Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hilltop El School

Public | K-4

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 27, 2013

This school is great. They ARE using the Common Core plans. Great principle, wonderful teachers and instructional aides.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2013

Beware that the home school minions post how special hilltop is just compare them with boothwyn and see the value for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

My son has gone to Hilltop Elementary for 3 years now - from Kindergarden to 2nd grade. The teachers are very good - and the principal is fantastic. They are taking a lot of effort to improve math and reading across the school (as can be seen by their improved Math scores)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2013

Hilltop Elementary School is the place to be! This is an excellent public school. The staff is professional and every child is encouraged to be the best they can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2013

We have been very happy with the school and the community. The teachers are very caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2013

I have had a great experience at Hilltop. My daughter is in first grade and I can't believe how far she has come, with the help of teachers and staff at Hilltop. It's crazy to think that she couldn't read before she went there and now she is reading chapter books. I have nothing bad to say about the school or the staff and am sad that we are moving next year and won't be returning there. I only wish more parents were as involved as my partner and me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2013

Hilltop is not a place I would send a child with an IEP. They gang up on a parent by having far more people than needed to be there attend. Those's not at the meeting are mentioned as if they are in agreement too. The fact is IEP is individual educational program for a child that needs special requirements to succeed. Somehow this concept is lost at Hilltop. We the tax payers pay for special ed teachers who fail to communicate with parents and deny children the education they so rightly deserve. Teachers should be held accountable for their performance. Our fearless leader should take a stand on meeting the goal of Earnies expectations for students and staff members.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2012

I have 2 children. My oldest child attended kindergarten and first grade at Hilltop. He had behavior problems and was sent home 3 to 4 days every week. My wife and I always had to leave work to come pick him up. The reasons were legit at first but over time it became apparent that the reason he acted out was that they made it clear to him that is what they expected from him. He was never given a chance to " have a good day". The school never handles discipline on their own. At the first sign of trouble, the answer is to call the parents. Most of the "behavior problems" were making noises or disrupting class somehow, things that normal kids do. He was pretty much made an outcast and we had to transfer him to Linwood to a "Special Ed" class. Now my younger son is in Kindergarten at Hilltop and has had trouble from the start because of his last name. Yesterday I found a letter from the principal in his schoolbag saying he is suspended for a day for making noises. Nobody called or emailed. If I hadnt checked the bag, I would have never known and sent him to school. Seems they want these kids to grow up too quick. Hilltop gets two thumbs down from me
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2010

I have had 3 children attend Hilltop school and have never failed to be impressed. The staff is fantastic, and manage, even with a class full of children, to tailor the education to my child's specific interests and needs. The principal is very approachable not just to the parents, but to the students. My kids have always felt that she listens to them and values their opinions. The parents as a whole are very involved and it shows in the character of their children. My oldest child has since left Hilltop and the education she received there has more than prepared her for middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2010

This school is above average. I am an active parent in this school district and am blown away by the staff, their program and their continued dedication to their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2008

My child goes to this school and I also work here. I feel that the staff is very dedicated and works hard to provide an exceptional education for the children that attend. I could not ask for better people to take of my childs needs for an education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2007

Most of the teachers here are throw-backs to teaching styles from 30 years ago - when I was in elementary school. A few stand-out teachers make it difficult to say that the whole school should be sacked.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2005

I fing the kindregraden teachers are not understanding that not all kids are on the same level . some need more help then others so those that need it are push to the side until a parent has to get very up set about it. we pay very high taes for this school we should get better schooling then what we pay for. i'm always reading with my child and buying work books so i can teach him on my time at home. he is that school 6 or more hours and i teach him more then they have. there is 25 kids in his and one teacher and one aid to help. they alway they don't have allday to help him.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

82 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2012.

82 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
74%

2009

 
 
79%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2012.

74 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

74 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
65%

2009

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2012.

74 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
84%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female92%
Male96%
Black81%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)83%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female82%
Male77%
Black63%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)58%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female77%
Male90%
Black58%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students76%
Female68%
Male83%
Black42%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students85%
Female82%
Male88%
Black75%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 71%
Black 17% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
Hispanic 4% 9%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

401 Cherry Tree Rd
Aston, PA 19014
Phone: (610) 485-6746

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Boothwyn El School
Boothwyn, PA



Aston El School
Aston, PA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT