Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Private
Abington, PA
Students enrolled: 124
Before care: No
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Meadowbrook School 5

Posted December 11, 2013
- a parent
Meadowbrook School is one the Philadelphia suburbs' best small, private elementary schools. My wife and I set-out on an exhaustive search for the best local private school we could find; we sought a challenging curriculum, balanced with successful athletic and social interactions, based in a caring and supportive family environment. Meadowbrook School embodies all this and more. Really, what more important choice is there for one's child and his or her future? From the family-style dining (with teachers and kids from other grades) to the older/younger "buddy" system among the students, this school nurtures a sense of community and respect across a diverse group of learners. Small class sizes only further the academic progress and socialization of the kids there, too. I recommend Meadowbrook as a parent without ANY hesitation, whole-heartedly.

Meadowbrook School 3

Posted June 11, 2013
- a parent
This school has some great traditions, community, etc. Some of the teachers are lacking good teaching skills and are not held accountable-so you have a great range. There are some awesome teachers and then some really poor teachers. There is no clear understanding of your child's true academic/achievement abilities. The headmaster only cares about raising money and if you don't have any to give then he won't pay you any mind.


Meadowbrook School 3

Posted February 14, 2011
- a community member
When I attended this school, I was bored. If you want a school that will challenge your gifted child, this is not it.

Meadowbrook School 5

Posted December 08, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Meadowbrook School 5

Posted November 20, 2008
- a parent
If you are seeking a nurturing, but academically-challenging school, you definitely need to check out Meadowbrook. Our son is now in fourth-grade, but when he started in K-5, I was astounding that he was learning French, going to science lab, working in the art wing and mastering the internet in the computer lab. You simply cannot get this experience and academic exposure in a public school setting. Plus, I found the structured approach to be a much better match for him than a montessori setting would be or the local Friends school, which seems to be less structured. Our son runs...RUNS...into the building every day. He has NEVER uttered the words 'I don' t want to go to school today.' I know that he will be prepared for wherever he goes after Meadowbrook because of the confidence that has been instilled in him by the school's fantastic teachers.


Meadowbrook School 5

Posted April 29, 2008
- a parent
My daughter and I were introduced to Meadowbrook just before her fourth grade year. We applied and were accepted and we knew from the beginning what has already been confirmed, that we were embarking on an experience that would greatly change and improve our lives. The academics and extra curriculars at Meadowbrook are rigorous, however, the nurturing atmosphere of the school empowers every child to be encouraged and meet the extremely high expectations. Noone is allowed to fail or fall behind in anything. Every individual associated with that school knows every child and can and will gladly offer insights into each child's progress and development. Meadowbrook children have a powerful spirit that says 'I know I am a part of something special.' That spirit stays with them as they become leaders at the GFS's, Penn Charters and GA's of the world, and as they pursue their post high school studies.

Meadowbrook School 5

Posted September 14, 2007
- a parent
Meadowbrook is a spectacular school all around. They teach kids math, reading,science, writing, language and art using the best effective methods. The level of parent involvement and extra curricular activities is very high. School has a warm, friendly, and highly educational atmosphere, which impresses students and parents.

Meadowbrook School 5

Posted March 03, 2004
- a parent
I think Meadowbrook is a fantastic school with loving and homelike atmosphere. Both teachers and parents are very involved. Teachers are great and very caring and helpful. I highly recommend the school. My daughter is graduating from 6th grade this June. I wish that the school went up to 12th grade.


Meadowbrook School 5

Posted January 05, 2004
- a parent
My two children have attended Meadowbrook for three years, and they are thriving there, because the classes are small (no more than 15 children per class, and frequently fewer) and the adults (teachers and administrators) take responsibility for their students and their performance. That doesn't happen in every school, public or private! Meadowbrook emphasizes the basics - reading and writing - but the children have physical education every day and two recesses, as well as art, science, French and music at least twice a week. I'm convinced that the money is well-spent in the early years, when children learn to learn.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Meadowbrook School
1641 Hampton Road, Abington, PA  19006
(215) 884-3238
Last modified Meadowbrook School is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Meadowbrook School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top