Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

As the new principal at South Columbia Family School, I look forward to supporting our role in inspiring, supporting, and nurturing the high achievements of our students and families. Family involvement is essential to our home and school-based program, and our goal is to support learning as a team. Individualized instruction with specialized support is at our core. Should there be any questions or concerns at any time, I promise to listen and help resolve them to the best of my ability--and with sincere care:)
August 28, 2014

3 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


7 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


South Columbia Family School 5

Posted September 30, 2014
- a teacher
For 10 years I have been here to see students progress in their academic and social skills. It has been a joy to interact with the students and parents and be a part of such of a cohesive staff.

South Columbia Family School 5

Posted September 04, 2014
- a parent
We love South Columbia Family School. It has been great for our family to have the flexibility of homeschooling, but with the help of the teacher if we need it. The community day each week is a nice break for me from teaching the kids and gives them a chance to go into a classroom environment and be with friends Great to learning to work with others and team building. This is our second year at this school, with two kid enrolled and two more that will attend when they are old enough.


South Columbia Family School 1

Posted February 24, 2014
- a parent
This school was a huge disappointment. It is poorly run and they don't handle kids with minor differences well. There are many better schools in the area and if you want to homeschool I would recommend doing it separate from this school. The teacher/principal drama is not worth it.

South Columbia Family School 2

Posted January 26, 2014
- a parent
Went to check out this school. Principal was very pushy with the registration papers the moment we walked in the door before we even had a chance to ask questions. (Pushy busy-body type not for us) The school "building" is nothing more than a portable in a baseball field of a public elementary school. It is 10 feet from another portable that is used for early intervention and that portable is 10 feet from the grade school. All 3 schools are crowded around a tiny parking lot. The kids are supposed to come to school one day a week and also for one conference. No flexibility offered to us for day/time of conference. We also learned that several of the grades only have 2-3 students in them. Must be a reason for that. Not for us.

South Columbia Family School 5

Posted May 01, 2012
- a parent
We are on our 4th yr here for one child and 1st for another. We have always received excellent support from both our teachers and principle. If there has been any concerns at all they have been address promptly and the issue was resolved.They have great student to teacher ratio with no more then 21 kids per class.The average is usually 15. I also like how the principle is involved with all her students. She knows all their names and they always greet her with a big smile. If you like the idea homeschooling but need the support of a teacher this is a great option. Our kids go once a week for community day and then one hour a week for conference with their teacher. That is a great time to address any concerns or get extra help in a subject you are having trouble with. And one of the best benefits is that your curriculum is tailored specifically to your child's needs. Overall we love this school and look forward to many more years here.


South Columbia Family School 1

Posted October 16, 2010
- a parent
This school was a major disappointment. The teachers are below average. If a problem comes up it is always the child's/parent's/caregiver's fault and the staff will not take responsibility for their behavior and all stick together when it's obvious they are at fault, at the expense of the child. Good teachers will not stay here or tolerate the politics that are staff centered. If you care about your child and their education, do not go here.

South Columbia Family School 5

Posted June 09, 2008
- a parent
South Columbia Family School is a great option for home schoolers. It provides an opportunity for kids to socialize with their peers in a classroom environment while still enjoying the benefits of home schooling. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The teachers are willing to tailor lessons to each child's needs. This is a family oriented school with staff that is supportive of parents' involvment in their child's education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

South Columbia Family School
34555 Berg Road, Warren, OR  97053
(503) 366-9009
Last modified South Columbia Family School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
South Columbia Family School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 7 reviews. Top