Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Nellie Muir Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 464 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 6, 2013

It looks like the review I complained about has been removed. Thankyou, web admin. Great Schools forum should not be allowed to become a forum for ignorant agenda-driven trolls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2012

Nellie Muir is a great school. All three of my kids are in the dual immersion program and I am really happy with it. Nellie Muir is also an IB school. The teachers and principal are easy to work with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2008

I think Nellie is a very good school. My child is in Kindergarten and in the dual language program. She has a teacher who is a mom away from mom. I can reach her anytime of the day or night that I need to. She calls and checks on my child when she misses school. The principle is awesome! She always responds to my emails ASAP! We solve problems together and I am very happy with this school. My daughter loves the school and never has a bad thing to say. She is learning Spanish for the first time in her life and seems to be doing well. She is right at the level she should be at.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2007

My daughter attended Nellie from K through 3rd grade. K through 1st would have been ok, but the higher you go in this school the less of an education you receive. The students are not challenged. The teachers need to spend most of their time getting 80% of the students up to par for state tests, thus leaving those that are ok in study's to wait and be bored. We now have our daughter in a decent school - and she is struggling to keep up with her work load.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2007

I have a boy in kindergarten, and love the teacher, because of the great and positive environment he loves going to school. He is in the dual program, learning how to read and write in spanish. It's amazing what he has accomplish so far. I only wish there were more opportunities for sports, and other activities, and communication with parents. Perhaps the lack of communication is what leads to very little parent involvement. The staff is wonderful, it's like a big family. overall I am pleased with the school, now. if we could only do something about the building!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2006

Nellie Muir has exceeded my expectations. My kindergartener is speaking conversational Spanish only 9 months later and she is reading comprehensively at Level 4. I am glad I took a leap of faith and enrolled her at Nellie Muir. She is thriving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2004

I have [two students] and they have regressed from last year where they attended colton schools. I am not happy with the teaching quality, and making work hard enough to challenge my [student] . Very slow school and I feel they are 1-2 grade level's behind most school's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2003

My child spent most of his 1st grade year at Nellie Muir and we were very impressed with the staff. My son is diagnosed with ADHD and ODD [attention deficit hyperactivity disorder and oppositional defiance disorder]. His classroom teacher did an excellent job of keeping my son involved with general classroom activities. She was willing to adapt her system when it wasn't working as effectively for my son. She was very open and willing to communicate with me daily about how my son's day went. She was willing and able to keep my son academically challenged while keeping him involved with his classmates activities. The principal made time in her day to touch base with my son and see how his day was going. This one-on-one couple of minutes every day made a hug difference. My son felt very comfortable going to her whenever he had problems with other students. The school counselor also worked closely with my son in helping him make progress with his social behavior. The counselor and principal were very willing to talk with me any and every time I wanted. My child entered 1st grade reading at a 2nd grade level and doing 2nd grade math. In addition to the social and behavioral progress he made, he ended his year reading at a 3rd grade level and doing beginning algebra. The school was able to cope with my child s behavioral and academic needs. Lincoln Elementary [also in WSD] was not able to do the same.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
61%
Writing

2010

 
 
37%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students14%
Female19%
Male6%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic15%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White9%
Economically disadvantaged14%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learners12%
Migrant13%
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation25%

Reading

All Students30%
Female24%
Male38%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learners22%
Migrant25%
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students43%
Female38%
Male49%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learners32%
Migrant36%
Academically gifted79%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students48%
Female48%
Male49%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic49%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learners38%
Migrant27%
Academically gifted71%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students27%
Female33%
Male21%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White42%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities5%
English language learners14%
Migrant10%
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation5%

Reading

All Students35%
Female46%
Male25%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities16%
English language learners14%
Migrant20%
Academically gifted89%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students28%
Female27%
Male28%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic23%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilities12%
English language learners<=5%
Migrant11%
Academically gifted89%
Special Education with Accomodation12%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 81% 21%
White 18% 66%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Asian 0% 4%
Black 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1800 West Hayes St
Woodburn, OR 97071
Website: Click here
Phone: (503) 981-2670

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Luke School
Woodburn, OR







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT