Report this review as inappropriate

« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
Troutdale, OR
Students enrolled: 306

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

Open Door Christian Academy 5

Posted August 19, 2015
- a parent
We love the Christ-centered, strong academic atmosphere that our children are experiencing at Open Door Christian Academy! The teachers and staff are excellent and very caring, and have invested their lives into the students attending ODCA. We would highly recommend Open Door because of their focus on Christ, character, and high academics.

Open Door Christian Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted July 13, 2015
- a parent
This is the most amazing school ever .We have been here since pre-school and are sold.It is like family and our kids learn so very much and I don't have to worry because they are taught so much and are treated like family,thank you so much .

Open Door Christian Academy 1

Posted October 30, 2014
- a parent
My daughter attended preschool here in the 2013-14 school year, the teacher was strict and treated my child like she was behind because she wasn't reading by 4 years old. She loudly would tell other parents in front of the class and other parents dropping their children off that "Your son is behind everyone else in the class, even xxx student is doing better than him" I was appalled at her lack of regard for the students self esteem as well as the low level of professionalism. She also would talk about how she was counting down to retirement and loved the long breaks from school for holidays. I did not stick around to see if the other teachers were different because I felt like I had seen enough. My daughters "award" at the end of the year was for "Taking the longest to finish a test" this is not an award, this is mean and there is something wrong with a teacher who thinks that kind of behavior is acceptable.

Open Door Christian Academy 5

Posted April 21, 2011
- a teacher
I was a student at ODCA and I am now a teacher. I love this school! Many of the same teachers and staff members from when I was a student are still at ODCA. This school is a solid place to help your child grow. I am just as excited about ODCA today as I was when I started attending K-5 years and years ago.

Open Door Christian Academy 5

Posted April 06, 2010
- a parent
I have my twin girls attending to k4. This school is excellent, the groups are small and the kids really learn. I love the teacher and assistants, just because they really know how to do their job. My girls were very well accepted even not knowing english, and now they are very fluent. I love this school, the values and the rules that they have, as a parent it will save me a lot of trouble later. Unfortunately the school do not offer discount for having 2 kids and for us is realy hard to pay. Keep up the excellent work please!

Open Door Christian Academy
no rating

Posted December 20, 2009
- a parent
My son started Preschool this year at Open Door Christian Acadamy and absolutely loves it. He is learning so much academically and spiritually. This school has been a blessing to our family. Mrs. Eaton is a wonderful teacher. My son is so excited to go to school and when I pick him up he has so much to tell us. I would recommend this school to anyone who is looking for a Faith based preschool.

Open Door Christian Academy 3

Posted June 08, 2009
- a student
I was a high school student for two years at odca (07-09); it's an okay school. Their dress code is too strict (the mens have to wear polos, and some other stuff, womens have it worse tho). The rules are also pretty strict. I got many detentions from chewing gum out of any of them. The math teacher is seems to forget stuff alot... There is basketball, soccer and track for sports. If you came from public school, you probably wouldn't like this school. I'm going to public school next year...

Open Door Christian Academy 5

Posted January 09, 2009
- a community member
As a graduate of Open Door, I've found that my teachers prepared me for continuing my education. While we certainly didn't have as many class and extracurricular activities that larger schools offered, my transition into college academically was far easier than that of many of my friends. Like any school, there are always things that go on that teachers and parents don't know about. However, most kids that come out of the school are generally really great people. When tempered with an accurate view of the world that recognizes what is out there, the protectiveness of Open Door can be a wonderful environment for teaching kids how to navigate through life in a God honoring way. Some of the rules do seem pointless (at least to the student), especially the dress code, but really. You get over it. The trade off is worth it.

Open Door Christian Academy 4

Posted February 21, 2008
- a student
I am a current student of ODCA. I have attended the school since the 7th grade. The atmosphere is definately friendly and fun. And the teacher do care about each indavidual student. I have gone through an absolutely devastating loss recently and both my friends and teachers have been there for me. I have only one complaint. I just wish we had more classes to chose from. ODCA is a great school and I am glad to have spent my hhigh school years there.

Open Door Christian Academy 2

Posted February 16, 2008
- a parent
Kids that leave the school in the middle of high school have to take lower level classes or additional college classes to get the credits they need to graduate. For kids that are more creative, this is a limited school. Only the kids that 'fit' within the scope of the school and church are accepted. Teasing still happens in this school, it just is more covered up.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families. 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Open Door Christian Academy
27710 Southeast Strebin Road, Troutdale, OR  97060
(503) 661-0606
Last modified Open Door Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Open Door Christian Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top