Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Valor Middle School 4

Posted August 26, 2010
- a teacher
I am very happy to see the 4 star rating for Valor from parents, though we are always working to make that 5 stars. However, I do not understand a "Great Schools" rating of 3 out of 10. Valor Middle School has met AYP (Annual Yearly Progress) goals the last two years, and in 2009 was recognized by the state for our incredible progress in closing the achievement gap. A rating of 30% for a school that has brought its test scores up by 40-50% in the past 6 years calls into question the system used for rating. Those interested in a different view of Valor should visit these sites: Video on Valor's success: http://video.orvsd.org/ode/Valor-Middle-School.mov Article on Valor's success: http://www.ode.state.or.us/superintendent/priorities/valor---woodburn-independent.pdf

Valor Middle School 1

Posted December 15, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Valor Middle School 4

Posted March 10, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Valor Middle School 5

Posted September 09, 2008
- a parent
My son blossomed at Valor, going from a shy child with few friends to a happy, well-adjusted boy. His homework is challenging, he gets to study two languages, and he participates in music and sports. The school has a welcoming environment and great teachers and staff. Our children are very lucky!

Valor Middle School 5

Posted August 06, 2008
- a student
the best! i love this school i learn alot and have so much fun at the same time! the techers are the coolest people i know and dont forget the the head counsealers!


Valor Middle School 5

Posted April 03, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Valor Middle School 5

Posted October 08, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Valor Middle School 4

Posted June 05, 2007
- a teacher
you state the test score results but it's so skewed because close to 90% of this school is second language english. that has to affect the percentages.... so when you rate the school you should take those factors into account. This is a very active school in regards to parent involvement. every thursday they have a parent night where they focus on one of the learning areas of the school--for ex: explorations night (pe, art, drama, music...), or language arts night, science night, sports night, and so on....

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Valor Middle School
450 Parr Rd, Woodburn, OR  97071
(503) 981-2750
Last modified Valor Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Valor Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews.