Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Harrison-Morton Middle School 5

Posted August 23, 2013
- a parent
this school is great! the teachers and staff are nice and is safe thanks to the new principal. It has great teachers and a great environment for new students.

Harrison-Morton Middle School 3

Posted September 04, 2012
- a community member
i myself think hmms is a good school but in a bad location im an 8th grader this year and went there for all jr. high and i did learn alot but also sometimes i worried about things going on around the school like today sept 4 there was a shooting a block away form hmms and i start school tomorrow so that kinda concerns my parents but lots of kids want to go back so people are ready and excited but also stuff like this to worry about like the shooting around a jr. high is very deceiving but its still a good school so thanks and enjoy my long but truthful statement


Harrison-Morton Middle School 1

Posted March 13, 2012
- a parent
One of the worst schools, Kids are out of control. Not a safe school, once they buzz you in there is no security to stop you from going anywhere in the school. There is a classroom right by the entrance and any lunatic can waltz in to do whatever. My daughter goes to this school and she encountered teenagers that did not go to the school in the building looking for a student. They stopped to ask her. There is no follow up by any of the teachers when you email them or to meet with them. The principal and asst have no clue.

Harrison-Morton Middle School
no rating

Posted March 12, 2010
- a parent
I must say HMMS all the way around is a great school!!! Teachers, Staff, Assistant Principals, to guidance counslers and The main guy the Principal. He runs a tight ship but the kids respect him for that. I am glad the principal is tuff on them. kids can still have fun but they know when push comes to shove you are there to learm. Great Job HMMS!!!!.

Harrison-Morton Middle School 5

Posted December 11, 2008
- a parent
I think that harrison morton is a great school for young kids to go to.


Harrison-Morton Middle School 1

Posted October 24, 2008
- a parent
School not very professional and the teachers dont know how work with individual children

Harrison-Morton Middle School 4

Posted December 11, 2007
- a parent
Harrison-Mroton Middle has excellent leadership from Principal Chapel, V. Principal Kuhns and V. Principal Rossi. Teachers care greatly for their students but overcrowding and inadequate funding leave a significant hole in the student's educational experience. Not enough textbooks for every student is my strongest complaint. Many talented teachers and administrators are lost each year due to inadequate pay in the Allentown School District (ASD). ASD is 500th out of 501 school districts in PA for amount of money expended on education per student. Better funding is necessary to start preparing more young Allentonians for higher education.

Harrison-Morton Middle School 4

Posted September 15, 2005
- a student
This is a great school, but has a bad reputation because of its location. Many people do not realize that H-M(Nickname) has great potential!


Harrison-Morton Middle School 4

Posted September 15, 2005
- a student
Harrison Morton Middle School is more into science and tecnology than anything else the school it very nice though teachers are very educated too

Harrison-Morton Middle School 3

Posted May 28, 2004
- a parent
This school needs more funding for one. Policies need to be changed such as punishing the whole class for the actions of a few disorderly kids. Obviously the PSSA and reading scores need to come up significantly. On the positive side I have talked to one of the vice principals and was informed of new programs for 2004-2005 and I am putting a lot of faith in what sounds like some very good changes for the kids at the school. One other thing is lunches at the school seem to be one of the biggest complaints at the school. Serving the same food multiple days in a row has got to go.

Nearby schools

Harrison-Morton Middle School
137 North 2nd St, Allentown, PA  18101
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (484) 765-5701
Last modified Harrison-Morton Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top