Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
Bethlehem, PA
Students enrolled: 762
 

3 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

15 reviews of this school


Bethlehem Catholic High School 3

Posted March 19, 2015
- a student
This school is completly outrageous. The grading system is horrible and causes many students to transfer to other schools and the administrators wonder why half of the current junior class has left. They are so bewildered about the sudden drop in attendance that they have gone around and asked students why other students are leaving. For example, an 84% is a B, a 74% is a D, and a 64% and below is an F. This ridiculous grading system is the underlying reason why most students leave the school, or it's the crazy teachers. The school itself is in poor condition. The gym is leaking resulting in baby pools and buckets lying around collecting the water. Only at BECA can an indoor basketball game get "rained out."There is NO air conditioning leaving students hot and uncomfortable during the hot spring months. How are students expected to maintain such high standards in such uncomfortable conditions. The wifi password is not given to students unless you register your iPad with the school. Most of the teachers complain about their wage to the students, making the teachers unmotivated and not willing to help unless they are being paid. Overall, I woud not recommend sending a child here.

Bethlehem Catholic High School 2

Posted March 08, 2015
- a community member
Coming to Becahi was a regret. Most teachers are unbearable and are so unwilling to work with you. Unless you are a hot shot athlete no one in the school gives you a second thought. You pay 8k a year to go here and you would never know it. The school is falling apart. Water buckets throughout the school collecting water from holes in the roof is not incommon. Technology is sub par and the school does not even give out any of the wifi passwords to kids, unless you register your iPad with them, allowing them to track you and your activity throughout the school. The food is disgusting, countless times I've returned food because of hair in it. So many of the cafe tables have holes in them. The education received is not worth $8,000. Which doesn't include everything else you need to buy, some books for classes, uniform, etc. I would've much rather gone to a public school, my parents see what Beca actually is and have decided to not send any of my siblings there.


Bethlehem Catholic High School 1

Posted November 03, 2014
- a parent
Bethlehem Catholic High School What a waste of money, teachers are not great, if your child is not in sports you get no attention. My child was not happy and transferred to Liberty for senior year and loves it. Wish I would have done that for the other 3 years.

Bethlehem Catholic High School 2

Posted October 28, 2014
- a community member
At Bethlehem Catholic you pay 8000$ a year (for tuition not counting the uniforms and other ridiculous hidden charges ) for the illusion of a superior education. Sadly the majority of teachers are in no where qualified to teach a high school class. The teachers salaries are near minimum wage so are the faculty is unmotivated and uneducated. The school itself is also run down and only getting worse. Having a catholic school on your application doesn't even help you get into a better college. The majority of my graduating class went to pretty sub-par colleges, and public school kids with identical grades got into the same college as me only difference was they didn't waste 30k over 4 years. The education is as poor an any of the surrounding schools if you want your kid to learn make them take the honors courses in a public school and they will be better off and you will save 30k. I can't stress enough how big of a waste of money this school is please send your kids some where else.

Bethlehem Catholic High School 1

Posted December 01, 2012
- a parent
Honestly, after sending my daughter here for four years, the $30,000+ that I have spent on tuition was an absolute waste. Teachers are not required to have a degree in the subject they teach, just a general teaching degree. Unless you play sports, which virtually everyone does, you are treated horribly. The guidance counselors here do not prepare you for college and they do nothing involved with discipline; that is another person's responsibility. When my daughter was applying to colleges, I had to pay $3 per college just to send the transcripts, which took over 30 days for them to send. My younger son will definitely be attending Liberty High School when he reaches the age.


Bethlehem Catholic High School 5

Posted October 16, 2012
- a student
The education quality here is very high and provides students with a well-rounded education. They offer challenging and competitive courses. The teachers for the most part are very good and are more than happy to help any student who asks for it, however they do will not "hold a student's hand" through the class, as they emphasize independence and personal responsibility. The students and faculty are generally friendly and helpful. One does not have to join sports to be happy or accepted here, as I personally have never been involved in any sports and have enjoyed my experience. There are many other clubs that students can get involved in, and students are encouraged to begin their own clubs as well. However, I will say that getting involved is one of the best ways to succeed and make friends in this school. The school prepares all students well for SATs, and the guidance counselors do their best to help students with the college selection and application process. Some people may find their rules, specifically regarding dress code, to be strict, but that comes with the territory of a Catholic school.

Bethlehem Catholic High School 1

Posted July 07, 2011
- a student
If you are looking to send your either, new highschool son or daughter to an educational environment that would uphold the simplest necessities for a good high school experience. Bethlehem Catholic is not the choice for you. The tuition is over 8,000 dollars without a scholarship, you are basically paying for a far worse academic learning experience, a school with no A/C,and a very poor faculty. They say how much they care about ALL of their students like no other school, yet they divide their schools and favor certain students like no other as well. In an athletically focused school if you do not play sports or do any extra corricular activities you are soon forgotten. Also, the school makes it impossible to get in to a higher academic classes, due to their poor teaching. Which are the only classes that may have a good teacher (not gauranteed), all the standard class teachers dont excel in their field as a simple public school teacher may and from my experience as well as my fellow classmates can say, no one understands what the teacher is teaching and basically has to learn on their own. If you want to send your son or daughter to BECA, i strongly suggest to pick another school.

Bethlehem Catholic High School 5

Posted February 24, 2011
- a parent
Beca is AWESOME! What makes is so special are the people- the students and the teachers. It has a nice "family" feel to it. The administration is very willing to work with parents. The honors classes are challenging.


Bethlehem Catholic High School 1

Posted March 07, 2010
- a parent
Low academics, bizarre priorities with sports at the top of the list. If you care about quality education look elsewhere.

Bethlehem Catholic High School 5

Posted January 22, 2010
- a parent
Look no further for the best high school for your son or daughter. Faculty has fantastic credentials, sports programs are outstanding, parental involvement is second to none. If your child is college bound, this is the place to be. Almost all students go on to attend top quality 4 year colleges, from the Ivy's right on down the list.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bethlehem Catholic High School
2133 Madison Avenue, Bethlehem, PA  18017
(610) 866-0791
Last modified Bethlehem Catholic High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Bethlehem Catholic High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top