Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Delphian School

Private | K-12 | 40 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Sheridan

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $111,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $795.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

90 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 18, 2009

Superlative education that's not limited to academics but includes leadership and ethics.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2009

This is the only school I know of where students learn to get their own excellent education--it is really learning for life


Posted September 18, 2009

Delphi's unique style of teaching that allows each student to move through each subject at their own pace is on the cutting edge of education. Not only 'teaching' the students, but allowing them to learn and apply what they have learned in a structured environment that allows them to grow not only as students, but also as young men and women.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2009

The Delphian School provides an excellent education that allows students to explore what they want to do in life and work to achieve those goals by applying what they've learned in a very fun and rewarding way. The students and graduates I have had the pleasure of knowing are driven, passionate, and responsible individuals who live life with a purpose that is very seldom seen in those of such a young age.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

I love my school. I like the study methods it teaches and I have fun with the kids. I really see that they learn, but I really like is the students can actually apply what they learn.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 18, 2009

I like the quality of education that the students receive and the fact that the program is personalized, and all of the students travel at their own pace.


Posted September 18, 2009

My kids are getting an amazing education at the Delphian School. They are both smart kids, but very different, yet their teachers show a level of individual care that is amazing. My kids are excited to go to school in the morning, and, as a parent, that couldn't make me happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Builds independent learners, exciting individualized curriculum, leadership skills stressed, excellent arts and music
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Students at the Delphian School truly do receive an education that prepares them for their life. The amazing thing is they are studying because they want to learn. The thrill of discovery that everyone had at the age of 2 is alive and well in all students at the Delphian School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Why do you love Delphian School? Students gain in academics with an emphasis on their ability to apply what they are learning. At the same time, they develop leadership skills, and all of this is done in an educational community where ethics and integrity are the watchwords. Delphian walks the walk in a very unique way that makes it a perfect fit for so many different students from across the country and around the world. At Delphian learning is fun!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 18, 2009

When my older son graduated from The Delphian School I knew he was ready to take on college and life. The Delphian School challenged him and brought out the best in him! He is confident and capable - just what I wanted for him. My younger son still attends The Delphian School and I marvel at how much he is learning and the self-confidence he is gaining.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

I discovered The Delphian School about 2 years ago and can't imagine working anywhere else. Here, the students have a truly individualized education, that gives them the tools to be life-long learners in an ethical and fun environment. Public and private schools alike would benefit enormously for The Delphian approach to education.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 18, 2009

The Delphian School develops in the student a unique responsibility for his or her own education. Through the program, the student achieves a recognition and understanding of the value of education, making it a much more productive process. One key to the school s success is the focus on having students apply, in an ethical manner, concepts learned through real world practical activities. The result is a student of life, well versed in the basics of literature, history, and science, and able to participate in and lead activities of value. I can t think of a better goal for a school. I am very happy my two children graduated from there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

I graduated from this school and it has provided me with an excellent foundation not only for higher education, but life in general. The Delphian School is the pioneer behind effective private education and continues to stay on the cutting edge today.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Both my girls attended this school, as well as my husband & I have worked here for 10 years. I can honestly say that my girls would not have developed the character, strength, intelligence and knowledge that they now have if it had not been for this school's unique curriculum and approach to teaching. Students are addressed as individuals and a individual program is worked out for them. Students are allowed to move at their own pace. The school has a Standards Department and requires 100% pass on all exams. Exams consult the students understanding and ability to use. We require students to find their own purpose and use in life for each thing learned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

At school, they worried about me, and about my ability to do WELL in life. They did not worry about my grades, or my ability to memorize an answer, they worried about teaching me how to continue learning and how to use what I was learning.


Posted September 18, 2009

Delphian helps students develop a love for learning, and it focuses on them becoming independent learners while also giving them a sense of community and responsibility.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 18, 2009

Delphian provides students with a great environment that challenges them to apply the things they study. Additionally, it also encourages a great love of learning. As an alumni and now a teacher at Delphian, I have to say that Delphian really prepares students for life by not only arming them with the educational tools they will need to solve problems but by giving them the ability to find any tools they are lacking.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 18, 2009

I love that it allows students to be individuals and move at the pace that works for them to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

The logo says it all: Knowledge, Ethics, Integrity, Leadership! Knowledge is dangerous without Ethics and Integrity. A leader without Ethics and Integrity is no leader at all. The inclusion of these point in the school motto ensures that our graduates can use their knowledge wisely. When you think about Delphi, don't think about 'school' - think rather of a 'complete education!'
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 42% 65%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 39% 4%
Hispanic 15% 21%
Black 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Yes
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Boarding school
  • Some boarding, some day
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Independent Study
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Yes
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

20950 Rock Creek Road
Sheridan, OR 97378
Phone: (503) 843-3521

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






West Valley Academy
Sheridan, OR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT