Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Salem, OR
Students enrolled: 1,722
 

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

9 reviews of this school


West Salem High School 5

Posted April 19, 2012
- a community member
I am a student at West, and this school is the best there is in Oregon.

West Salem High School 5

Posted October 28, 2010
- a parent
This school has something for every student. The environment is open and welcoming, and the staff are very responsive--amazingly so. The music program is outstanding and is only getting better. The honors classes offered finally (after lackluster years in elementary and middle school) challenge my kids. Finally, the school counselors really care and work very hard to help college bound kids.


West Salem High School 3

Posted October 14, 2009
- a student
This school is okay. The school itself is great, and most of the teachers are amazing. But the spirit of the school is dead. And that takes a lot from it. I really dislike it there.

West Salem High School 5

Posted October 28, 2008
- a student
west salem is hands down the best school in salem and maybe evan in oregon it is buetiful and the teachers and students are great! i love going to school here

West Salem High School 5

Posted November 25, 2007
- a parent
Excellent school. Dedicated teachers. Beautiful facility.


West Salem High School 5

Posted September 12, 2005
- a student
West Salem High is by far the best well led school in the state that I have seen. The way are school elections run is by far the best that has been experimented with. As well we have an excellent staff that is great at working with kids and giveing good quality teaching methods. I will tell anyone to go to West Salem High any day.

West Salem High School 1

Posted June 01, 2005
- a parent
This is a great school. The layout is very well designed and the classrooms are more like a college setting. I recommend the Youth and Law class because I think it's the best. My son loves all of his classes and will be sorry to leave because it has been a real bonding experience for both of us with all of their extracurricular activities that we share. West Salem is the best part of Salem because of the homes, school, and neighborhood. I hope it doesn't grow anymore than it has. It's always been our best kept secret.

West Salem High School 5

Posted November 14, 2004
- a student
West Salem High School is an amazing school itself. It is gorgeous. All with their great school they also host an amazing vocal jazz group. They even have their own jazz festival! This is a great place to go if you want your kids to excel in the arts.


West Salem High School 5

Posted August 12, 2003
- a student
West Salem is a school with great opportunities, I am a graduate of the first class of 2003 and I transferred my senior year from a small private school and I have never regretted that decision. I grew so much at West Salem with the teachers 1 on 1 attention. This year I am prepared to attend my four-year college in the fall and without the teachers and classes at West I would not have been prepared at all, I would have likely struggled, I would recommend West Salem High to anyone!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Salem High School
1776 Titan Way, Salem, OR  97304
(503) 399-5533
Last modified West Salem High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
West Salem High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top