Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Deer Creek Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 556 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 8, 2014

Deer Creek is fantastic, the office staff is nice, does what they say they are going to, My son goes to Kindergarten there and his teacher is AMAZING. I choice-schooled him in and I'm VERY happy I did!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

We researched the school prior to moving to the neighborhood and have been extremely pleased with our children's experience. The school has especially greatly improved since the new principal began in 2011. The teachers teach in grade level teams, which allows for excellent collaboration across each grade level (in most cases). All of the staff, from the front office, teachers, facility person, to the kitchen ladies are always warm, welcoming and extremely helpful to both the kids and the parents. Our family really feels 'at home' at Deer Creek. Even my preschooler refers to it as 'his school' and he doesn't even attend yet! The after school enrichment classes are convenient, affordable and offer our children the opportunity to try new things. The school holds many family oriented events throughout the year and we always enjoy ourselves. We also feel that our children are SAFE in the hands of Deer Creek, and as a parent that is huge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

We love Deer Creek. The teachers have always been very responsive and kind to my daughter and our younger daughter will be going into kindergarten 2013 fall and is looking forward to it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2013

The school lost our Kindergartener twice. The first time she was put on the bus after they sent us an email that she was to be picked up from the school at a specific time (they put her on the bus anyways and left her on a street-corner until the police picked her up). The second incident was due to the bus driver letting her off at the wrong stop (the school has a policy that Kindergarteners are not to be let off the bus without a parent/guardian present, which was ignored). Both times, she was off the grid completely, and the police had to intervene to locate our daughter. When my wife attempted to explain to the office staff that our daughter was literally gone, the woman at the front-desk kept holding up her finger to shush my wife so that she could finish writing a personal text message. Both times, the Principal did call, but was quick to brush the incidents aside without either apologizing or taking ownership for behaviors that caused a 5-year-old girl to go missing (twice). We were even advised by the Prinicpal that "little girls have a tendency to make things up, so they can't be believed", when our daughter called out the bus driver as being at fault the 2nd time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2013

We love this school. My daughter graduated and was well prepared for middle school. She was able to skip an entire year of math and enter the TAG program. Fifth graders can be school ambassadors and the teachers are open and supportive. Deer Creek was one of only three schools who went to regionals for OBOB(Oregon Battle of the Books) Deer Creek took first place and went to the state competition in Salem. Our other daughter is now following and taking advantage of all this school has to offer. Parents are and can be involved as much as they want. The families have fought hard to save full time PE and Music. The students come from diverse populations giving our children a real life environment. They are taught its not where you come from its where you're headed. My only statement about the district is that we have had 3 principals since we enrolled. But I respect our current principal and her ideas. She has her own school age children and knows what our school needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2013

Deer Creek is a great school. We searched around and talked to other parents. We wanted a school with ethnic diversity so our children would fit in. The staff is like a family and treat the children like their own. Whether they need a bandaid at the front desk or an extra hug from a teacher. They constantly teach to be kind and respectful to others. This is more important over strict academic numbers. Here you can be an involved parent and help make a difference in your child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2012

Deer Creek is a great school with a positive learning environment, excellent teachers, a very approachable, supportive principal, and a strong academic curriculum. There are many academic programs, for both students who need extra help and those who need some additional challenges in math and reading. The school has a very strong volunteer base and offers many educational programs as well as community events. I have been extremely impressed with this school, and feel that it is one of the best in the Tigard-Tualatin school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2011

Outstanding school, teachers and curriculum ! Compare to the Lake Oswego schools this school and district are much more competent. The children are ahead and better prepared academically. Socially everyone is included unlike the snobby community of Fake Oswego.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2008

My opinion is that Deer Creek is a 'ok' learning enviornment... Besides alot of the teachers can get rude after the parents leave, pay no attention to the kids at recess and do nothing about alot of stuff, there fine. They only pay attention to the big and baddest or most messed up kids. I went to Deer Creek elem. for 4 yrs. trust me! At least thats how they treated me! If its not the highest priorety the say 'no thanks!'


Posted January 15, 2008

In my opinion the school is not good for kids who are above grade level and looking to get challenged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2007

The principal very friendly and always ready to talk to parents but at the end nothing gets done. It seems that school only worries about kids safety and behavior , which is great,but when it comes to kids being academically challenge they loose any interst and become defensive. The school is not great for kids who succeed and get ahead.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2006

Great School. Clean safe friendly environment. Teacher are both caring and involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2006

Teachers are excellent and highly qualified. Opportunities for enrichment are in place. Students are motivated and challenged. Clean, friendly and safe environment. Excellent school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2005

This school does not resolve conflict well. They do not show empathy to parents and are very defensive.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
Female71%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander67%
Hispanic46%
Multiracial83%
Native Americann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners27%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female90%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander78%
Hispanic55%
Multiracial>=95%
Native Americann/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners36%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students77%
Female77%
Male77%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander60%
Hispanic57%
Multiracial71%
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learners33%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation22%

Reading

All Students86%
Female92%
Male81%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander70%
Hispanic64%
Multiracial86%
Native Americann/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learners33%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation38%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Female79%
Male80%
African American57%
Asian/Pacific Islander88%
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learners43%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students91%
Female87%
Male95%
African American86%
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities57%
English language learners86%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted83%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students85%
Female84%
Male85%
African American71%
Asian/Pacific Islander88%
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learners29%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 66%
Hispanic 21% 21%
Asian 6% 4%
Two or more races 6% 4%
Black 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16155 SW 131st Ave
Tigard, OR 97224
Phone: (503) 431-4450

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT