Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Bala Cynwyd, PA

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cynwyd School 1

Posted December 21, 2013
- a community member
The teacher are very mean to my son and the students are not learning well

Cynwyd School 5

Posted September 29, 2013
- a parent
We are incredibly happy with our son's experience at Cynwyd. The staff provides a warm learning environment, rich with opportunities to give back and expand students' capabilities.


Cynwyd School 4

Posted October 08, 2012
- a parent
My child graduated from Cynwyd this year and I couldn't be happier...that she's out of there. The academic skill and talent at this school are truly superior, no doubt. Additionally, the facility is extremely well equipped and funded, the environment very safe. Alas, you wouldn't be able to find a less hospitable group of people (teachers or parents) if your very life depended on it. The problem began with the principal who mercifully left this year. Her approach was to deflect or push back blame when confronted with issues (student security being one) but to wallow in praise, which she got in abundance from the many shameless toadies on staff, and this unfortunately includes the school counselor. The principal's departure was marked by an endless series of goodbye parties and events, including a dance ode which took a great deal of focus away from the 5th Graders during their own graduation ceremony. Several of the parents curried favor with her and, miraculously, got their kids plum positions in school plays and the honors program. (Their kids even got photographed more for the school newsletter!) You had to live it to believe it. Pleh!

Cynwyd School 5

Posted March 07, 2012
- a parent
All around this school has been wonderful for my daughter. The teachers and administration are caring and smart. I was concerned with the "entitled" mentality that can come with living in an area of "above average" income, but on the whole, we have not found folks to be too snobby. Sometimes folks who look at wealthier individuals and "think" they are snobby don't realize they are being snobby themselves.

Cynwyd School 4

Posted August 23, 2009
- a community member
Hi, I am affiliated with Cyndwyd through my job ( support Staff ) To the parent who refered to the overall suburban mentality , my sentiments , this is Lower Merion welcome to it . The students are not diciplined and are allowed to do what ever for fear of a law suit from the parents , at lunch it's like a wild safari . I agree there is not enough diversity , because I have seen the minority students treated differently . The positive side the staff is great .


Cynwyd School 0
no rating

Posted June 01, 2009
- a parent
The school is ok, but the majority of students seem to come from families who take privilege and money for granted. There is not enough diversity, but it is not surprising, as it tends to fit in with the overall suburban mentality.

Cynwyd School 5

Posted March 26, 2009
- a student
Cynwyd is an excellent school. The teachers academically and socially are beyond words. It is a well known school. I am enjoying my years and I am still enjoying them. Hope you consider my review!

Cynwyd School 5

Posted November 09, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Cynwyd School 5

Posted October 31, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cynwyd School
101 West Levering Mill Rd, Bala Cynwyd, PA  19004
(610) 645-1430
Last modified Cynwyd School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cynwyd School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top