Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Umatilla, OR
Students enrolled: 667
 

3 stars
Based on 5 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mcnary Heights Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
They are horrible they have no ambition to help students they are there for a pay check

Mcnary Heights Elementary School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
My kids brought home some home work but they were never required to turn it in they called it practice sheets for home.


Mcnary Heights Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
There is no persistence in nothing there no discipline not routine not curriculum NOTHING in that school has DETERMINATION... If so they have a horrible way of showing it.

Mcnary Heights Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
NOT AT ALL, I feel that they may respect the rules of how to respect students but there is clearly no respect from the teacher and better yet the staff to the students

Mcnary Heights Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
THEY LOSE MY SON FOR 45 MINS... He was supposed to be in class and he just walked out and no body knew it for 45 MINUTES. when i showed up and every one went on a frantic look for him... This is not caring for students.... and there is defiantly no COMPASSION when they are yelling and talking down to students


Mcnary Heights Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
There is a huge amount of the whole schools attention going to the under privileged (or Spanish speaking) students while the regular are begging to learn more.

Mcnary Heights Elementary School 1

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
I would not recommend taking you child to this school. They are horrible, they do not care about your children's education. it is over populated and they often lose students. They lost my child for over 45 mins talk about a heart pumping anxiety attack for me as a mother. My child could only read 5 words by the end of the 1st grade and they didn't seem to think of this as a problem. They don't offer programs to help your child succeed. My children attended this school for 4 years and they will never never go back.

Mcnary Heights Elementary School 4

Posted June 25, 2007
- a teacher
The school is overcrowded and there is a high population of second language learners. The school administration and staff are constantly doing their best to address these issues at all times. The district has purchased property for the purpose of a a new intermediate school but the public didn't pass the proposed school bond. If it had passed overcrowding would not be an issue in the 2007/2008 school year. The school does a complete head check of every child in the school on a routine basis. The teachers are all highly qualified or working towards that distinction, really care about kids, and totally support each other in everything.


Mcnary Heights Elementary School 1

Posted December 14, 2005
- a parent
My children had the unfortunate experiance to attend this school. The staff at this school do not keep parents up to date on important issues as children being hurt, head lice, or if children do not show up to school they do not notify you. The parent involvement is minimal. The academic programs are fine, however the school is overcrowded, and half of the children hardly speak english. My son was pushed down a stair and had a gooseegg on his chin and hip, and when he told the teacher he was told not to tattle! My daughter came home from school several times with headlice. After treating her and sending her back to school. They didn't even do a headcheck on her to make sure she did not have lice! We now Homeschool. IF YOU LOVE YOUR KIDS DON'T SEND THEM TO THIS SCHOOL! Take them to hermiston or homeschool.
2 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mcnary Heights Elementary School
120 Columbia Ave, Umatilla, OR  97882
(541) 922-6650
Last modified Mcnary Heights Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mcnary Heights Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top