Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Grace Montessori School

Private | 115 students

We are best known for excellent teachers & program.

 
 

Living in Allentown

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $50,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $910.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 5, 2013

At GMS your child will learn confidence through independence. They will be encouraged to do everything for themselves and their peers; from peeling and slicing fruits and vegetables, to tying their shoes, making flower arrangements, and helping their friends zip up their jackets. The multi-aged classrooms encourage cooperation, compassion, and friendships that cross the boundaries of grade level. Academically, if your child is ready, she ll get to read chapter books and learn multiplication and cursive handwriting (in Kindergarten!) After a few years in GMS elementary your child may come home with a strong understanding of evolution, Scrabble, algebra, and knitting. My oldest child has transitioned beautifully to a more transitional school as a 4th grader, and finds herself revisiting material (especially science). The Montessori philosophy is follow the child, so whatever your child s talent; reading, math, crochet (?!) the GMS teachers will challenge and nurture them. Definitely go for a visit and ask for a tour!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2013

We've had three children at GMS through the years. The quality of education is excellent. When our kids transitioned from GMS to the public school system, they were far ahead of their peers. Both of our girls have been placed in the gifted programs. Our preschooler is learning more and more each day. He loves the classroom environment. It's a place where teachers show kids how to love to learn! We have had several of the same teachers for all three kids, and we are continually impressed with their caring and committed attitudes. We highly recommend Grace Montessori School! -Jason and Andrea Langkamer-Smith
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2013

My son attended Grace for his final year of preschool as a 4 year old. He had previously attended First Presbyterian in Bethlehem, which was great as a play program and intro to school environment. But Grace really helped him shine and gave him so many essential skills before heading into kindergarten. I especially love the way they teach kids to interact with each other and adults in a respectful way. Their curriculum is totally differentiated, and he was really challenged; as a preK student, he read a chapter book because he was ready for it. I am now thinking of returning him as a 2nd grader to the elementary school so he can receive the same individualized approach. Outstanding curriculum, great teachers, very positive environment. There was some upheaval in the leadership (director) while we were there (2010-2011) but I'm not sure where that stands now. I can''t rave enough about this school and its caring, experienced, outstanding teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2011

I love this school for my preschool children. The teach independence, kindness, healthful eating, and an appreciation for diversity. I feel if you preschooler has those skills, they will excel not only in school but in life. At this stage, it's not about who's reading and who's doing math, it's about being a well adjusted individual who is comfortable taking on new challenges and can work well with others and handle themselves. This is what Grace helps children with. They are encouraged to think for themselves -- a lifetime lesson.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2010

We recently moved to the Allentown area and found an opening in this school. Our child actually regressed while at Grace and we were told it was because of the move - don't waste your time here - it was because of the teachers. We are currently in the process of finding another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2010

Both of our daughters attend Grace and I am blown away! The teachers could not be more passionate about the student and their success. My 4-yr-old is reading chapter books and doing multiplication/division and my 3 years old has progressed SO fad in just 2 months. They teach the children kindness, grace, diversity and responsibility. I enjoy the parents at the school as they are just as involved and committed to their child's and the school's success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

Our child went to Grace for several years and had no problems at all there; all of his teachers were fine. The only problem is that the administration is largely incompetent and paranoid. Rather than working creatively with its teachers, Grace sets often knuckle-headed policies and then cows its teachers into submission. Thus, the school has forced out many excellent teachers in the past few years. Those of us who tried to stand up for those teachers were forced out as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2008

This is my son's first year at the school and I am amazed. As someone who is certified in both Elementary and Special education I was very surprised at how different the Montessori method was. It is truly an amazing method of teaching and Grace has truly amazing staff. They work very well with the children and communicate constantly with the families. I feel like I always know what is going on. Although I was a bit skeptical of the location at first I truly am convinced that I made the right decision for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 71%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 23% 3%
Hispanic 19% 9%
Black 3% 15%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Elizabeth H. House
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • AMS
Fax number
  • (610) 351-6276

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Garden
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

814 West Linden Street
Allentown, PA 18101
Website: Click here
Phone: (610) 435-4060

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Central El School
Allentown, PA


Cleveland El School
Allentown, PA


Mckinley El School
Allentown, PA


Sacred Heart School
Allentown, PA


Washington El School
Allentown, PA


Jefferson El School
Allentown, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT