Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Walt Morey Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 23, 2009

My daughter goes to WMMS and she loves going there. In the beginning she was a little scared, because all of the friends that she had known since Kindergarten go to a different middle school. Then she got over that and made friends at WMMS and now she hates not going to school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2008

My daughter has been here for about 4 months now and absolutely loves it here. The teachers and kids alike have both been very nice and helpful. Coming here from a stressed out enviroment (mom has cancer) I am proud to say that both are doing better than exspected.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2008

Im a 7th grader at Walt Morey and i absolutley recomend this school for students. They have very hands on teachers like Ms. Nomie (sci.), Mrs. McKenzie(Math), Mr. Wilson(LA/SS) They also have great electives like tech, drama, choir, band, art, spanish, and orchestra.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 6, 2008

I go to Walt Morey (7th grade), Great school alot of parent involvment and carricular activites they also offer advanced classes for students which i am in and personal help for students that do need the extra help very clean and healthy school no or very little fights great inviroment i absoloutely recomend this school! Great teachers too such as Mrs Lim (Language Arts) Mrs Nomie(Science) MRs Mcknenzie (math) and one of my favorites Mr Maurer (drama) _ Damian
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 21, 2007

m a new kid in walt morey (6th grade) og this is the best school ever!!! My fave teachers there are:Mrs.Heilman(my teacher),Mr.Lee(my choir teacher)and mr.Maurer(drama teacher)!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 1, 2007

This is an exceptional school! High expectations. Caring teachers. Warm environment. We have two kids who went through Walt Morey and another one there now. Three families have moved into our neighborhood because we told them about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2006

Very supportive of both kids and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2006

I go to Walt Morey (7th Grade) and I think it is the best school ever! They really help us learn what we need to even if som=etimes they have to be strict to get the point across. It's also fun because we have lots of different choices of classes to take, for example we get to choose between, spanish, tech if your in 8th or 6th otherwise it's required, drama, orchestra, band, and choir. It's also fun because you get to develop real tight bonds with your peers and teachers in 7th and 8th grade because preatty much your classes stay the same. It's also very nice because it was just built in 1998 so it's new on the inside. I love Walt Morey, and I think it's the best middle school ever! Katie
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 25, 2004

I go to Walt Morey (7th grade), and I love the school! The teachers are nice but strict when they mean to. I hope we get more school like Walt Morey Middle School all over Oregon and the United States! Although some of the staff is mean at time its all good!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

214 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

214 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

215 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

214 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
87%
Writing

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

246 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

246 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

246 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students57%
Female54%
Male59%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander57%
Hispanic46%
Multiracial67%
Native Americann/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learners6%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation11%

Reading

All Students61%
Female67%
Male56%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander43%
Hispanic48%
Multiracial50%
Native Americann/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learners6%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students52%
Female48%
Male55%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander62%
Hispanic33%
Multiracial58%
Native Americann/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learners7%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted93%
Special Education with Accomodation13%

Reading

All Students68%
Female65%
Male71%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander69%
Hispanic55%
Multiracial68%
Native Americann/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities28%
English language learners<=5%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students56%
Female54%
Male59%
African American14%
Asian/Pacific Islander56%
Hispanic44%
Multiracial61%
Native Americann/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities28%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation22%

Reading

All Students64%
Female70%
Male58%
African American43%
Asian/Pacific Islander75%
Hispanic46%
Multiracial67%
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students65%
Female62%
Male69%
African American29%
Asian/Pacific Islander81%
Hispanic48%
Multiracial61%
Native Americann/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation32%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 65%
Hispanic 22% 21%
Two or more races 7% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Black 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2801 SW Lucas
Troutdale, OR 97060
Phone: (503) 491-1935

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Arata Creek School
Troutdale, OR




Alpha High School
Gresham, OR



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT