Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sweetbriar Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 392 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Tuesday, October 21, 2014

Every day my young daughter is coming home telling us of boys who are bullying hitting & kicking her & others. Other girls in her class have said the same. She says staff won't help & she's suddenly become a very fearful child. Other basic concerns or questions I've had so far have sometimes been met with less than friendly responses by certain staff. Her teacher is very nice, along with the nurse & some staff, but they might do well to nip the overall snobbery & bullying in the bud before it ruins the elementary school environment completely & if they'd like more parental involvement/support like volunteering and PALS (pta) etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2014

If i could, I would rate this school a zero. Please explain to me why a 5 year old little girl is being bullied in her kindergarten class by 3 boys in the same class and why her teacher would not inform the parent about the situation brushing it off because "its nothing serious, kids will be kids." Because kids will kick, push, punch, pull her hair and even spit on her and get away with no action but to move HER to a different class and tell HER it was HER fault and to play with other kids instead. She did nothing wrong, didn't even fight back but told the teacher and what happen? Nothing. The teacher wasn't even going to inform anyone of what happened until we started to question why she stated "they punched me today" "they pushed me off the slide and my bottom hurt" We have written to the school about this situation since the teacher is not taking any action of the physical and mental trauma this child suffered. This is not a great school, your child will be physically bullied by fellow kids and no one will inform you, until your child says something about it. We are most likely going to send our child to a private school where actions like this are not tolerated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

Sweetbrier is a great school. I really admire the teachers, they are doing a great job with the children. I really enjoyed the trip we took to OMSI and spent the night. We had lots of fun. I wish that the classes could be a little smaller and the kids could get more individual help. Other than that the school is doing a great job.


Posted October 4, 2009

The kids are great and the staff is wonderful!!


Posted December 9, 2006

I have been very satisfied with our experience at Sweetbriar. My daughter is in both a Special Education classroom as well as a typical education room. Her teachers are wonderful...she has really begun to thrive since starting here. I couldn't be happier with her progress/teachers/school grounds etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2006

My son has been in Sweeybriar Elemetary since kindergarten and is now in 3rd grade. Every teacher has been wonderful and great to work with! I cannot say enough about the school staff and in particular the principal Pat Baker! If all principals were this involved the world would be a better place.Thank You Sweetbriar!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2006

We had a great experience at Sweetbriar. I am very impressed with the principal, Pat Baker, who knows every childs name, and knows each day as she stands outside at the end of the day, which child belongs to which car picking them up. Every teacher my children had were wonderful, caring, and thurough teachers. Best school I have ever been affiliated with! The kids are always challenged, and encouraged to do their best. I always felt welcome to come help out at the school, and felt genuinely appreciated by the staff for my help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2006

We have two boys in 3rd and 5th grade. We have been very pleased with Sweetbrier. The education programs include music, art and sports. Plus after school programs in science, art and sports. Yearly there is a special art program taught by a professional craftsmen. The teachers work very hard to insure that they are working to the best of thier abilities. No child is ever left behind. If they need help the teachers work with the parents to find what ever is needed. The school makes a real effort to educate the teachers so they can better teach the students. The Principle is involved with everything that goes on at all times. She is firm but fair. The kids know that they can talk to her. She is out at the curb every morning to great each child as they come in.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
77%
Writing

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students62%
Female57%
Male68%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander71%
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students68%
Female66%
Male71%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander86%
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female79%
Male63%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracial83%
Native Americann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learners50%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students76%
Female82%
Male69%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracial67%
Native Americann/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learners50%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female71%
Male79%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students85%
Female86%
Male84%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students75%
Female68%
Male84%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities71%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 65%
Hispanic 17% 21%
Two or more races 9% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 4%
Black 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

501 SE Sweetbriar Ln
Troutdale, OR 97060
Phone: (503) 666-9441

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT