Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

J Clyde Hopkins Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 22, 2014

I moved from out of state and my 2 kids started at Hopkins. I was coming in with a strong attitude. I didn't trust schools after a horrible experience with another school in the state we came from. At Hopkins they not only addressed all of my concerns they went above and beyond. My children have come so far since we moved here. It's great to watch them grow and learn. The teachers genuinely care. The principal does what he says he will.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2013

We have had 2 children in Hopkins for 2 years and the involvement and commitment from both the teachers and principal is outstanding. I have yet to run into another parent or student that feels otherwise. The facilities are great and the events put on with PTA involvement are numerous and top notch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2013

This school is excellent. The teachers are enthusiastic, caring, and supportive. The principal is wonderful too - he knows the kids, spends time with them, and is well liked by both parents and students. The support staff - from the school counselor to the secretary - is fabulous too. Both our children have had great learning experiences at Hopkins. We are so happy to be at this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2013

This school is wonderful with all students! The teachers and staff care for the students and it shows! So glad to have my daughter here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2012

My two children go to this school.. The teachers in Kindergarten and First grade are amazing. They are really involve with each child. The communication between teacher and parent is wonderful. I am very pleased with this school. I would have to say that they go out of their way to help a child reach their goals in school and outside of school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

Our principal gets to know each and every kid by first name. Our school's multipurpose room has the most fabulous 1950s plywood paneling I've ever seen! Ours is the oldest elementary in Sherwood, named one of the Top 10 small cities for families by Family Circle Magazine, 2009.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2008

Hopins may be one of the oldest school buildings in Sherwood, but it is by and far the best elementary school Sherwood has to offer. My son is learning disabled and the faculty at Hopkins have bent over backwards to help keep him main-streamed. All the children at Hopkins are taught respect, and I see the evidence of that everytime I walk onto the campus. There has always been a lot of parent envolvement at Hopkins, and I hope the the new elemantary school can be just as good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2008

Hopkins has turned out to be a life lesson for my children. They are surrounded by not only supportive and enthusiastic staff but also they are in a real-life setting. This means that there is a variety of families that attend this school, spanish speaking, low-income etc. I am pleased that my children are being exposed to all aspects of their childhood and not only to 'the perfect world.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2008

We've been at this school one year after moving from another state with an elementary of similar size and ability to post higher test scores. Hopkins has been wonderful in comparison. The staff/teachers really care about the children, and the after-school/summer enrichment programs are great. My child really enjoys being part of the Sherwood community. I highly recommend volunteering in the classroom and PTAC to get yourself connected and be an advocate for your child at what ever school your child attends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2008

There is no expectation for excellence. Being average and doing average seems to not only be the norm but the desired outcome. And that is just not good enough for my child or any of the other 700+ students in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2007

This school teaches kids only what will be tested and they only care about maintaining what is relfected on paper for this school. Discipline is sadly lacking. Hopkins is also getting a growing population of low income and non-English speaking students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2007

It's a great school. My daughter learned a lot. And the staff were always so friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2007

I gave an overall average rating. I appreciate that Hopkins tests very well, usually in the 90s. There is a bigger picture missing here. Lack of funding or interest to provide extra-curricular activities. The school does do a couple of fundraisers a year but it is time to raise the bar. Kids need an additional outlet for special interests in sports, music, technology and culture. It seems like the small town of Sherwood uses all its limited funding only for academics during its growing pains. People we know in other school districts have the chance for a more well rounded education. We have also had concerns about inappropriate behavior and bullies not being dealt with. Overall, its a fine school but you can do better. I think we will be leaving this school district while the kids are still young.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2007

The kindergarten in these schools are great! My child's classroom used daily conflict resolution. She uses hands-on curriculum, educational art projects, and learning by singing. She is positive, encouraging and creative. My child's self esteem is upheld and the other children are friendly and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2007

Teachers are young and inexperienced. The school (teachers and principle) do not deal with conflict well and are enablers for bullies empowering them to continue with bad behavior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2007

This school is old and in need of some facility upgrading. Discipline in the classroom with difficult children and bullies is weak, classroom sizes are large and without the parents invlovment, donated class time and money, this school wouldn't be anything to brag about. We will not be returning next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2006

Hopkins Elementary is a fantastic school where children can really thrive. The teachers and staff are caring people who really want students to succeed. Our school-wide counseling program focuses on respect of self and others. State test scores consistently rate Hopkins as strong to exceptional. Our parent involvement is very high and volunteer hours are off the charts! I am proud to have three children attending Hopkins and proud to serve on Hopkins PTAC board where all parents at Hopkins have a voice and a chance to be involved in their children's education. Our Hoop-de-do carnival has been a Sherwood tradition for over 30 years and is by far the best in town. Fundraisers are well organized events and all grade levels are able to experience field trips, physical education, and art and music programs even in a time of cutbacks in state and federal funding. Hooray for Hopkins Elementary School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2006

I think Hopkins school is the best in Sherwood. The teachers have been wonderful and always take time out of their day to make a phone call if they feel your child is struggling academically. They go the extra mile for students, they truly care about them. It's a very family like atmosphere, everyone is very friendly and teachers always say hello as you walk down the halls. They have the best carnivals and fundraisers every year. I couldn't imagine living anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

This school has come a long way. I am proud to have my child in this school. My oldest is an alumni of this school and is doing well in the middle school thanks to the great support from teachers and staff. Hopkins ratings has topped all the other elementary schools in sherwood academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2004

Worst experience of our lives. The teachers we encountered had very few years of teaching experience,but tried hard given the lack of text books, desks, and large class size. The school is not well funded.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
95%
Writing

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
Female67%
Male62%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander38%
Hispanic43%
Multiracial78%
Native Americann/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learners17%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation17%

Reading

All Students71%
Female78%
Male66%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander13%
Hispanic43%
Multiracial89%
Native Americann/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learners8%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation17%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female79%
Male86%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities53%
English language learners43%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation42%

Reading

All Students86%
Female84%
Male88%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities63%
English language learners29%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation46%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
Female59%
Male67%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic37%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities42%
English language learners<=5%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation30%

Reading

All Students78%
Female76%
Male80%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learners<=5%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation20%

Science

All Students79%
Female76%
Male82%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learners<=5%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation20%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 65%
Hispanic 16% 21%
Two or more races 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Black 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 35%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

21920 SW Sherwood Blvd
Sherwood, OR 97140
Phone: (503) 825-5200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Francis School
Sherwood, OR







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT