Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bethel Park High School

Public | 9-12 | 1711 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 8, 2012

The BP school board mistakenly thinks we are an affluent district, like Upper St. Clair. They are number one, as far as standings go. Bethel is way down on the list, sometimes just barely making AYP. Too much time and money is devoted to SPORTS, and now THEATRE. This is a school with academics, as the minor field. They insisted on building this new TAJ Mahal of a school, while promising those gullible enough to believe, that the operating costs and employee size would be reduced. What a joke! It still looks like a war zone.


Posted May 4, 2012

Excellent school district! Fantastic schools with caring, superb teachers. Great tradition of ports programs with wide variety starting from youth programs through varsity. Wide range of extracurricular activities. A proud community with friendly, diverse people. Many spread-out parks and ballfields. Does not seem to have near the amount of arrogant, materialistic parents and therefore students encountered in several of the nearby communities including Upper St. Clair, Mt. Lebo and now Peters Twp.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2010

Would be a good school except the teacher's union walks out on the students every 5 years unless the taxpayers give them BIG salary increases and pay most of their healthcare and then they only teach 5 periods a day. they do NOT care about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2009

As a BPHS student, I must say this school is excelent. It offers many different classes and the teachers are outstanding only to say the least.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2009

I think that Bethel is concentrating too much on sports, instead of academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2008

My children graduated from BPHS in 2002 and 2006. Both children were very well-prepared for the colleges they chose-University of Pittsburgh and Penn State. I attribute their success not only to the academic program at the high school, but to the excellent start they got at Bethel Memorial Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2006

As a current senior in this high school, I would have to say that Bethel Park has a very reputable, pleasant high school. The teachers are always willing to tutor any students they see falling behind, and the guidance counselors do their best to make sure those that can move ahead do. You have to make an effort to see your counselor, but it's not hard. Sure, the outdoor campus wasn't great planning, but after a semester, it becomes daily life, and students laugh at other schools' students that wear mini skirts to school in January. The campus also gives a certain amount of freedom; other high schools feel like prisons once one has gone to Bethel. On the whole, choosing to move your child to BP would be an intelligent choice, I'd say. We, the students, try to involve the new kids.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 30, 2005

The programs that bethel park offers are more than I had as a kid and I'm glad to have my son go there cause it can help him with the job he wants since you have those specific clases for that certian job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2005

I have to say this school is going a little down hill but is still is a pretty decent school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 28, 2005

This school is becoming much too liberal with the current principal. The discipline is typical for a politically correct institution. The teacher want parents to be involved ... only if you agree with them. Some of the teachers seem to be typical union workers. The school administration is a nightmare collection of politically correct bureaucrats. The academics are fair.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2004

BPHS is a great school, but I don't think that the whole campus idea was a great choice for 2 reasons. First, we live in Pittsburgh, it snows here, and it's hard to traverse the campus in icy weather. Second, security. I've realized that I could just leave the campus if I wanted to, and probably no one would notice. Otherwise, the school has a mostly great staff and leadership. I'm glad that I have the privilege to go to such a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2012.

411 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

413 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

407 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
57%

2009

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2012.

420 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
98%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
Female71%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities (IEP)15%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students84%
Female90%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities (IEP)48%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students56%
Female51%
Male61%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities (IEP)17%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students96%
Female99%
Male93%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)73%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 71%
Black 2% 15%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 8%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

309 Church Rd
Bethel Park, PA 15102
Phone: (412) 854-8581

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Wesley Spectrum Academy
Upper St. Clair, PA


Jesus Fellowship Academy
Bethel Park, PA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT