Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bloomsburg Area High School 4

Posted March 27, 2012
- a parent
Amazing school! Has come such a long way in the past few years. With a new, dynamic Superintendent and new Principal, Bloomsburg High (and the entire district) is now among the best. Academically out-competes all others in the area. As a parent with kids in the school and having hosted International visiting students, I am so impressed by this school and how many graduates go on to college and other great achievements. The HS is a hidden gem!!

Bloomsburg Area High School 0
no rating

Posted October 27, 2009
- a community member
I attended there during the 1971-1972 season, my first and only year at Bloomsburg High. I have since returned to the city I was born in; I will not return to Bloomsburg to live.


Bloomsburg Area High School 0
no rating

Posted May 16, 2007
- a parent
Extremely weak Superintendent, a Principal and Asst. Principal who only care about discipline and looking 'tough' and nothing about recognizing and supporting student academics and achievement. It is a school with low morale among the students and the staff.

Bloomsburg Area High School 2

Posted January 08, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Bloomsburg Area High School 4

Posted April 09, 2006
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.


Bloomsburg Area High School 3

Posted February 18, 2006
- a former student
I graduated from Bloomsburg in 2004 and since then I have seen a school that wasn't that great slide into a school which is pretty bad. The current principle has an issue with proving his authority and refuses to allow teenagers to be teenagers. Overall the teachers are fairly good, as with any institution there are the very good ones and the not so good, Bloomsburg is not exception. Athletics are very good at this school and have been for many years now. Academics are lacking... more emphasis is placed on athletics and the teachers have a lackadaisical attitude about virtually everything. Although Bloomsburg has its shortfalls it has still produced many intellectually sound graduates, but with that said if your child is not willing to do most everything on their own and teach themselves, this is not the place for them.

Bloomsburg Area High School 4

Posted October 04, 2005
- a former student
Rating : ***Good School, not a great school!

Bloomsburg Area High School 1

Posted November 05, 2004
- a former student
This review submitted without content.


Bloomsburg Area High School 3

Posted June 30, 2004
- a parent
Bloomsburg High School- many curricular activities are offered. Great parent/teacher communication. In comparison to the middle school, it has less school spirit at assemblies. More emphasis is given to sports and fewer awards or motivations are given for academic achievement, especially for incoming freshmen. Principal acted indirectly through other adults in the school most of this school year. Mostly good role models for my child.

Bloomsburg Area High School 4

Posted March 11, 2004
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bloomsburg Area High School
1200 Railroad St, Bloomsburg, PA  17815
(570) 784-6100
Last modified Bloomsburg Area High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bloomsburg Area High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top