Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
Bethlehem, PA
Students enrolled: 762
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bethlehem Catholic High School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted July 31, 2015
- a parent
Here again, it depends on what level the student is working. Additionally, many of the teachers are not prepared for the new issues this new crop of students bring and the Administration does not support the teachers with this...

Bethlehem Catholic High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 31, 2015
- a parent
I can only speak on Honors classes & they seem just right for a traditional Catholic school.


Bethlehem Catholic High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 31, 2015
- a parent
The climate within Bethlehem Catholic has deteriorated to a level of self preservation. The school’s main community service project is more about self promotion & beating the total of the class before than what the project is truly about.

Bethlehem Catholic High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted July 31, 2015
- a parent
This school does not face its issues, when situations occur group discipline is utilized. Cheating among some of the top students is obvious and rules apply to only certain students.

Bethlehem Catholic High School 2

Posted July 31, 2015
- a parent
This school has lost its way. The values of respect, integrity, self-discipline and character building no longer matter- yes we promote “Pride. Passion. Purpose” but that is lip service. The standards have plummeted in the areas of academics and behavior to accommodate the “new market of students.” Attending Mass in the past was a religious experience, now it is a period of chatter with absolute disrespect. Unfortunately, the men that serve in the leadership positions at Bethlehem Catholic do not wish to listen. The rude treatment to parents that actively attempted to be part of solutions and give not only their treasure but time and talents have become most apparent. Yet, the known parking lot complainers who have their hand out for are embraced, especially if their child participates in a sport of choice. In the past, an authentic Catholic family would proudly claim they are/were Golden Hawks, now one is almost embarrassed to admit it…


Bethlehem Catholic High School 3

Posted March 19, 2015
- a student
This school is completly outrageous. The grading system is horrible and causes many students to transfer to other schools and the administrators wonder why half of the current junior class has left. They are so bewildered about the sudden drop in attendance that they have gone around and asked students why other students are leaving. For example, an 84% is a B, a 74% is a D, and a 64% and below is an F. This ridiculous grading system is the underlying reason why most students leave the school, or it's the crazy teachers. The school itself is in poor condition. The gym is leaking resulting in baby pools and buckets lying around collecting the water. Only at BECA can an indoor basketball game get "rained out."There is NO air conditioning leaving students hot and uncomfortable during the hot spring months. How are students expected to maintain such high standards in such uncomfortable conditions. The wifi password is not given to students unless you register your iPad with the school. Most of the teachers complain about their wage to the students, making the teachers unmotivated and not willing to help unless they are being paid. Overall, I woud not recommend sending a child here.

Bethlehem Catholic High School 2

Posted March 08, 2015
- a community member
Coming to Becahi was a regret. Most teachers are unbearable and are so unwilling to work with you. Unless you are a hot shot athlete no one in the school gives you a second thought. You pay 8k a year to go here and you would never know it. The school is falling apart. Water buckets throughout the school collecting water from holes in the roof is not incommon. Technology is sub par and the school does not even give out any of the wifi passwords to kids, unless you register your iPad with them, allowing them to track you and your activity throughout the school. The food is disgusting, countless times I've returned food because of hair in it. So many of the cafe tables have holes in them. The education received is not worth $8,000. Which doesn't include everything else you need to buy, some books for classes, uniform, etc. I would've much rather gone to a public school, my parents see what Beca actually is and have decided to not send any of my siblings there.

Bethlehem Catholic High School 1

Posted November 03, 2014
- a parent
Bethlehem Catholic High School What a waste of money, teachers are not great, if your child is not in sports you get no attention. My child was not happy and transferred to Liberty for senior year and loves it. Wish I would have done that for the other 3 years.


Bethlehem Catholic High School 2

Posted October 28, 2014
- a community member
At Bethlehem Catholic you pay 8000$ a year (for tuition not counting the uniforms and other ridiculous hidden charges ) for the illusion of a superior education. Sadly the majority of teachers are in no where qualified to teach a high school class. The teachers salaries are near minimum wage so are the faculty is unmotivated and uneducated. The school itself is also run down and only getting worse. Having a catholic school on your application doesn't even help you get into a better college. The majority of my graduating class went to pretty sub-par colleges, and public school kids with identical grades got into the same college as me only difference was they didn't waste 30k over 4 years. The education is as poor an any of the surrounding schools if you want your kid to learn make them take the honors courses in a public school and they will be better off and you will save 30k. I can't stress enough how big of a waste of money this school is please send your kids some where else.

Bethlehem Catholic High School 1

Posted December 01, 2012
- a parent
Honestly, after sending my daughter here for four years, the $30,000+ that I have spent on tuition was an absolute waste. Teachers are not required to have a degree in the subject they teach, just a general teaching degree. Unless you play sports, which virtually everyone does, you are treated horribly. The guidance counselors here do not prepare you for college and they do nothing involved with discipline; that is another person's responsibility. When my daughter was applying to colleges, I had to pay $3 per college just to send the transcripts, which took over 30 days for them to send. My younger son will definitely be attending Liberty High School when he reaches the age.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bethlehem Catholic High School
2133 Madison Avenue, Bethlehem, PA  18017
(610) 866-0791
Last modified Bethlehem Catholic High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Bethlehem Catholic High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top