Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Delphian School

Private | K-12 | 40 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Sheridan

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $111,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $795.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

90 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 21, 2009

I get to choose what my education is about and truly make it my own. I have the chance to take a wonderful thing, and make it totally unique to me. Everything I learn is completely applicable. I just finished physics, and I found myself applying it at Bullwinkle's Family Fun Center. It's just that applicable.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2009

My kids LOVE school! -sports, programming, performing, pottery, bass, drums, reading, math, everything!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

Hands down the best school in North America. Great campus, wonderful faculty and a very comprehensive curriculum.


Posted September 20, 2009

I graduated from this school and as a foreign student, I searched for the best school in the world. It helped me grow extremely capable and responsible and while I was there I had a blast! This school is a REAL school, not just a place where students go to pass the time...thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

You'd have to be here to see. The kids are amazing (as all kids basically are) because the program helps them be that way. Seriously, no other school compares.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

The Delphian School has a strong curriculum based on years of experience working with independent learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

Delphian delivers a true education, in how to live a successful life, not just a random collection of disrelated facts temporarily stuffed into one's head. Every kid there looks beautiful, not because they are pretty, but because they know they are truly competent, and that confidence makes them shine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

The students leave very able - confident they can reach any goals in life, able to think logically, with love and ability to learn, set up to handle life with happiness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

It gives my kids an amazing chance to educate themselves across all subjects an gives them great exposure to the who spectrum of life's future challenges while teaching them responsibility, integrity, and the ability to learn which are so necessary to their future success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

I have seen some great results from the program and young people become responsible adults.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 18, 2009

Not only does Delphi offer an excellent academic education, but it also requires each student to gain life experience through internships, community projects and Student Council. Holding positions of responsibility at such a young age is rare, but it was incredible preparation for becoming an executive in the workforce. I learned much more about leadership at Delphi than I ever did at University.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2009

Delphian is unique in so many ways - from the culture among the student body to the first-name basis with faculty and staff; from the academic excellence required at a near-mastery level to the caring staff in the Standards Department who work with students to help them really understand their materials. Apprenticeships, Internships, projects and hundreds of hours of practical application help children apply the things they are learning to their lives - for real. I love Delphian. I would move across the country to have my children in this very special school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

The students get to go as fast as they want or take more time if they need it on individual programs. They love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

It represents cutting edge education reform and it gets unheard of results.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Delphian rocks! It saved my education with a personal approach and great care from the teachers.


Posted September 18, 2009

Awesome school. Students become very productive and able to create excellent products


Posted September 18, 2009

My son's life has completely changed for the better. I used to worry about him not being safe and hopefully he would learn something at all during school but I always planned to basically re-teach him at home. At Delphian he has made great strides in his education and has learned how to actually study and retain the knowledge he learns. More importantly he has a new found love of learning and I feel very secure in his education and his bright future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Productive and effective. Students learn to be independent and able.


Posted September 18, 2009

It was remarkable watching my daughter blossom and thrive as she moved into the higher levels of the program. The program challenged and inspired her in all areas--athletics, academics, leadership, responsibility, ethics. She was passionate about learning, arts, Student Council, projects--every activity she took on in the school. Watching her grow and mature, and then graduate from the Delphian School was one of the finest times of this parent's life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Delphi brings out the best qualities of each individual child. Children become more responsible for their education and their lives. By the time my children graduated, they had received an incredible education plus they had discovered many of their hidden talents and knew what to do to attain goals in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 42% 65%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 39% 4%
Hispanic 15% 21%
Black 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Yes
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Boarding school
  • Some boarding, some day
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Independent Study
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Yes
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

20950 Rock Creek Road
Sheridan, OR 97378
Phone: (503) 843-3521

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






West Valley Academy
Sheridan, OR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT