Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Columbia Academy

Private | PK-8 | 35 students

 
 

Living in West Linn

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $330,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,130.

Source: Sperling's Best Places

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 9 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 28, 2012

We are so pleased with the high quality individualized instruction our daughter is receiving at Columbia Academy. The attention to detail with regard to curriculum in all the subjects is remarkable. The teachers truly care about the happiness of each student too and this helps encourage the children to do their best every day. Thank you, Columbia Academy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2012

Columbia has been a life-saver for my kids. The small class sizes are amazing and the one-on-one attention each child gets to help them succeed is exceptional. The teachers are awesome and the atmosphere is full of love and understanding. My kids love to go to school and their self-confidence level is through the roof. We love Columbia!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2012

My daughter was attending a charter public school prior to Columbia, I knew she was behind and falling more behind by the year. I had asked the school to test her but they dragged their feet and got nothing done. A year ago, we checked out and had my daughter tested in 3 different private schools in the Gresham, Damascus and West Linn area. All the tests were similar in placing her, but what stood out for us was Columbia because they were willing to give her a special curriculum program set to meet her needs. She has been attending Columbia now for a year. She is happier, more confident and on the right track to catching up. I do not believe we could of seen this success anywhere else. The love and support she gets there along with a great program has been wonderful and will be for many more years :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2012

My daughter has been attending Columbia Academy since she was 4 and we absolutely love it. Our favorite part about the enivronment of the school is that the kids all get along so well and their relationships with each other and the teachers is more like a family. Academically, my daughter is ahead of the game because of the care and attention of the teachers and she really loves learning. She looks forward to going to school every day and is always excited about their projects, field trips, performances and even after school care!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2012

Columbia Academy is a 5 stars school, this year its my daughter's first year and she is doing amazing. I love the small class sizes and the TEACHERS are AMAZING!!!! they trully love the kids and they are not there just because of a paycheck. Prior to make my decision my husband and I went to 6 plus other schools and nothing can top it of Columbia Academy. The school curriculum its awsome and they trully stand by their philosophy work hard and play hard. During the begining of the year my daughter was just starting to read but did not had any interest in picking up a book to read, now she is reading very well and she askes for books all the time. Our daughter loves going to school and she gets so excited on Sundays because she knows she gets to see her friends and teachers the next day. We as a parent couldn't be any happier with this school and we are looking forward to keep our daughter here at Columbia Academy until 6th grade :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2012

After several years at Montessori my son is now at Columbia. He has transitioned nicely and I attribute a lot of that to the teachers and curriculum at the school. The children all seem happy to be there and I can see why- there's a nice balance between casual and professional that works well with most kids and the staff sincerely seem to enjoy what they do and care about the children. Nice grounds, great location not far off 205 and close to West Linn and Lake Oswego. Perfect!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2012

I love being at Columbia Academy more than any other school because it is easier to learn when I am there. When I first went to Columbia Academy I was 7 years old and tested into first grade, I should have been in second grade and now I am almost caught up to where I am suppose to be and that makes me happy!! There are many nice people at CA. The teachers are really nice, kind and loving. The teachers reward us for completed targets(goals). We also have music and arts and crafts.


Posted November 11, 2012

Columbia Academy is the best environment for my child. My daughter has been attending Columbia for over a year now and wakes up in the morning thrilled to go to school. Love of learning is what Columbia Academy inspires in my daughter and I couldn't be more thankful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2012

I have three children that attend Columbia Academy and we have been part of the Columbia family for 7 years now. To say I love the school is an understatement. The amount of comfort and joy that Columbia Academy gives not only to my children but to my family is truly beyond words. The staff at Columbia care for my children as if they were their own. The structure, ethics and curriculum are amazing. If you are looking for a school for your child you should look no further. I feel blessed to have found them and I am sure anyone would feel the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

Columbia Academy's motto is "Work hard - Play hard" and they do! Their dynamic teachers provide each child with an individualized learning program and foster a strong sense of values. Too, they strive to help each child meet the President's Physical Fitness Standards, engage in most team sports and enjoy having fun together. I can't say enough about their great teachers and I can't think of a richer learning environment.


Posted September 28, 2010

We are new Columbia Academy parents and we are very happy with the school and believe we made the best choice for our child. We chose to send our 4 year old to Columbia Academy for a number of reasons. The first and foremost was that they allow the children to move along at their own pace, focusing on levels of comprehension rather than sticking to a fixed timetable for academic progress. This together with the small class sizes and commitment to learning is giving my child a great start. We have already seen great strides in his reading and his confidence. Also, it is not by chance that we have had such a smooth transition to the school. Right from the start my son was made to feel welcome and comfortable in his new classroom and he loves the hands on learning that he gets to experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

I have a young girl in this school, and she has really grown in just 6 months. I was initially looking for a preschool situation for my daughter, as we are also supported by a great public school system here. However, I have come to see such spirit, growth and wonderful enthusiasm for learning in my daughter. I work with her each night to connect with her daily work, she really enjoys talking about her day. She has learned to read very quickly, and I am very confident that she will be well above grade level in most, if not all subject areas when she is ready to transition to another school in a few years. Although, with the way things are going, she may stay there much longer than I initially thought. I love the friendly staff, the safe location and the amazing facility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

I love this school! I have a 6 year old and a 12 year old. In a very short amount of time my 12 year old has improved from testing at 5th grade to 7th grade math. Her other school had good outcomes but with 30 kids in a classroom the teacher was overwhelmed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

small classes with close supervision (about 12 students per classroom with a teacher and a TA); snack time before lunch; self paced learning
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

Columbia Academy is a very positive learning environment for all the children. The teachers do a truly amazing job of teaching all the children at their individual educational level. Fantastic, positive school and teachers.


Posted May 4, 2010

We love Columbia Academy for so many reasons.The teachers are absolutely amazing and create such a positive and encouraging environment for learning. They actually teach the kids how to learn, rather than just teaching them the curriculum. My child has thrived here and LOVES school. To get such a wonderful head start on school and learning is invaluable these days. While other schools need to cut back on everything from the arts to P.E., Columbia Academy includes these on an every day basis. We love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

Before coming to Columbia Academy my son was failing in school, and even though he was only in first grade, he already hated school. Within a few weeks of starting at Columbia he began to excel academically and was excited about going to school. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

Columbia Academy is a Stellar school where the students not only learn but they apply what they learn. Each child works at their own pace which makes more sense as each child has different needs. My son loves to go to school and he takes pride in setting goals and working towards them each day. All the teachers work together as a group to make the school safe and fun. The children have the freedom to create their own vision. An education is only as good as you apply it in life to succeed in your goals and Columbia Academy provides that education. These children are our future and with the excellent Academics they receive at Columbia Academy the sky is the limit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

I like Columbia Academy because of its great curriculum, individuaized program, best teachers and safe environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Columbia Academy is a wonderful community for children to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 65%
Black 11% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hispanic 0% 21%
Two or more races 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (503) 699-1013
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Po Box 101
West Linn, OR 97068
Website: Click here
Phone: (503) 699-1012

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare

Add this school to compare
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT