Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-6|Private
120 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Meadowbrook School 5

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
My son has been going to Meadowbrook for 2 years. Our experience has been amazing. The Pre-school program is great for 3 and 4 year olds, our son learned a whole lot both academically and socially. The teachers are great, nurturing, caring, knowledgeable, human beings. The community is great: teachers, staff, parents, and students make everybody feel welcome and part of an amazing group. We love that everybody knows each other by name and the students are always helping each other. The Pre-K program is great so far, and I am sure for the next 7 years our son will be in the best place he can be. We are glad we found Meadowbrook and recommend it if you are looking for 1 on 1 education for your child.

Meadowbrook School 5

Posted January 12, 2015
- a parent
There are few schools that provide the care, curriculum and sense of community like Meadowbrook. The family-style lunch program, the student-led assemblies, the enriching Science and Art programs make this elementary school worth the investment. The graduates from Meadowbrook are highly sought after and transition to any school after 6th grade very well; they are mature, well-prepared, versatile, and confident boys and girls. I am proud my children are learning in such a safe and caring environment.


Meadowbrook School 5

Posted December 11, 2013
- a parent
Meadowbrook School is one the Philadelphia suburbs' best small, private elementary schools. My wife and I set-out on an exhaustive search for the best local private school we could find; we sought a challenging curriculum, balanced with successful athletic and social interactions, based in a caring and supportive family environment. Meadowbrook School embodies all this and more. Really, what more important choice is there for one's child and his or her future? From the family-style dining (with teachers and kids from other grades) to the older/younger "buddy" system among the students, this school nurtures a sense of community and respect across a diverse group of learners. Small class sizes only further the academic progress and socialization of the kids there, too. I recommend Meadowbrook as a parent without ANY hesitation, whole-heartedly.

Meadowbrook School 3

Posted June 11, 2013
- a parent
This school has some great traditions, community, etc. Some of the teachers are lacking good teaching skills and are not held accountable-so you have a great range. There are some awesome teachers and then some really poor teachers. There is no clear understanding of your child's true academic/achievement abilities. The headmaster only cares about raising money and if you don't have any to give then he won't pay you any mind.

Meadowbrook School 3

Posted February 14, 2011
- a community member
When I attended this school, I was bored. If you want a school that will challenge your gifted child, this is not it.


Meadowbrook School 5

Posted November 20, 2008
- a parent
If you are seeking a nurturing, but academically-challenging school, you definitely need to check out Meadowbrook. Our son is now in fourth-grade, but when he started in K-5, I was astounding that he was learning French, going to science lab, working in the art wing and mastering the internet in the computer lab. You simply cannot get this experience and academic exposure in a public school setting. Plus, I found the structured approach to be a much better match for him than a montessori setting would be or the local Friends school, which seems to be less structured. Our son runs...RUNS...into the building every day. He has NEVER uttered the words 'I don' t want to go to school today.' I know that he will be prepared for wherever he goes after Meadowbrook because of the confidence that has been instilled in him by the school's fantastic teachers.

Meadowbrook School 5

Posted April 29, 2008
- a parent
My daughter and I were introduced to Meadowbrook just before her fourth grade year. We applied and were accepted and we knew from the beginning what has already been confirmed, that we were embarking on an experience that would greatly change and improve our lives. The academics and extra curriculars at Meadowbrook are rigorous, however, the nurturing atmosphere of the school empowers every child to be encouraged and meet the extremely high expectations. Noone is allowed to fail or fall behind in anything. Every individual associated with that school knows every child and can and will gladly offer insights into each child's progress and development. Meadowbrook children have a powerful spirit that says 'I know I am a part of something special.' That spirit stays with them as they become leaders at the GFS's, Penn Charters and GA's of the world, and as they pursue their post high school studies.

Meadowbrook School 5

Posted September 14, 2007
- a parent
Meadowbrook is a spectacular school all around. They teach kids math, reading,science, writing, language and art using the best effective methods. The level of parent involvement and extra curricular activities is very high. School has a warm, friendly, and highly educational atmosphere, which impresses students and parents.


Meadowbrook School 5

Posted March 03, 2004
- a parent
I think Meadowbrook is a fantastic school with loving and homelike atmosphere. Both teachers and parents are very involved. Teachers are great and very caring and helpful. I highly recommend the school. My daughter is graduating from 6th grade this June. I wish that the school went up to 12th grade.

Meadowbrook School 5

Posted January 05, 2004
- a parent
My two children have attended Meadowbrook for three years, and they are thriving there, because the classes are small (no more than 15 children per class, and frequently fewer) and the adults (teachers and administrators) take responsibility for their students and their performance. That doesn't happen in every school, public or private! Meadowbrook emphasizes the basics - reading and writing - but the children have physical education every day and two recesses, as well as art, science, French and music at least twice a week. I'm convinced that the money is well-spent in the early years, when children learn to learn.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Meadowbrook School
1641 Hampton Road, Abington, PA  19006
(215) 884-3238
Last modified Meadowbrook School is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Meadowbrook School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top