Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Berks Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 139 students

We are best known for loving Christian atmosphere.

 
 

Living in Birdsboro

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $155,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $810.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 8, 2014

My husband and myself are both products of Bcs .....we both graduated from there :) We loved it so much, we decided to send our three children there, with our youngest now a senior there. Berks Christian continues to be a " family school", you become part of that family when you send your kids there! All of my children participated and excelled in all the activities there........ As I truly believe in the " big fish, little pond" theory. All my kids got to act in plays, play on all sports teams, sing in choirs, and learn all they needed...... Because a smaller school allows EVERY ONE to be included! That gave them all the confidence they needed and used in their college and work life. I would highly recommend to anyone to send their children to Bcs !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2013

Like a parent said before, "this is a great place for a God centered atmosphere and being surrounded by caring people.", still, if you want your child concentrate on academic, don't come to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2012

I graduated from BCS about 6 years ago. This school was great, and I have remained great friends with my fellow classmates even to this date. This is a great school, a great atmosphere, and if I still lived in PA, I would send my kids to BCS in a hearbeat!


Posted January 20, 2012

I have two children in elementary at BCS. We have been VERY pleased with the education they are receiving. Their teachers are loving, communicative, and experienced. They have a wonderful curriculum that makes sure the little ones are excellent readers and have a solid understanding of the building blocks of math. They will not float through and miss these important fundamentals at this school. And at the same time, vital Biblical principles are at the core of everything they teach. Service to the community, respect for teachers and fellow students, and a personal walk with Christ are fostered there. The "new" administration (it's been two or three years now) has only been a plus. They are constantly working hard to improve an already excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2011

Our experience at Berks Christian School has been wonderful. The school has exceeded our expectations academically, in extra-curricular areas, and most importantly, spiritually. Because of the size and the dedicated staff, our son has had the opportunity to compete in sports, act in plays, sing in choral productions that included a four city tour this Spring, lead worship services, participate in bible studies, while being challenged by a college-prep academic program. As he heads off to college, we can thank BCS for providing a quality, well-rounded education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2011

Berks Christian School has been a wonderful experience for our children. THe class sizes allow for the teachers to really get to know your child. I am so thankful for the christian values and bible lessons the children are taught daily. By attending Christian school the Christian walk becomes a daily experience not just a Sunday thing. Parenting is difficult and partnering with a school that puts God first is very important.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

Our son was floundering in the Reading district because of inferior teaching/lesson plan & bullying: To watch him flower & grow within this magnificent institution is more than we could have prayed for. What is more important?? Values, God-based and a solid well-rounded education...it's all here1 Thank you for being! C & D Dudyk
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2011

Berks welcomed my son into their NILD program and have made a huge impact on his life. The entire staff is caring torward all their students. They teach biblical values daily and have a continually enjoyable, friendly, respectful, and safe atmosphere for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2011

I absolutely LOVE the teachers at BCS! They know and love my children in a way that they would never get in a class of 25 or 30 in the public schools. I also look forward to their involvement in the extra-curricular events that the school offers. It is amazing, how much talent is hidden in the school. There must be something that draws it out, I think it is the loving atmosphere that allows children to shine!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2010

As a student at Berks Christian School I have found a institution that is truly focused on making Christ preeminent. At BCS I feel cared for and totally at home. The school has a particularly good music program - considering its size - and every year is becoming stronger academically, already boasting great science, Bible, and English programs. This is not a "fix your child" school, but students will find it a place to grow spiritually and put there faith into practice.


Posted March 16, 2009

I am a graduate of BCS and now send my child there. The small classes give more individual attention and the Bible-based education the kids receive is so valuable. It may not have the 'bells and whistles' that a public school would have, but because it is small, everyone can contribute and participate in the extras. Also, I am excited about the new administator they have now - I believe this good school will only get better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2007

This is a great place for a God centered atmosphere and being surrounded by caring people. As far as academics, I am kind of dissappointed in thier use of dvd's to teach classes. Tuition is very high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2007

My daughter is a student at Berks and I love everything about it and I am able to see how Christian education is so very important in this day and time. Keep up the good work Berks Christian School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2006

Berks is an amazing school, not only academically, but also socially. As a student, I am surrounded with other people who genuinely care about me-other students, teachers, and parents. Though the school is small, our extracurriculars are wonderful, and they have given me some of the best experiences of my life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 9, 2004

As a graduate of Berks, and now sending our 3 children there, I have been happy with the overall education experience. Sure, no school is perfect, and I could name our schools faults. But when you have a loving , christian atmosphere,and caring teachers like at Berks--it's a given your child will do well here.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 71%
Black 10% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 3%
Hispanic 7% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation Lancaster Bible College
Albright
Liberty University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Japanese
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:45 pm
School Leader's name
  • Phil Warner
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (610) 404-0126

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Honors track
  • Supports home-based learning
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$5000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Tax credits
OSTC and EITC (Tax Scholarship Programs)

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Lancaster Bible College
Albright
Liberty University
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

926 Philadelphia Ter
Birdsboro, PA 19508
Website: Click here
Phone: (610) 582-1000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Birdsboro El Center
Birdsboro, PA


Lorane El School
Reading, PA




Reiffton School
Reading, PA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT