Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sun Valley High School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted February 17, 2016
- a parent
The entire school staff of educators and administrators and superintendent. They strive to bring out the best in their students and they succeed.

Sun Valley High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted February 17, 2016
- a parent
This school promotes pride and respect for community, state and country in all their venues.


Sun Valley High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 17, 2016
- a parent
This is an ongoing trait of this school. They even offer a GAY-STRAIGHT ALLIANCE (GSA) Association. Sun Valley High School’s Gay-Straight Alliance (GSA) aims to provide an inclusive, safe environment for all students.

Sun Valley High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 17, 2016
- a parent
Teachers and advisors always encourage students to do their best and help fellow students and there are many resources so students can participate on a fair and equal basis.

Sun Valley High School 5

Posted February 17, 2016
- a parent
I am writing this review as both a former student of Sun Valley and as a parent of a student that also graduated from Sun Valley. This high school is outstanding on many levels. 1. They have one of the finest music programs in the state. The Sun Valley Marching Band won first place - GOLD for the Cavalcade of Bands in 2015. They won many other first place awards as well. 2. They are leading the way in technology, students are provided with their own Windows based laptop. 3. They offer many approved college level Advanced Placement courses. 4. They have a high school ROTC program. 5. They operate their own high school TV studio. Students can become skilled in taping events, operating studio equipment, etc. 6. There are many clubs and social groups that students can participate in. Visit their website to find out more details. In the 4 years my daughter attended this school I never found anything negative either socially or academically. After attending Sun Valley I went on to serve in the United States Air Force and I have a Bachelor's degree from Drexel University. I highly recommend Sun Valley to any student that is serious about their academic pursuits.


Sun Valley High School 5

Posted March 28, 2015
- a student
As a recent graduate of this school, I can say that it was one of the most pleasurable experiences of my life. The education quality tops the charts, the teachers are wonderful and the student body is diverse and friendly. The knowledge I learned here helped me a lot with my SATs and allowed me to get into the college of my choosing.

Sun Valley High School 1

Posted December 15, 2014
- a parent
They act like they are anti bullying but the administration are a bunch of bullies.

Sun Valley High School 1

Posted December 12, 2014
- a parent
The school does not have a student-centered approach to conflict resolution and communication. They will not hear the student side. Very true that the administration will brand you and they will lie to make their side look good. The administration is also vindictive. Probably should have the school board clean house starting with the director of spec ed. They are hypocrites with their bullying as they like to bully the students and parents around. The teachers for the most part are good.


Sun Valley High School 5

Posted July 12, 2012
- a parent
I would like to say that over the next few years SV should have a much higher ranking due to the fact that our Elementary schools are doing so well. ( several of our schools are considered Blue Ribbon - Coebourn got awarded Blue Ribbon in 2012 ) Even our middle school Northley has improved. (currently 4 stars) So with that being said - when these kids move up we should see a dramatic rise in our test score. The Penn-Delco school district is outstanding for what we pay in taxes. We have many activities outside of school to keep our kids away from trouble. We can still be involved with our Church or school activities and most important get involved in your childs school - PTL is a great start. If you are considering Penn-Delco - I feel strongly you will be satisfied. Also start looking at colleges by 10th grade - make sure your child has enough credits. If possible AVOID study halls and take a class for the credits. Bottom line if you can truly afford a private school - your child will most likely get a better education but for the average family that can't your child / children will do fine. (Time is one of the most important things that you can spend on a child. ) Best of Luck

Sun Valley High School 1

Posted September 07, 2011
- a student
classes are way easy, no challenge.... teachers are awesome, administration not so much. Principal is too involved.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sun Valley High School
2881 Pancoast Ave, Aston, PA  19014
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (610) 497-6300
Last modified Sun Valley High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top