Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Talent Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 24, 2014

My grandkids went to Talent Elementary for one year. The bullying that went on in that school was bad but what made it worse was that the principal and my grandsons teacher did not stop it. My grandson was in second grade and this boy would run up to my grandson and kick him between the legs. I still can't believe how many times it happened and the only reason it stopped is because we called the police department and paid an attorney to write a letter on our behalf threatening a law suit. All this while a huge " No Bully Zone " sign was posted up where everyone could see it. No, not impressed with the handling of this incident. I think the biggest problem that school has is the principal. He didn't do ANYTHING.


Posted September 1, 2013

This school provides the environment necessary to instruct, model, and educate children morally, socially, and academically. All staff contribute their skills, talents, and experience to enrich and support a learning environment that encompasses a diverse culture involved and connected to each child on the campus. The high level of participation from the staff involvement immerses the children and their families in a supportive community. There is a dedicated involvement in bilingual education with the Kindergarten through 5th grade Spanish/English classrooms, 4th grade students become a Buddy to a Kindergarten student and remain with them through the first grade, an annual talent show presents astounding performances with a 2 hour+ show. Students learn to trust Talent Elementary School as a place that is safe for them to be a part of a community that accepts them and wants them to excel in all areas of their developing selves.


Posted December 14, 2012

We recently moved here from another town and I am so glad we chose Talent Elementary. The teachers we have worked with are dedicated, patient, fun and communicate well with the parents. We always feel welcome in their classrooms. The prinicipal is right there among the students, working in the classrooms, playing with them at recess, visiting with them in the halls, and always with a warm smile. The staff is quick to address any needs that have come up and takes seriously any concerns we have had. I highly recommend Talent Elementary School to anyone looking for a wonderful place for their child to spend each day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2012

My son is attending Kindergarten and is in Mrs. Bolstad's class. I could not ask for a better teacher for him, she is patient, kind, and assertive when needed and the children absolutely love her. My son at 5 years old has went through a lot of changes, it turns out this is a BIG stage for them? Who knew...I didn't. The principal is doing a great job there and wants to meet and help children everyday he is really positive for the children and the school. I highly recommend this school. They have GREAT parent involvement and support you being there for your children whenever needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2012

Best school ever!!!!! All my sisters agent their. Its such a great school the learning is made fun its an amazing school.


Posted February 12, 2012

Bad school, lots of violence and lack of leadership. We pulled our child. Kindergarten was his first experience of school and I feared for his safety.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

Because it loves it's kids and does everything it can to support them in their lives


Posted September 16, 2009

There are great teachers who sincerely care about the children and the quality of their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2005

My daugher attended K and 1st. Loved the school, loved the teachers, lots of art, class pets, great bi-lingual program, parents welcome to eat with kids, lots of parental involvement, was a great school for us. My child learned to read in K and learned to cursive write in 1st - great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

2010

 
 
34%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students43%
Female34%
Male53%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic26%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learners25%
Migrant14%
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students67%
Female71%
Male63%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learners42%
Migrant36%
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female67%
Male70%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities83%
English language learners47%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students85%
Female86%
Male84%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learners65%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female67%
Male71%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learners25%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female79%
Male83%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learners50%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students84%
Female79%
Male88%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learners50%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 65%
Hispanic 17% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 14% 2%
Two or more races 8% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 4%
Black 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 74%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

307 West Wagner Ave
Talent, OR 97540
Phone: (541) 535-1531

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT