Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Boones Ferry Primary School

Public | PK-5 | 791 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 3, 2012

I attended this school four years ago. I have to say that this school a very very good!! When I had moved to America, I attended this school for fourth grade and fifth grade. I thought it was going to be horrible but it was the opposite. My fourth (favorite) grade, Mr. B, was a amazing person! He made me feel very comfortable around the school, and with other students. I also found my best friend in fourth grade. For my second year at Boones Ferry was far beyond my comfort-zone, it was starting to feel like home to me. My fifth grade teacher, Mrs. B, was a strong, encouraging woman, who encouraged her students to read, write, and draw. Even though I'm a seventh grade, I still remembered my time at Boones Ferry was the most memorable thing in my life.


Posted June 6, 2011

Boones Ferry is our first experience with public schools and I am incredibly impressed with the community, administration, and support our school receives. We have an incredible campus and great learning opportunity with CREST.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2011

We're leaving this year for AZ. But one of the biggest regrets we'll have in leaving this community is leaving Boones Ferry Primary. Our daughter is finishing 3rd grade this year and she has been going here since Kindergarten. She's heartbroken having to leave BF. The teachers are amazing. The environment is one of loving devotion to kids. This is personified in the principal, Jennifer Patterson. She's one of those principles that knows all the kids by name (no easy task) and cares about the school, to her core. And it shows, in every interaction she has with the parents and kids. I can't stress to you just how amazing this school is. If I could fold it up and put it in my suitcase, I would.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2008

We had our daughter at Mentor Graphics and were thrilled with the teacher involvement, child-focus and best-practices curriculum and communication with parents. We were not sure kindergarten at BFPS would offer her the quality education she received at Mentor. Well, she had a wonderful year and cannot praise the teachers and staff enough at Boones Ferry! Our daughter loved kindergarten and is so ready for 1st grade! Differentiation is defintely something that is done for all students and there is a real focus on literacy as a school. It's wonderful to know that she was challenged to her full potential in kindergarten. Hats off to Mrs. Janet Lewis!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2008

My family has had an excellent experience with this school. Between both of my children in our three years at this school, we've experienced each year of K thru 5. I have been very pleased with the added programs since the new principal and vice principal came on board. The teachers accommodate all levels in their classroom without leaving anyone behind or having anyone bored. This year the teachers focused on project-based learning. My 2nd grader performed his own research and wrote a book to share with a kingergarten class; my 5th grader studied green housing and built a house model, complete with an estimate of the cost to build. I'm just sorry she has to go to a different school for 6th grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

My son has attended this school since Kindergarten and I would not recommend it. It used to be a great school with the prior principal (whose name I cannot recall right now). She was a wonderful, understanding and loving principal and parent. The current principal and vice principal try to run the school as if it were a military barracks. Consequently, the kids misbehave and rebel more. I know of more than a few parents who are unhappy with the current administration. I am glad I no longer have to deal with their ineffectiveness at dealing with children. My son is on to middle school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2007

This is our first year at this school. My daughter is in third grade and is loving it! She has an outstanding teacher as well. Unfortunately, this is my daughter's third school she has gone to because we have moved a couple of times. But, it has also given me a chance to compare Boones Ferry to other schools. I feel that they do a great job all around. They have only been open for six years now. Which does not compare to the many years that other schools have been open and the experience that they have had at running a school. And considering the growth of the community I feel that they have been very accommodating to everyone. I look forward to my daughter continuing on at this school along with her younger siblings. Great Job, Boones Ferry!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2006

This school has some work to do in regards to its relations to low income or Spanish speaking families. It's an ok school. It's not harmful, yet not truly outstanding either. It's definately got room to grow. Overall, it's adequate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2006

This school is amazing! The entire faculty make it their business and their priority to ensure each child gets a great education. The Teachers are very communicative, despite what is said below, as is the principal and vice principal. Anyone who says different isn't trying hard enough. Remember, a good school, has busy employees and can't return every single phone call in the time you want them to. This school is the best in Oregon. I challenge anyone to prove me wrong! Parents who are unhappy, probably have kids who don't behave, or are just not involved enough. I highly reccomend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2006

This school is not one That I plan on keepiong my children in. The leadership is very un-organized, along with many other things. I never get my phone call returned by the principle or the vice principle. The more I try to be involved with my daughters education the harder of a time they give me. I would not recommend this school to anyone who values their child's future.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female73%
Male69%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracial90%
Native Americann/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners20%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted92%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students77%
Female82%
Male71%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracial>=95%
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners33%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted92%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
Female58%
Male70%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic21%
Multiracial63%
Native Americann/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learners8%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted92%
Special Education with Accomodation13%

Reading

All Students76%
Female77%
Male74%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracial88%
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities40%
English language learners58%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation25%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female81%
Male83%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities44%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation38%

Reading

All Students83%
Female78%
Male88%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities44%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation38%

Science

All Students89%
Female81%
Male>=95%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities56%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 66%
Hispanic 23% 21%
Two or more races 6% 4%
Asian 3% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Black 1% 3%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11495 Wilsonville Rd
Wilsonville, OR 97070
Phone: (503) 673-7300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Mentor Graphics CDC
Wilsonville, OR





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT