Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Bala Cynwyd, PA
Students enrolled: 866

5 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bala-Cynwyd Middle School 5

Posted September 18, 2013
- a parent
My daughter is now in her second year at BC and she loves it. We, her parents, love it, too - particularly after the unsatisfying experience at Cynwyd Elementary. The principal, Mr. Potten, is engaged and energetic. The 7th Grade teachers are all enthusiastic (special note to the fabulous Latin teacher!) We couldn't be happier with the approach this school takes toward the pupils.

Bala-Cynwyd Middle School 5

Posted May 06, 2013
- a community member
Bala Cynwyd Middle School is a fantastic school and holds opportunity for any student to succeed. I have attended BC for the past 3 years, and I have had an incredible educational and social experience.


Bala-Cynwyd Middle School 5

Posted January 28, 2011
- a parent
Great school, wonderful teachers, they want to make EVERY kid succeed. Great philosophy in dealing with 6-8th graders.

Bala-Cynwyd Middle School 5

Posted October 19, 2010
- a parent
Dr. Andersen is an excellent leader and communicator. Most teachers have or are working on their advanced education degrees. The curriculum is robust with many offerings found only in private schools.

Bala-Cynwyd Middle School 5

Posted May 01, 2010
- a student
Lower Merion School District is all I've ever known for my whole entire school career, but Bala Cynwyd Middle School has certainly been the highlight, so far, of my sojourn to graduation. Academics are superior to most other schools in the region, with well-educated and caring teachers and three world languages to choose from: Spanish, French, and Latin. Three extra-curricular academic programs are provided: Science Olympiad, TSA, and MathCounts. All of these cater to a student's interests and hobbies. Recently, Bala Cynwyd's Science Olympiad team took 1st place at the State Tournament for the first time, beating another phenomenal school and a private independent school from Pittsburgh to advance to the National Tournament. 'Many' doesn't begin to describe the amount of athletics programs are provided at Bala Cynwyd. There is much more to this school, but if you want an exceptional education for your child, this is the place to go.


Bala-Cynwyd Middle School 5

Posted April 17, 2010
- a student
I luv Bala Cynwyd! I was new to this district but I got so many friends at BC. Teachers on team 6-2 are the best, and Dr.Pron is best computer teacher ever! There are great electives for World Language and the cafeteria food is awesome. There isn't a big amount of homework, and the music program is fantastic. It's a big school, and takes a little while to get used to. But if you have to send your kid anywhere, choose Bala Cynwyd Middle School.

Bala-Cynwyd Middle School 3

Posted May 03, 2009
- a student
As a BC alumni, I have to say that this school isn't as great as I hoped it would be. The music program is better than most schools, but lacking compared to that of Welsh Valley (the other middle school in the district). Most teachers are good enough, some are great, but there are a good few who never should have been hired. Many of the teachers have unrealistic expectations for the students, and overload them with homework and tests because they assume the students can handle it. The facilities are good, but the gyms and cafeteria could use some work. BC's strengths are in its art program and extra curricular selection, but its teachers and classes need some improvement. Bala Cynwyd is not a terrible school, but for such a good reputation, it really doesn't measure up. A very average school.

Bala-Cynwyd Middle School 5

Posted December 02, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Bala-Cynwyd Middle School 5

Posted October 04, 2008
- a parent
Mostly very good to excellent teachers. Strong principal. Music program quality has decreased with change in personnel, not as enjoyable for students. Math a strength. Latin, also strong, other language instruction not as strong, perhaps the curriculum and lower expectations for other languages in middle school? This is a safe and well run school, less homework than I would expect.

Bala-Cynwyd Middle School 4

Posted June 19, 2008
- a teacher
Excellent facilities. Divisive principal limits acheivement by placating parents rather than enforcing discipline and supporting faculty. Faculty has excellent credentials and potential, limited by principal's devotion to public relations and elimination of parent complaints, even at the expense of academic integrity.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bala-Cynwyd Middle School
510 Bryn Mawr Ave, Bala Cynwyd, PA  19004
(610) 645-1480
Last modified Bala-Cynwyd Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bala-Cynwyd Middle School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top