Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Roberto Clemente Cs

Charter | 6-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Allentown

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $49,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

I think Roberto Clemente is a great school, is been a great experience to be a part of this school!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2012

i agree about the administration. Plain and simple they are no good. My child graduates this year and they will be off to community college and thats ok with me. I see nothing wrong with community college....lets face it we arent rich and i for sure dont want my child paying college bills till they are in their 40's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2012

The was at its BEST when Dr. Cerullo was the principal! He loved the children and go along with all the parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2009

I love this school! Love it! It totally rocks. My daughter goes here and she thinks it's wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

I give roberto clemente charter school a three star because, this school very strict, the kid are really rude to the teachers they insult them, the also need more extracurricular activities. Also some of the teachers insult the student and it's not the best place to send your child, but on the pluse side the food is not bad the teachers are ok.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 14, 2009

My two youngest children go to this school. I work in the Allentown School District and I love Roberto Clemente better than the public schools. The staff seem to really care about my children. If they seem to be struggling in something the teachers are always glad to help. I know that they are learning. The small class sizes are great, and I love that it is small school community and everyone is usally friendly with one another.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2009

I dont like this school at all,when im doing bad and the report card shows up the teaches dont help out...i want to try my best but they never seem to help.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 13, 2009

I think this is a great school.!!! My son is an A student and i think the school just challenges him everyday. Th
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2009

Since Mr Lopez left this school has been going down hill the principal has no idea wht she is doing and there is no diciplin for these kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

This is my second year as a Teacher's Aid and I would like to say that I have never seen such a school that actually cares for their students as much as Roberto Clemente. I have enjoyed and still am enjoying the the power and motivation that the teachers are giving their students. The students are highly motivated and are giving their all. Hats off to the teachers and students.


Posted June 8, 2008

My son has been doing great this year at Roberto Clemente. The new Principal is doing a great job. She has implamented many new programs. She got the students a new library! My son feels that she is doing a better job as pricipal then Mr. Lopez. The school is strict but they need to be to keep the kids inline. It has about 300 children which is ideal for a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2008

The chool has committed and passionate teachers but the new principal is ding everything she can to alienate the teachers. Staff morale is terrible for a lot of reasons but mostly because the administration undermines the teachers attempts to discipline the students. My daughter talks about kids who are major discipline problems but still get to participate in one field trip after another. The principal and other members of the administration dont seem to have an idea of how to run a school. Its terribly disorganized and they dont seem to know what theyre doing from one day to the next. My daughter wants to return next year but I have feeling she might be better off somewhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2008

My son is doing great at roberto clemente this school is a great school with excellent teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2008

With the new principal that this school now has this school is now starting to be a terrible school to send your children. Principal seem not to have passion for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2006

I love this school! I can't comment on the past before Mr. Lopez came along, but this is my son's 2nd year there (and Mr. Lopez's 2nd year) and the school is fantastic. It is very strict, but you can tell they care about the kids. But when kids break the rules, they talk to them about how they could have handled the situation differently or what's going on with them that caused them to 'act out'. The teachers are passionate about their subjects and it's catchy to the kids. Parental involvement is a requirement and the school shows their appreciation. The school sometimes feels to me like an extended family. They care about what is going on in your child's whole world. The only thing that I think is lacking is the extracurricular activities but they're working on it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2005

I do not feel that the overall quality of the schools academic programs are very good. The studenst seem frustrated and confused and are unable to concentrate in the classrooms. The availability of music/art and other extracurricular activities are limited as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2004

The school needs not only a new Pricipal but also a look into how the students are being treated. Being strict is one thing over doing it is another. Parents chose the school because they want the children to be well educated. As of now the school might be closed down next year if the test scores do not pass. The classes that are full are the 6,7,8 classes but in regards to the higher classes they're are hardly any students because they all want to leave and attend regular H.S. where they're much happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2004

For kids, this school is a good fun school,but that is only because the teachers dont give them any chanllenges. This school would be great if teachers and the principal would have more control over the students. this school needs to get more strict, because the students are going to end up contoling the teachers! This kids answer back to the teachers and and somtimes even insult them! we cant have the students controling the teachers!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 16, 2004

The school had great leadership when former principal Vazquez was there. I am not familiar with the new leadership, however, the CAO/CEO needs to let the school be run by a seperate entity in order for the school to really excel. She (the CAO) is too involved with the operations and that can be a hindrance.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted May 4, 2004

This school is not the best but not the worst. They need to improve their teachers and other than that it's an ok school. They need to get more stuff and they need to treat the students with respect. But I need to say this, they really need to keep 1 principal at a time
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

44 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
83%

2009

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2012.

43 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
63%

2009

 
 
36%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

47 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
33%

2009

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2012.

45 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
41%

2009

 
 
33%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2012.

42 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
30%

2009

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2012.

42 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
61%

2009

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2012.

43 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
21%

2009

 
 
11%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 73% in 2012.

44 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
69%

2009

 
 
73%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2012.

31 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
34%

2009

 
 
24%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

32 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
46%

2009

 
 
36%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

33 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
8%

2010

 
 
11%

2009

 
 
14%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2012.

34 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
62%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students77%
Female83%
Male70%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students51%
Female70%
Male30%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic51%
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female77%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students73%
Female77%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students74%
Female72%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female84%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students35%
Female35%
Male36%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students82%
Female96%
Male65%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female75%
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students59%
Female80%
Male27%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students24%
Female25%
Male25%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic26%
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students82%
Female86%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic84%
Multi-ethnicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 95% 9%
Black 3% 15%
White 1% 71%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 62%N/A49%
Male 38%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

136 South 4th St
Allentown, PA 18102
Phone: (610) 439-5181

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Sacred Heart School
Allentown, PA


Holy Spirit School
Allentown, PA


Holy Spirit School
Allentown, PA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT