Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Guy Lee Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 20, 2013

Unprofessional. Mrs. Carter is quite inappropriate in her language and actions towards children. Principle is ineffective in addressing parental complaints.


Posted September 16, 2013

The current principal is outstanding. She has made wonderful improvements in motivating teachers to change for the better. New staff each year have been assets in the team effort & focus upon making the school shine in educational advances & the condition of the school. 2012-present - Students encounter friendly & upbeat encouragement from teachers & support staff. Custodian is fun & seeks to build positive relationship with them. Interior walls have fresh paint in 2012 & Guy Lee is unique in the district with having a strong 'Green Team' of 4th/5th graders. They are a 'Merit' level Oregon Green School & have a 66% recovery rate of discarded waste. They are the only elementary in the district who have successfully implemented composting of all breakfast/lunch food & paper waste as well as restroom paper towels. - 'Sanipac'. Guy Lee is first to pilot a 'Green Partnership Schools' program in Springfield. (1 or 5 in the county) Note: Recent test scores are better than Elizabeth Page Elementary - rated a 6.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 4, 2012

I do have to say that there is no volunteer favoritism that I saw in the year and a half that I was there. If you are available to volunteer they will take all the time you are willing to give. While there, there were about 5 or 6 volunteers that were there on a regular basis and they were always clamering for more help to no avail. If you want to volunteer, go and do it, don't wait for someone to call you. I do have to say that now they have a new Principal I am hopeful that things will change and there will be more involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2011

Well, now the whole state and country is recognizing Guy Lee for what it really is: A Distinguished School. If you haven't read in the paper, or seen on the news, Guy Lee was one of only 2 schools in Oregon, and 100 in the nation to receive this prestigious award from the Department of Education. Despite their high levels of poverty, the staff and students managed to make huge gains on their state tests. So even though this site and some misinformed parents may rate it low based on numbers taken out of context and personal biases, the fact is that this school is an award winning school, recognized for it's contribution to "Closing the Achievement Gap". Check it out for yourself: http://www.sps.lane.edu/sps/cwp/view.asp?A=3&Q=279191
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2011

I was shocked, too! First, I was shocked to see the bad reviews, but then I was shocked that the person with poor conventions and grammar skills ("lady if you volunteer...") could claim to be such an authority as to what goes on in this school. Sixty kids leaving, huh? Wow! Did you pull that number out of your behind? How in the world did you decide that? Teachers are not telling you that your kids are falling behind, huh? I highly doubt that and I have never found that to be the case. If it's "too late" for your child then you have failed them as a parent! If my child fell behind, I would consider it an opportunity to work with them to get them up to speed and examine the reason they fell behind in the first place. Simply blaming the teacher and stating it's "too late" for them would not be an option in my household. Finally, as far as volunteer favoritism is concerned, I'm going to go out on a limb here and deduce that you are not being given the duties that involve working with others because you lack the intellectual capacity or people skills to do so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2011

I was shocked to see bad reviews of Guy Lee! lady if you volunteer at this school for yourself you would not only hear it from the kids but see it yourself how bad the last principal has ruined this school. this year about 60 students transferred to other schools because of the bullying problem has gotten so out of hand. I god hope that Nikki turns the place around but that will take time and the staff need to do their job in stopping it. and for the past 3 years they haven't. the favortism in the family when it comes to certain volunteers is a joke. teachers are not telling us when our kids fall way behind in school until it's too late. that is not my idea of a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2011

Two very different kids, one great school! My two kids are like night and day. My son is very energetic, impulsive and not the easiest person to keep organized. He also struggles in reading. On the other hand, my daughter is a total bookworm, is neat to a fault, and excels in every subject. This is our third year at Guy Lee and I'm happy to report that both my children are doing great. My daughter is being sufficiently challenged and my son's teachers have been great in helping his reading and behavior. Also, their new principal is great. She seems very kind and welcoming to parent volunteers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2011

I was shocked to see bad reviews of Guy Lee! Everyone I know loves this school. My niece went there and my son will go there when he's old enough. They're always having family nights and free events, like movie night. My niece's teacher came to one of her soccer games. The people that are saying these bad things about this school are crazy! No offense, but maybe it's you, not them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2011

It's an old building, but a good school. The staff is nice and my kids like it there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2011

I went there and now my daughter goes there. Every teacher has been wonderful. You can tell they care about kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2011

I wil be movingto the Hayden Bridge area this summer and am very concerned for my two boys. Spfd has closed several schools recently. Why is Guy Lee still open with an Oaks test score of 2?? Is no one there held accountable? I'm truly sick to my stomach that I may have to pull my boys from Irving Elementary and place them in a school that may very well destroy their education. How do other parents put up with this? Just because this school has a majority of low income families, does this mean that low income children don't deserve better? Is their truly no parent participation to make this right? I would love to hear something positive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2010

My son is a 5th grade student there. He is in special ED and they couldnt be doing better!! way better than in Waskington!! The Principle even knows all of the students names. the teachers are great teachers and I feel that they can handle as many students as they have. All of our neighbors were very pleased with guy lee as well!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

We moved to the area and our daughter had a hard time because they were so far behind academically. She was there for half of her 2nd grade year and we switched her schools because it was so bad. There were too many students per classroom and some of the 2nd graders could barely read. I was very discouraged.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
79%
Writing

2010

 
 
26%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
35%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
Female48%
Male76%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic41%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learners23%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students68%
Female65%
Male71%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learners31%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
Female50%
Male48%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic37%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learners23%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation10%

Reading

All Students70%
Female68%
Male71%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learners54%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation17%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students54%
Female50%
Male57%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female85%
Male74%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students63%
Female67%
Male59%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 65%
Hispanic 33% 21%
Two or more races 6% 5%
Black 4% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 87%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

755 Harlow Rd
Springfield, OR 97477
Phone: (541) 744-6391

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT