Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Faulconer-Chapman School

Public | K-8 | 638 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 24, 2014

I am very happy with this school. In fact I'm staying in Sheridan just to keep my kids in FCS. Last year I had a few issues with the safety of the school ground (mainly the lack of fencing/security gates) but they added two fencing a All around and the gate remain locked at ask times. It's great! The office ladies are really nice and go out of their way for the kids. They always answer the phone right away. Ms Arthur is a very understanding and creative kindergarten teacher. My son really made leaps and bound in her class. Ms VanDyke had also been fantastic. My daughter had been very challenging and she hasn't given up on her and always seems upbeat and positive. She has given me a lot of help and advice with my daughters behavioral issues. I'm always greeted with a smile when I come into the school (which is often) great staff! Haven't had any issues with bullying. Parent involvement seems to be really high also. Highly recomed it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

School grounds are always cleaned/well taken care of. They have anti bully days and fire safety days (which my children learned a lot from) Mr. Hank is a very understanding country bus driver. Great parent/teacher communication. My children's teachers always respond to my emails. Very pleased w/this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2012

I had an amazing time attending this school they have gotton a lot better with the bullying issue. going to this school was the best years of my life they have a lot of activitys for the students like After schoool program titan night in, sports and they have a student store and a talent show this school has been amazing im so sad I had to move the people are great well most of them and i loved it here


Posted February 13, 2012

This school has a lot of bullying! My child pretended to be sick everyday to get out of going, he was threatened to be locked in his locker! I read a comment about how they need more parents, especially at recesses, and it's true but only cuz the teachers on duty ignore. I had to go deal w/problems cuz the teacher didn't care to! At one point my child was lost for awhile, after the search, it turned out that he was sent to the wrong place after school due to a teacher misdirecting him. I thought that was inappropriate, considering the worse case scenario he could've been put on the wrong bus and sent anywhere! My child reads at a grade level above his age and not only did they not see that, but actually called him stupid - to his face! He cried and the teacher didn't see the effect she had on him, I promptly removed him from the school. I could not believe how very unprofessional everyone was at the school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2010

I agree that there is bullying in this school but a lot of the problem is the parents and the attitute that "kids will be kids". I am a parent volunteer and worked the field trips and helped in the classroom once a week and I saw this attitude from the parents. I saw kids flat out hit other kids and flip them off and had markers thrown at me personally. The response from the parent was "Oh he is just stuborn." The school can only do so much it is up to us as parents to do the rest. The other problem in the classrooms are have many special needs children there are that disrupt the entire class everyday. How can a teacher teach when a child is throwing themself on the ground screaming because they did not ge their way. And this is one of 5 problem children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I feel the teachers are doing as much as they can considering the number of children they have in the classroom. I do not feel that there is enough parent involement as needed. I read all the complaints about the school but how many parents are doing anything to improve it? There are so many ways to help and they don't all take numerous hours to accomplish. As far as the bullying goes, how about coming to school to help with the recesses. I also have to say our principal is doing everything a human can do for the kids, what more could we ask of her? If the classrooms were smaller a lot of problems with this school would dissapear.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2010

I have really tried to find all the positives from this school, however the negative and unaddressed issues out-weigh the positives by far. I feel that the core of this educational facility does not have a student centered focus. Some teachers do exhibit this character trait however as a whole they do not. I see bullying as a huge issue! Some drastic change is desperatly needed in order to prepare the youth of this low socio-econimic community and school to survive in the world. I can't think of a better opportunity to start this transformation than in the school! Meanwhile, I'm considering requesting a transfer from this district until some drastic changes have been made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

I have been considering moving but have not because of the school system here. My childrens teachers always call with updates on my children, they want parents to be involved. We do have the normal issues that ALL school have, such as bullies, but if dealt with the right way, it can be handled quickly and easily. If you are an active parent and you take the time to go in to the school, hang out in your childs class, have lunch with them, be there before and after school, you will see that the staff is very involved and do their absolute best to care for our children. It is also OUR job as parents tobe involved and make sure our children are doing their part.. Such as homework, excerting effort, etc. This is the only problem I have had and I have 3 children in this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

they are not meeting my sons' pace with learning, frustrating sports system
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2009

I think too many students fall between the cracks. Staff is overwhelmed, and cannot deal with children. children do get left behind. Bullying is a problem that doesn't seem to ever get resolved. If you can find something alternative, I encourage you to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2008

I am so far unimpressed with all the staff I have met here. I do not recommend this school. I recommend you do not live in Sheridan. I'm sorry to have to say that.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
70%
Writing

2010

 
 
34%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
65%
Writing

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students11%
Female7%
Male15%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic<=5%
Multiracial17%
Native Americann/a
White12%
Economically disadvantaged7%
Students with disabilities<=5%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students34%
Female45%
Male27%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracial25%
Native Americann/a
White37%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities<=5%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students37%
Female41%
Male34%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracial22%
Native Americann/a
White41%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities<=5%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students57%
Female62%
Male53%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracial33%
Native Americann/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities<=5%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students28%
Female20%
Male34%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic17%
Multiracial15%
Native Americann/a
White36%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Students with disabilities<=5%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students47%
Female40%
Male51%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic25%
Multiracial39%
Native Americann/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students39%
Female30%
Male46%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic25%
Multiracial39%
Native Americann/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities<=5%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students45%
Female47%
Male44%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracial50%
Native Americann/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students42%
Female34%
Male50%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracial33%
Native Americann/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students44%
Female49%
Male35%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White48%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students60%
Female60%
Male62%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students29%
Female38%
Male23%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracial14%
Native Americann/a
White32%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilities<=5%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students46%
Female59%
Male35%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracial29%
Native Americann/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students36%
Female34%
Male38%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracial14%
Native Americann/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 65%
Hispanic 12% 21%
Two or more races 9% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 2%
Black 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

332 SW Cornwall St
Sheridan, OR 97378
Phone: (503) 843-3732

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Delphian School
Sheridan, OR



West Valley Academy
Sheridan, OR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT