Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Charles F Tigard Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 27, 2014

My daughter's experience here has varied wildly for the last two years. We came to CFT at the beginning of 1st grade and it was a hard, long year for her. Her 1st grade teacher was disinterested and would tell us that expectations weren't high because it was just "first grade." Then we would get a report card saying our daughter was lacking in certain areas like turning in her homework even though the teacher had just told us it wasn't that important. When we tried to work with the teacher in coming up with a plan to help our daughter improve the teacher didn't do the things she agreed she would do to help. It was hard for my child as she was getting mixed signals from her parents and her disinterested teacher. But with second grade and we are just blown away! My child's homeroom teacher and reading teacher have gone above and beyond and truly do care about my daughter's success. She has improved markedly with dedication from all of us working together to rid her of the bad habits she was allowed to learn in first grade. "One bad apple can spoil the bunch" really applies here. We almost left CFT for private school due to our 1st grade experience. I am so glad we stuck it out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2014

This school has some amazing teachers. It is so inviting to see the art up on the bulletin boards as you walk in. I like to see a school remember that art is just as important as core curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

My two kids currently attend CFT. If the school is measured by the dedication and quality of its teachers, CFT is tops. There has been some turnover in the administration (3 principals in my son's first three years there) but the current principal (heading in to year 3) is wonderful and it seems like she'll be around for a long while. Parent community is moderately active, monthly family events are well attended. A high percentage (60%, I think) of students are eligible for free and reduced lunch so we are a Title I school and get extra funding for that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2013

Both of kids loved CFT. Our daughter still attends and loves her teachers. The principal is amazing. This is her second year at our school. Only thing lacking is more patent involvement. It's always the same parents doing all the work on events that benefit the kids and their is very little participation in the PSO. Would love to see more help from other families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2012

Our kids love to go to CFT elementary school. I am amazed how much they learn there each day. What I personally like about this school is that teachers have high expectations of their students. Our kids are never bored in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2012

My experince with Charles F Tigard has been excellant! His kindergarden Teacher Mrs. Redding has done a really good job on helping him how to control his emotions and how to get along with his fellow classmates. His vocabulary has increased significantly. I really see him motived and exited to go to school everyday! I love the fact that there are various after school activities such as, Dance,Art, Spanish and scince ect.. This school gives the oppurtunity for us parents to get involved in our childrens education we couldn't be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2011

Talk with other parents if you can before attending this school. Get a tour, ask about Kindergarden Round Up. The School office number is : 503-431-4400. The principal has retired and a new one is coming in for the school year of 2011-12. I'd give the school a 3, theres tons of room for improvement and parental involvement could use a little boost if welcomed by the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2010

this school is very helpful and amazing! The staff is very friendly and helpful as well. There are so many after school activities also. Dance, Spanish,Art,Mad Science,Chess,Origomi,and more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2008

The teachers and principle all work well as a team together and I've experienced great things with my girls teacher as well. She's learningn so much. The parent teacher group is also very supportive and many parents are involved. We couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

Charles F Tigard is a wonderful school. The support from the teachers and staff have given my husband and I a great comfort level with regard to public schools. Our son had previously attended a private pre-school where he excelled and we did not want him to lose that excitement about learning. With that said, we feel the move to a public school environment was an excellent decision. Our son continues to thrive at this school and is 'loving school'. I think that speaks for itself.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female67%
Male75%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander78%
Hispanic29%
Multiracial63%
Native Americann/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities83%
English language learners8%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students74%
Female75%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander78%
Hispanic36%
Multiracial63%
Native Americann/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learners23%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
Female57%
Male72%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracial75%
Native Americann/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learners36%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation<=5%

Reading

All Students80%
Female75%
Male85%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracial75%
Native Americann/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learners55%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted92%
Special Education with Accomodation67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
Female65%
Male61%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander83%
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities11%
English language learners38%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation11%

Reading

All Students68%
Female70%
Male66%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander67%
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities<=5%
English language learners13%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation<=5%

Science

All Students80%
Female78%
Male82%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander83%
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learners56%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation33%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 65%
Hispanic 28% 21%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 4%
Two or more races 5% 5%
Black 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12850 SW Grant St
Tigard, OR 97223
Phone: (503) 431-4400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Anthony School
Portland, OR







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT