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top