Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Alberta Rider Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 577 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 23, 2014

You'd think that the staff at a school like this would be warm and friendly but they are not. The secretary talks down to you like you are a dog... What ever happened to equal human rights? I wouldn't speak to an ant like that... It's very troublesome to me. She has been like that ever since we first stepped foot into the school 5 years ago and it's never gotten better! The principal allows bullying because they have yet to reprimand students for punching other children in the face, etc. You'd think there would be a serious consequence for that but unfortunately not. The class sizes are insanely HUGE and they keep allowing out of district students in for various absurd reasons (we don't care who you are, go in your own district or go private, people). Makes it hard for the students who are supposed to be there to really learn because they aren't getting adequate attention. The whole school is a total joke. It honestly has been a miserable experience from day one! They need better staff, especially in the front office, and they need to focus on the children's needs because they certainly aren't being met!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

Love the School and teachers at Alberta Rider! My son has gone to Alberta Rider for 5 years and have had nothing but positive experiences to express! We love how all the teachers and staff know all the kids by name! Very parent friendly school and parents are always welcome anytime!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2014

Racists!!!!!!!! no way we experienced that. I believe we are humans. We should treat each other as human but doesn't happen always. Teachers shoud treat all students equally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

I began to explore Saint Clare after talking with another parent whose child goes to the school. We discussed the resources that are available at Saint Clare. After multiple interviews we decided to enroll our son. At the interviews I found warm, highly competent, and caring staff and teachers. I truly believe the school endeavors to teach character, compassion and academic studies. The atmosphere is one inclusion and acceptance. Music, art, religion, physical education and recess are still part of the curriculum. Saint Clare desires to help raise up well rounded children and teens who love God. Everything they do proves this. The teachers are fantastic and classes are small. Technology is used to facilitate learning when it adds to the learning process but it does not replace tried and true methods of teaching. Children are also encouraged through peer learners as well as older children who mentor the younger children. Service projects go beyond the classroom and instill a sense of responsibility for others in the children. I am so blessed to have found this school, these teachers and the families that make it happen for each of these children. It takes a village to raise a child
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2013

Amazing staff and incredible parent involvement. It's amazing all of the second graders are given iPads and do Airplay/Keynote presentations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2013

I feel that Alberta Rider is a school that is run by parents or better to say stay at home moms that are board and wants to control the school and what is happening at school and in class. Not enugh volentring is bad but too much volentring is way too much. Their is a bulling problem at that school and the principal is looking the other way. I learned that as a parent you have to adress it and fight and get the system to listen, you have to get all in writing and if the teachers or principal are not doing enough go to the district. Not having the tools or the right people to stop bulling is not an answer!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2012

I will tell you today merely 3 months into the 4th grade school year we have pulled our daughter out of Alberta Rider and sternly disagree with any and all positive or redeeming reports about Alberta Rider or the schools unaccountable Principle, Counselors and Teachers alike. Alberta Rider has a deep serious issue with BULLYING! Students have reported on SEVERAL OCCASIONS to Principal, Counselors and Teachers that they have been bullied, teased, punched, kicked or spit on and all grievances met with no resolution, accountability or discipline. Bottom line is that kids are going to Alberta Rider every day SCARED! Nobody at this school is standing up and doing anything about the problems. Just pointing the finger and giving the same old political reply, "we just don't have the resources". The children / students at Alberta Rider deserve better attention to their needs than what they are receiving and new parents / students need to be made aware of the challenges Alberta Rider has and not be mislead by the 9/10 school rating. I as a concerned parent will make sure my community knows that Alberta Rider is failing our children! Highest Regards, Concerned / Frustrated Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

I guess only positive comments get posted here because my last post was rejected. I would agree they teach to test. Some really good teachers but some robots as well who only care about test scores. The most rediculous thing about this school: no running on the playground.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2009

Moved from another state this year to Tigard. A far cry from a high end private school. Some very good teachers. Some lazy teachers. Mean, rude kids. Wonderful music and P.E teacher, but they will be cut next year due to deep budget cuts. Fantastic principal and staff. Tigard-Tualitan curriculum questionable, especially math. They teach 'to test'. Spend your hard earned money on a real, high-end private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2009

I would give this school 5 stars! Outstanding in every way. We just moved to this district and feel as if we are in a high end private school. Excellent teachers, Principal, and academic standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
>95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female80%
Male83%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learners78%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students91%
Female86%
Male>=95%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learners78%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female76%
Male77%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander56%
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities15%
English language learners67%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted94%
Special Education with Accomodation33%

Reading

All Students88%
Female91%
Male85%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander72%
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learners67%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted94%
Special Education with Accomodation50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female81%
Male76%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanic23%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities22%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students83%
Female88%
Male78%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities11%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students84%
Female88%
Male80%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities22%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 65%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 17% 4%
Hispanic 14% 21%
Two or more races 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Black 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14850 SW 132nd Ter
Tigard, OR 97224
Phone: (503) 431-4900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT