Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Open Door Christian Academy 1

Posted October 30, 2014
- a parent
My daughter attended preschool here in the 2013-14 school year, the teacher was strict and treated my child like she was behind because she wasn't reading by 4 years old. She loudly would tell other parents in front of the class and other parents dropping their children off that "Your son is behind everyone else in the class, even xxx student is doing better than him" I was appalled at her lack of regard for the students self esteem as well as the low level of professionalism. She also would talk about how she was counting down to retirement and loved the long breaks from school for holidays. I did not stick around to see if the other teachers were different because I felt like I had seen enough. My daughters "award" at the end of the year was for "Taking the longest to finish a test" this is not an award, this is mean and there is something wrong with a teacher who thinks that kind of behavior is acceptable.

Open Door Christian Academy 1

Posted May 27, 2014
- a parent
My son attended this school for four years, this is his last year here, in pre-school until 1st grade the teachers were wonderful but 2nd grade was a nightmare, the teacher are very strict without a balance of being caring and stern, when your child is redirected they have it posted on a chart hanging on the wall so everyone who walks in the room can see who was bad or good. They have 25 students to one teacher so they need children to sit and be quiet like little robots, if not they have to turn their card on the chart and if they still cant be quiet they will be sent to the principals office and can even be spanked, very stressful and horrible for the childs self esteem. Huge disappointment for parents who thought they could keep their chid in a christian school until he graduated but...Christians are suppose to loving and caring towards each other not the case at Open door, back to public school for us,


Open Door Christian Academy 5

Posted June 20, 2012
- a parent
We love ODCA! Our daughter just finished her first year, and has excelled greatly. It is obvious that the faculty and staff of Open Door truly care about each of the students; they teach by example, have strong character, and love what they do! We are so pleased with the high level of academics, the small class sizes, and the Christ-centered atmosphere of the school.

Open Door Christian Academy 5

Posted April 21, 2011
- a teacher
I was a student at ODCA and I am now a teacher. I love this school! Many of the same teachers and staff members from when I was a student are still at ODCA. This school is a solid place to help your child grow. I am just as excited about ODCA today as I was when I started attending K-5 years and years ago.

Open Door Christian Academy 5

Posted April 06, 2010
- a parent
I have my twin girls attending to k4. This school is excellent, the groups are small and the kids really learn. I love the teacher and assistants, just because they really know how to do their job. My girls were very well accepted even not knowing english, and now they are very fluent. I love this school, the values and the rules that they have, as a parent it will save me a lot of trouble later. Unfortunately the school do not offer discount for having 2 kids and for us is realy hard to pay. Keep up the excellent work please!


Open Door Christian Academy 0
no rating

Posted December 20, 2009
- a parent
My son started Preschool this year at Open Door Christian Acadamy and absolutely loves it. He is learning so much academically and spiritually. This school has been a blessing to our family. Mrs. Eaton is a wonderful teacher. My son is so excited to go to school and when I pick him up he has so much to tell us. I would recommend this school to anyone who is looking for a Faith based preschool.

Open Door Christian Academy 5

Posted August 19, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Open Door Christian Academy 2

Posted June 12, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Open Door Christian Academy 3

Posted June 08, 2009
- a student
I was a high school student for two years at odca (07-09); it's an okay school. Their dress code is too strict (the mens have to wear polos, and some other stuff, womens have it worse tho). The rules are also pretty strict. I got many detentions from chewing gum out of any of them. The math teacher is funny...one seems to forget stuff alot... There is basketball, soccer and track for sports. If you came from public school, you probably wouldn't like this school. I'm going to public school next year...

Open Door Christian Academy 5

Posted January 09, 2009
- a community member
As a graduate of Open Door, I've found that my teachers prepared me for continuing my education. While we certainly didn't have as many class and extracurricular activities that larger schools offered, my transition into college academically was far easier than that of many of my friends. Like any school, there are always things that go on that teachers and parents don't know about. However, most kids that come out of the school are generally really great people. When tempered with an accurate view of the world that recognizes what is out there, the protectiveness of Open Door can be a wonderful environment for teaching kids how to navigate through life in a God honoring way. Some of the rules do seem pointless (at least to the student), especially the dress code, but really. You get over it. The trade off is worth it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Open Door Christian Academy
27710 Southeast Strebin Road, Troutdale, OR  97060
(503) 661-0606
Last modified Open Door Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Open Door Christian Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top