Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

South Mountain Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1075 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 21, 2013

South Mountain has to be the worse school in the district. They refuses to intervene when my daughter was being bullied by a small group of girls. She has been hit in the face, slapped on the head, pushed into the lockers and intentionally tripped. The principal, teachers and security are aware but there hasn't been any consequences for girl. I requested they review to video in the areas where she has been assaulted at. This has been going on since the first week of school. I advised her not to hit back because even though she will be defending herself she will be suspended. How long is this going to go on before she getting frustrated and hit back. Only then will they take action because she was involved in a fight. So in the mean time the bullies can hit her whenever they see fit with no consequences. This is unacceptable and I plan to speak to an administrator at the ASD main office. Being bullied and having and getting no support at school has affected her grades and her heath physically and mentally. Worse school and staff I know
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2013

I think this is the worst school I've ever seen. For the past 3 yrs my son has struggled since day one! I am so glad I am relocating back to NY. Teachers there show alot more involvement & discipline. I'd like for my son to grow in life, continue learning & have a great career. Which I feel in this school will will ever amount to anything! This is your shift as his teacher, if he does not follow direction or complete work...YOU HANDLE IT! Instead, you call me & tell on him...When he dsnt do his chores at home or follow my rules in my house, I HANDLE IT...I do not call you & complain...do I? I would NEVER recommend ANYONE to this school, it is a DISGRACE in my eyes!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2012

I'm going to eighth grade now and I've been in this school for 2 years. By my standards I simply hate this school, The students are disrespectful to the teachers which wont allow me to get an education and wont allow me to learn. The teachers are excellent at teaching but its just the students that make this school horrible. I hope someday that the rudeness from students will stop.


Posted March 29, 2012

i am a six grader in smms n its not the greatest i have the most drama in this school. i try to stay away from the drama n focus on my school work but the drama gets u anyway. but it isnt the schoold fault more of the behavior of the students the teachers handle it well a peson i know jut got into a fight n suvior consequences came to both students. the teachers are great cool n make it has easyer n fun as possible


Posted March 11, 2010

Terrible school. The kids talk about gang affiliations during class. They are disrespectfull to teacher. South mountain represents the very lowest in education and society.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2010

I love my school. despite everyone in other districts talking about all the bad things they hear about Allentown, it's deffinently not a bad school. Teachers and faculty are strick here to prevent bad behavior and they do a great job handeling situations.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 13, 2009

im a 8th grader.ive been in southmountain for 3 years.this is one of the best public middle school in allentown.i recommened this school to any 6-8 graders.there are many oppertunitys in smms.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 21, 2009

teachers are very pressured by the over populated students but alays do their best all teachers are very commited to their students and very helpful as much as fun .the school might be over populated but the teachers are awsome
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 1, 2009

As a grandparent of an Autistic student, I would like to say this school is very dedicated to the needs of these students. The teacher and the IA's do a great job.


Posted May 10, 2008

i love this school,nice teachers that help you alot.we do alot of fun projectsand other fun learning pojects.im going to spend my rest of two years here with fun.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 25, 2008

Great school, great teachers working with difficult circumstances. I wish our parents would take a little more responsibility for their childrens education. Out PTA has under 10 members
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 14, 2007

As a teacher at South Mountain, I can attest to the spirit of the other teachers and the administration. They truly have whats best for the kids in mind, they put in their ownmoney and hours of over time to make sure that the students get the best education possible. It is an upper class school in an urban area, offering quality education to kids who need it most.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 5, 2007

I, as a current student at South Mountain Middle School feel that this is truly the best middle school here in Allentown. Our academic programs rock. Our teachers rock even more. A lot of parents help out with the school too. Also, SMMS has the most coolest extracurricular activities. There's so much to do and so much to get involved in, such as; Sports, The Yearbook Committee, Student Council, and even more. I am very proud to be a student at South Mountain Middle School. - South Mountain Middle School is the best! North, South, East or West!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 11, 2007

To me South Mountain Middle School has the worst teacher to parent feedback in the Allentown School District. I have personally over a period of 3 mo. send my child's teachers numerous letters concerning my son's grades and what we can do to make them better. I've yet to recieve a call back or letter concerning my request. This has even extended to the principles office and have not recieved any feedback from him either. I've requested Team Meetings and have not recieved any calls to schedule. It has come to the point where all this school is worried about is disciplmanry actions towards those students who have behavioral problems, but not those students who need help with bringing their grades up. This school to me would be rated an F on a report card!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2006

The academics is growing which i truly like.With everything allentown offers to keep kids out of trouble this is a good school for people weither they want music or sport or other involvement. Parent could try and get involved more but atleast they are trying their best in my opinion.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 20, 2005

Allentown schools have MAJOR issues that should be addressed. The teachers are overrun with the amount of students in their classrooms. This year alone in the 6th grade classes there were children who were forced to sit on a stool in the back of the classroom due to insufficient room. Another BIG issue is the amount of non english speaking students that are thrown into regular classrooms and expected to learn while the english only speaking teacher teaches the other students and a translator interprets to them! Of course while the translation is going on the english speaking students are simply sitting there taking up space and worst of all learning NOTHING. It is a waste of valuable educational time for BOTH sets of students! They desperately need to revamp the system and find something that works. A suggestion... pay for private schooling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2005

Unfortunately, when an altercation takes place at this school, no matter when or where, the teachers never see a thing. This school is over populated, the teachers try their best, but...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2004

Being a former student here at south mountain,I think south mountain has great after school activities.dance team and other great programs are best for involvment of young students.The school also has a large range of ethnical students here.It could be for better of for worse.overall I think this school is ok amd some what violent.Thats what you can ispect of in the city and and urban area.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

342 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
59%

2009

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2012.

338 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
42%

2009

 
 
40%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

302 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
58%

2009

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2012.

297 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
49%

2009

 
 
50%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2012.

336 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
55%

2009

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2012.

334 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
62%

2009

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2012.

340 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
26%

2009

 
 
28%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 73% in 2012.

334 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
56%

2009

 
 
55%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female74%
Male68%
Black67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)22%
English language learners29%

Reading

All Students45%
Female50%
Male40%
Black39%
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
English language learners7%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
Female46%
Male52%
Black38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities (IEP)18%
English language learners16%

Reading

All Students49%
Female51%
Male46%
Black36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities (IEP)17%
English language learners0%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students51%
Female57%
Male47%
Black40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities (IEP)17%
English language learners13%

Reading

All Students59%
Female65%
Male54%
Black59%
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities (IEP)24%
English language learners7%

Science

All Students25%
Female22%
Male27%
Black19%
Asiann/a
Hispanic19%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Students with disabilities (IEP)9%
English language learners0%

Writing

All Students43%
Female51%
Male36%
Black48%
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities (IEP)10%
English language learners3%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 62% 8%
Black 18% 15%
White 18% 71%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

709 West Emmaus Ave
Allentown, PA 18103
Phone: (484) 765-4301

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Roberto Clemente CS
Allentown, PA



The Swain School
Allentown, PA




Sacred Heart School
Allentown, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT