Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Metzger Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 7, 2013

This school has been great for my family. Kind ineligible teachers who strive to help. A great summer program built to help the students and parents stay active and involved. The summer lunch program has helped students form more than 3 summer school programs and neighbor hood families to keep there kids use to there.friends and schedule. In our home my spouse and son have both attended there Metzger. we are very happy to be apart of this small helpful and and clean community. Thank you to the Staff of Metzger elementary for making out family feel at home for so long.my son looks forward to coming back next year. Although he wished he still had ms Jones for his teacher. :-) have a great summer. And a new school year to look forward to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

Metzger Elementary School . My children went to this school from K-4TH GRADE. My daughter was having problems with comprehension and keeping up with math (she is a tactile learner) Her state test scores in 3rd grade showed that. I requested additional help for her and was told she was not far enough behind. But when she tested in 4th grade she was, however they postponed helping again and had her retest 1 month later and she magically went from not hitting the mark to exceeding in 1 month. I found out my daughter was coaxed to answer the questions correctly. In the Beaverton School District she did not meet the same test score until 2 years later. I think there is something wrong. Please watch your children if you don't think they are doing as good as they say.


Posted September 17, 2010

Overall, Metzger is one of the best schools in the area. There are some problems, and not every teacher is stellar. But, there are more great teachers than there are mediocre ones. We have been at this school for 8 years so far, with a few more to go. I have seen progress, and I have seen the staff, and especially the previous principal, make many, many improvements. The loss of this great principal will definitely be felt, but I am hopeful that the new principal will be wonderful, as well. The one area of improvement that has not been addressed is the lack of qualification and knowledge in the special education department since the loss of an amazing learning specialist last year. I have never seen, nor heard from my kids, any issues with the spanish-speaking students making it difficult to make friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

The committment of the staff, both administrators and teachers, to the childrens learning is incredible!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

the teachers hear are the best around. and they have a grate way of helping and dealing with special needs kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

Because my granddaughter loves her teacher and she is happy going to school every day1


Posted April 23, 2010

This school has strong reading and math programs. The kindergarten and first grade teachers are fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2010

We have been very impressed with the teaching and administrative staff at Metzger. The students come from a variety of backgrounds and the staff works very hard to ensure that every child has a chance to succeed. They really care about the kids and it makes a difference!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

The Teachers at Metzger Elementary are the Best. They always have time for the students questions and problems. They always make learning interesting from Kindergarden to fifth grade. My Grandaughter cried when she knew it was her last year at Metzger. My Grandson is a handful and is doing so well. Thank you for all the wonderful efforts made by the Teachers and Principal.


Posted September 18, 2009

I love Metzger Elementary because everyone loves the students!


Posted March 12, 2009

Metzger has the best academic program I have seen in the area. They work hard to make sure every kid succeeds. The staff is great and is led by an amazing principal who cares about the kids and the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2009

Metzger's strength is the teachers. My sons have had excellent teachers over the past 5 years without exception. My one wish is that the pace of the ciriculum was faster. My sons are quick learners and need to be challenged more. I think the pace is slowed down somewhat because of the number of students that are still learning english.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

Metzger is an incredible school with passionate, visionary teachers! my son is in second grade this year and over the last 3 years, I've watched the teachers, staff and the principal reach out all kids. My son has struggled with learning issues and they've rallied around him to give him confidence and help him succeed. I've always found ms. Twain very approachable and concerned. As for the spanish speaking kids, I can't believe it's an issue! my son has friends who don't speak english well. Kids will play together despite language barriers if they have parents who model that sort of character! we are so blessed and lucky to be a part of the metzger community! if you don't like something about the school, then get involved! be present and be a part of your childs education, your help will be welcomed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2008

We moved from Portland and WOW, what a difference. The teachers and staff at Metzger actually care and help my kids learn. I'm thrilled that we found Metzger and got away from the overcrowding and politics of other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2008

There are a few dedicated teachers particularly in the lower grades. However, there are several areas of major concern. School administration, the principal in particular is not involved or committed, is aloof at best and rather cliquish, and lacks good communication and leadership skills. It concerns me that my children were not heard and actually misunderstood by those who supposedly have degrees in dealing with children! There are many Spanish-speaking students in this school. I personally heard racial slurs, and complaints about them from adults (parents). I think teaching them in Spanish further alienates (and separates) them rather than integrating them into our culture and society and may be one of the reasons there is so much bullying at this school. Bullying problems were not handled properly There was not enough supervision during recess. Bullies ruled the playground! My children will be going to another school next school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2008

The principal at this school is lacking in involvement. There are a few great teachers. They have a horrible badge program that they use against the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2008

3 of my children have gone to this school. It is a great school with great teachers. My only concern has been the weakness of their Math program. It is a safe school with a fair amount of parent help although more is always helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2008

My Daughter has been in this school since kindergarden. Frosty O'Kief-Ness is hands down the best teacher a child could and should ever have. I would give them a lower rating if it wasn't for the great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

My child goes to Metzger and has had a fair experience. Like a previous reviewer, there are so many Spanish speaking students it is hard for the english speaking kids to make many friends. The incredible focus on reading at this school sometimes overshadows the other subjects. My child is often bored and would rather not go to school to be frank. The teachers have been great so far, it's too early to tell this year, they do the best they can. Also, there are 'portable' classrooms and the school was rebuilt only about four years ago. Seems like poor planning. I'm not sure I want my child going back next year. We shall see. I'm involved, I help in class and at events, so I do my part.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

My kids are new to Metzger, they started last year. I do feel that the teachers are very committed and the reading program is strong, but I think there needs to be more educational diversity to hold childrens attention strong throughout the day- One huge downside to this school is the lack of art programs integrated into the core curriculum- it is weak at best, but I'm sure that it is politcs in action and governments failure to see how critical creative developement is to human growth and productivity. Generally my kids are happy here, but again, with so many spanish speaking children, it is difficult at times. I rate this school as 3 for programs and 4 for the teachers. I do want to add that Karen Twain-principle does a great job.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
83%
Writing

2010

 
 
34%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
Female63%
Male59%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracial50%
Native Americann/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learners42%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students82%
Female86%
Male80%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learners67%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
Female53%
Male75%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learners41%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted90%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students91%
Female90%
Male92%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities71%
English language learners78%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students59%
Female55%
Male64%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander71%
Hispanic29%
Multiracial43%
Native Americann/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities54%
English language learners24%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted83%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female80%
Male78%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander86%
Hispanic62%
Multiracial>=95%
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learners52%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted91%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students66%
Female67%
Male64%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander50%
Hispanic42%
Multiracial>=95%
Native Americann/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learners22%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted91%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 65%
Hispanic 31% 21%
Two or more races 7% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
Black 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10350 SW Lincoln St
Tigard, OR 97223
Phone: (503) 431-4600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St Anthony School
Portland, OR






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT