Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-8
Private
Allison Park, PA
Students enrolled: 199
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Providence Heights Alpha School 5

Posted May 15, 2014
- a parent
We have been delighted with our experience at Providence Heights Alpha School over the past 7 years. The school offers a rigorous and innovative curriculum. Small class sizes (12-15) mean that all students are active participants in their learning environment. The faculty truly care for each child. Spanish, Chinese, robotics, swimming, dedicated science teachers (even in Kindergarten!), an incredible arts program, musicals, athletics for all abilities. Mass celebreated every Friday in the beautiful chapel, children of all faiths are welcomed. Current leadership is strong and respected.

Providence Heights Alpha School 5

Posted March 27, 2014
- a parent
The decision to send our daughter to Alpha was one of the best decisions we have ever made. She loves the school and so do we. Not only is the education excellent but the care our children receive as a result of the small class sizes and the dedicated teachers and staff is more than one could ask for. I see my daughter growing not only academically but also as a caring and responsible individual. The teachings do not stop in the classroom as they offer a variety of after school and extra curricular activities that complete the learning experience for the children. Soon our second daughter will be attending and we can't wait to see her become part of the wonderful Alpha family.


Providence Heights Alpha School 5

Posted March 26, 2014
- a parent
I can honestly say that Providence Heights Alpha School was the best investment we made in our daughter's education. The excellent academic environment, along with the safe and beautiful campus, began a foundation for academic success. She went on to graduate with highest honors from Oakland Catholic High School and received a full academic scholarship in chemistry from Duquesne University. She credits Alpha School with instilling in her that love of science. You cannot go wrong with an Alpha Education!

Providence Heights Alpha School 5

Posted March 26, 2014
- a parent
I have watched my children thrive in the environment that Alpha fosters. Set in a beautiful, historic building, Alpha has exceeded all my expectations with dedicated teachers and accelerated academics. While so many schools are abandoning arts and enrichment programs, Alpha has embraced them. Not only in the school day, but a great line up of after school programs. My kids have enjoyed chess, robotics, math club, forensics and play multiple sports. The spring musical has also been a great experience for my kids to be involved in. Alpha is so much more than just a school, it is a loving and caring community of great kids, parents and teachers. Our experience at Alpha has been nothing short of amazing.

Providence Heights Alpha School 1

Posted October 13, 2013
- a community member
The building is chock full of asbestos . That's bad ! Whats way more troubling is ,when workman actually drill or break thru walls,floors and ceiling. Zero safety precautions are in place. Staff children and anyone else in the building are exposed . Very good anti-bulling program . Most teachers go above and beyond the call of duty very inspired to teach.


Providence Heights Alpha School 4

Posted June 26, 2012
- a parent
Providence Heights Alpha is a non-denominational K-8 private school owned by the Sister of Divine Providence. The schools strengths are small class size (<20) and creating a culture of high standards for the children - both inside and outside the classroom. Curriculum strengths are language arts, science, and math. The teachers truly care about the children and their education. It is a structured environment that provides the children with a platform to learn and grow in a respectful and nurturing environment. A new principal will take over for the 2012/2013 school year and both the parents and faculty are looking forward to the new leadership.

Providence Heights Alpha School 5

Posted June 08, 2010
- a parent
If you are looking for a warm, caring, yet academic environment for your child, The Alpha school is the school for you. It is steeped in history-over 80 years and housed in the beautiful Motherhouse of the Sisters of Divine Providence. It is definitely "non-traditional" in that if you are looking for a school that is brand new, state of the art and slick--then Alpha is not for you. But if it is important for you to be able to drop of your child in the morning to the caring arms of a teacher who greets everyone with a smile, and a personal hello and handshake, then look in to Alpha. It is a small school--and it makes a huge difference. The admissions director and secretary treat your child like their own. I am so grateful for the teachers at Alpha who have encouraged and celebrated my daughter 's talents always.

Providence Heights Alpha School 0
no rating

Posted July 26, 2009
- a parent
Strong reputation -- the fine arts and music program is the best at the elementary level in the Pittsburgh area. Spanish is taught by a native. Teachers' unique talents make this school strong, but the administration is very weak. Still worth the money for children without special needs.


Providence Heights Alpha School 0
no rating

Posted September 12, 2008
- a parent
Small class size. Numerous extra-curricular activities. Value based school with diversity. Uniforms. Rules to be followed. Children like learning in this enviroment. Written no bullying policy handed out within 2 weeks of starting school. Past students go on to higher eduation at various high schools and all succeed. We love this school!

Providence Heights Alpha School 5

Posted August 24, 2008
- a parent
This school offers a great selection of teachers. The classes are kept to a maximum of 15 students and there is normally 2-3 classes to a grade. They do where uniforms as I see as a plus so there is no comparing looks. It's great!!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Providence Heights Alpha School
9000 Babcock Blvd, Allison Park, PA  15101
(412) 366-4455
Last modified Providence Heights Alpha School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Providence Heights Alpha School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top