Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St John The Evangelist School

Private | PK-8 | 109 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Altoona

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $75,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $620.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2014

My son has ADHD, Dyslexia, and Dysgraphia. St. John's goes above and beyond with accommodations, following his IEP, and enlisting the aid of specialists (reading and math specialists). They also have an Occupational Therapist that comes to the school to work with kids with ADHD and sensory issues. I highly recommend St. John's!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2010

This an exceptional Catholic School where the students are nurtured from the moment they step through the doors until they graduate at 8th Grade. You get the feeling that you are visiting an old relative's home rather than an institution and that family atmosphere seems to carry on in every aspect of the school day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2008

I went to St Johns after I was in an awful car accident. I was in a coma for a month. And my family was told that I would never be 'normal' again. But thanks to St Johns and all the teachers that care so much about there students, people look at me and they don't know. At St Johns I was pushed everyday to do my best. And I did that. Not only did people think that I wouldn't ever be normal but who knew I'd go to College? These people work mircales everyday. Take time to thank them and appereicate them.


Posted March 17, 2008

I have two children at St. John's and will have another child attending next school year. I can not tell you how much the staff at St. John's cares for each and every child. Yes, these kids are very fortunate to be consistently ahead academically, but even more importantly, they are truly cared for as individuals! Because St. John's is such a small school every teacher knows each child and his/her family. There is a great deal of communication between the parents and the teachers...you always know what is going on with your child. We at St. John's are such a close 'family' and whatever needs done, someone steps up...every time! What impresses me the most is the teachers! Every one of them is completely dedicated to our children and put in any extra time necessary! You will not find a better school for your children that St.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2008

We have a son in 4th grade at St. John's. We couldn't be more pleased with the quality of his teachers, the principal, and his overall education. Teachers and staff at this school truly care about every child and his/her family. I believe that one of the main reasons that this school has consistently produced some of the highest acheiving students at Bishop Guilfoyle HS is because of it's continued focus on the fundamentals. Unlike certain local public schools who spend time and money on things like ISO certifications and daycare for students who've had babies, St. John's puts its money into proven traditional educational goals - Write effectively, speak intelligently, understand the principals of math, and think logically. Also, respect and honesty are infused in the cirricula, not a special 'track' like at some schools. It is just expected (kind of like life) and the kids experience that everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2008

My son has been going to St. John's since 3rd grade. For the record, I am not Catholic, but I chose this school for the simple fact that it was small, loving, and had a highly committed teacher staff, not to mention the advanced education offered. My son had learning challenges that could have been handled in a public school quite differently. St. John's teacher's saw his potential and worked with outside specialists to take on the challenge and use the knowledge learned with children similar to my son. THANK YOU staff and Principal, Gary Evangelisto, for standing by my son and by us as parents to help him succeed. St. John's will be missed, but never forgotten!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2008

We have 2 children at St. Johns with our 3rd entering Kindergarten next year. We are extremely satisfied with our decision to send our children to this school. Our children are surrounded by teachers and staff who we feel genuinely care about about them as individuals. This is a real family environment-We are always kept up to date with their progress and daily situations. Our children are not only learning academics-they are learning to be kind and respectful people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2008

Being a member of the staff of St. John's School has been such a wonderful experience. To me, going to school is not like going to work at all; I enjoy each day there. It's wonderful to work in an environment where I get the support of the pastor and principal. The parents have been terrific too. We work side-by-side often to benefit the children. And it's fun, too! The students are the absolute best. Since our school is small, we really get a chance to know each student and family. This atmosphere brings out the best in everybody. The worst part of my job as teacher in grades 7 - 8 is when the students graduate. It's tough to see such wonderful young people leave St. John's, but they come back to visit! I also keep in touch with families at church on the weekends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2008

As a teacher at St. John's, I can honestly say that this is the most rewarding job I've ever had! The staff and principal are very supportive and knowledgeable. I have never known such a great group of people always willing to go the extra mile, do the extra work, stay an extra hour. The parents and kids are fantastic and make me glad that I chose teaching as a profession. I'm so blessed to be working at such a well run Christian school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 16, 2008

I am very satisfied with this school. I have a pre-k student. I have been kept informed of everything that is goin on. Even on the most trivial days. The teachers main goal is success to every one of her students and she is determined to do everything that she can. I am grateful to have that kind of determination for my child and want to thank her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2007

I am very glad I choose St. John's for my children. I have 3 children at St. John's and I love the uniforms, weekly mass, family involvement, music and art classes, Pre-K program and academics. Although some parents do not like 2 grades in one classroom, I find the continuity of instruction, small class size and mentoring to be very beneficial. I highly recommend this school to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2005

Truly a 'Place To Grow' as it is advertised. My children have the best of education/care any parent can ask for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2004

This school exist because the students work with the teachers who in turn work with the families. It is a joint effort and encouraged highly. Dedicated Faculty work as a team as each child moves up the grades. Mass each week reminds the children of their high standard of morals and respect. If you are looking for a great school, it is here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2004

Finally found a school with an excellent combination of teaching knowledge with care/mentoring for my children. For a school with small class size, there is an excellent curriculum as well as extra activities for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 71%
Hispanic 4% 9%
Black 2% 15%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Altoona-Johnstown
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

311 Lotz Avenue
Altoona, PA 16602
Phone: (814) 943-4966

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Baker El School
Altoona, PA




Charles W Longer El School
Hollidaysburg, PA



Providence Academy
Hollidaysburg, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT