Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Three Rivers Charter School 4

Posted June 26, 2012
- a parent
Read between the lines: the majority of EVERYthing said below is true, tempered to some degree. The good: great school; high academic standards; great degree of student accountability. The bad: constant teacher turnover; lack of communication; administration can be defensive. The mediocre: PE, Art, Music, etc.,--you know it's not there when you start; get it somewhere else. Bottom line: no place is perfect and consider your options: 3RCS is WAY better than anything else West Linn has to offer.

Three Rivers Charter School 5

Posted May 14, 2012
- a parent
What a great experience this school has been. The administrator and teachers are brilliant! They listen and act with honesty and integrity. It is such an amazing school-keep up the great work! You are changing the way students view school. At TRCS, the caring and understanding of both parents and students is amazing! My thanks to the insightful administrator for helping this school continue to serve the community of west linn/wilsonville!


Three Rivers Charter School 2

Posted April 23, 2012
- a parent
Our TRCS experience includes lovely families & teachers AND: *This school has an inflated reputation, pushing high standardized test scores as a top benefit. Creativity is lacking. *The stale administration can be short sighted & condescending if questioned *Chronic staff turn over builds nothing. *No developed PE, art or music instruc/program. Kids can participate at Rosemont or Athey for anything structured or planned ahead. classes at TRCS are minimal *The facility is too small, lacking. No improvements made in 5 yrs. *The required/suggested donation amounts can oft change mid year. First asking families to donate $$$$, then asking for $$$ and maybe a little of $$. Names of those who provide payments are listed in the weekly newsletter. Charter schools are a biz & new families should have information from both satisfied and unsatisfied customers. Positive reviews are a reflection of those people's experiences. The one star review below is also an accurate account of how things can roll at TRCS. The Teacher review below sounds defensive, & kinda proves the point of the one star review. Go with the program, or get called out. It does happen.

Three Rivers Charter School 5

Posted April 17, 2012
- a community member
I am an alumni of the school. And I would like to just say that the parent that gave "no stars" doesn't know what they're talking about. I loved that school. Through the constant care of my teachers, I entered high school as a better student, and human being. I wish that all teachers were as awesome as the teachers from TRCS. Of all schools, this school is the last one I would think of that deserves criticism. If you want your children to become quality citizens and not mindless drones, sending them to TRCS would be a good place to start. Take my word for it, this is an awesome school!

Three Rivers Charter School 5

Posted January 17, 2012
- a teacher
As I read the review written below, I am struck by the irony of it. What we teach our students is that they cannot make a publically derogatory statement without providing explanation enough that would allow the criticized to respond or learn from their opinion. This is, indeed, critical thinking--where one looks not only at "what" they think, but "why" they think it. We teach them that "standing up for the courage of your convictions" means that you don't make these statements anonymously to the general public, but rather discuss them privately with the person involved. Based on the way this writer saw fit to express their upset, It is easy to see why this person was unhappy with our philosophy. I can only hope that they will step forward and seek a solution to their displeasure.


Three Rivers Charter School 1

Posted December 02, 2011
- a parent
No stars. The administrator needs to retire. Students are not allowed to have opinions of the school that do not adhere to the administration's self-aggrandizing, rosy picture. If they do, they are berated, humiliated and made to feel like they are the problem. Parents are kept in the dark. Instead of encouraging critical thinking and standing up for the courage of one's convictions, all this teaches the students is that adults in power will maintain that power at all costs.

Three Rivers Charter School 5

Posted February 28, 2011
- a parent
Cannot say enough great things about TRCS. It has been a fabulous place for my 6th grader to thrive. Not only academically but with strenthening self esteem. The level of responsibility that they require of the students and the amount of support the staff gives is phenomenal. Only have positive things to say.

Three Rivers Charter School 0
no rating

Posted May 10, 2010
- a student
This is a phenomenal school that any child would be lucky attend. It changes your life, and makes you a better person not only academically, but also in terms of your own personal growth. I would recommend this school to anybody.


Three Rivers Charter School 5

Posted September 05, 2008
- a parent
After attending Three Rivers for three years I can honestly say that my expierence there was exceptional. The teachers were deticated, but also into forming realationships with all their students. They understand growing strong students acidemically as well as emotionally This school really evokes a sense of family by making all the kids fell accepted and good about themsleves. It inspires confidence and helps students imerge out of their shells! I would highly recomend this school to just about everyone, but I'll warn you that there is absolutley no chance you will come out of this school not feeling confident, like you can take on anything! Note: This place is awsome, and I would seriously go back in a heart beat!

Three Rivers Charter School 5

Posted June 17, 2006
- a parent
Three Rivers Charter School is an amazing school. The brainchild of two exceptional visionaries, Katherine Holtgraves and Merilee Bales who believe 'Your Life is What You Make it'. They are proof of this statement and bring that to the 100 children grades 4th-8th who attend this unique school. Not only is a school created but a community of caring staff, teachers, parents and students. The academics are challenging, interesting and inspiring to the kids. THe school is one of the top in the area, and truly one of a kind. I have had 3 of my 4 children attend and feel fortunate to have had the opportunity.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Three Rivers Charter School
4975 Willamette Falls Dr, West Linn, OR  97068
(503) 723-6019
Last modified Three Rivers Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades 4-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Three Rivers Charter School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top