Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Warren Snyder-John Birotti Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 642 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 21, 2013

This school has some excellent caring teachers. That being said, we had to remove our child due to the huge bullying problem that the administration refuses to get under control.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

I think this is a wonderful school. The reading programs and the PTA are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2009

My daughter came to synder girotti in the first grade and was very pleased with her teacher then and even more so as she has moved on now to the 5 th grade .Befor hear she was in a private school witch had a great succes rate but money did't allow us to futher her education there. When she was enrolled in the public school i very impressed to see that they use the same books ,hard back n workbook. Also the accademics exceeded my exspections with the changing of classes for those children who are above or below or just rite on the level they need. Another great aspect is they have extra help if it is needed and not to mention the children love all the extra activaties such as dances and clubs . My daughter and i have enjoyed every teacher and staff member thus far .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2009

My daughter is curretnly in 4th grade and started at this school in pre K. I can say that each and every teacher she has had is truly dedicated to the children and teaching. I have not had a problem with any teacher at all. The Principal an dher assistant run a nice school that the children are happy to go to each day. Some of the children however are bullies and the school does try to handle these situations properly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2009

My 2 Grandsons attend school here. They are getting the best grades EVER and are VERY happy!! Thank you.


Posted February 3, 2009

I am very pleased with this school, the teachers are great and are so willing to take their time with the students. Mrs. Parm is great she actually works with these kids. I have nothing bad to say about the school. Can't waith for the new school in the fall of 09
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2008

My child is in 2nd grade. I'm a little dissatisfied with the school's curriculum. The kids get so much work thrown at them during the day-that she doesn't know if she is coming or going. All has to be done and turned in on time. I am a concerned parent. I want to know how my child is doing and grading system. I was told by her current teacher that she felt that I had some hostility toward her and she felt like I was harrassing her because I was asking her questions about my child. What a horrible thing to say to a concerned parent. As fast as I can, my child will be coming out of this school! The administration is no better. I would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

My son is now in 3rd grade, we have loved every one of his teachers . He has received an exceptional education and is learning something new everyday. The teachers are so caring and nurturing, that it makes the transaction easier for me as a parent. I can't say enough about his education and the teachers response to his needs both educationally as well as personally. I am extremely happy with Snyder-girotti and look forward to the few years he has left there. Jackie
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2006

I have 2 children in the school and I am pleased with it. My daughter is excelling in every subject. I have friends with children the same age in different districts and their children are not as advanced even with their curriculum. I feel they do need more extracurricular activities for the children but education wise I am pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2004

Words couldn't express how happy we have been with Snyder-Girotti. This school has a long history of good faculty. I myself went to grade school here. My son started here 2001, and one year after the next to one teacher after the next has been fabulous. Thanks to all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2004

We had to remove our two children from this school due to the harsh atmosphere. Both of them had teachers who often yelled at the class and were overly punitive in our opinion. Our kids were not in trouble but were upset by the atmosphere. We tried to work with the administration without success. To be fair, our son had one good year with an exceptional teacher, but there doesn't seem to be adequate supervision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2004

My son is in Kindergarten and we love it. He has learned so much since September, not only academic, but personal as well. I never thought I would be this impressed. His teacher is great! He requires each child to respect one another and teaches them to be proud of their achievements. I couldn't be happier with the education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2004

Snyder-Girotti is an excellent school with an excellent staff. As an educator myself I feel that this school is top notch. My daughter loves school and would go year round if possible. The teachers there not only make every student feel special but they are very receptive to the parents concerns and issues as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

101 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2012.

101 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
76%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2012.

77 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
68%

2009

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

77 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
65%

2009

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2012.

81 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
79%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

96 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
54%

2009

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 65% in 2012.

96 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
52%

2009

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2012.

101 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
56%

2009

 
 
55%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students59%
Female58%
Male60%
Black44%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multi-ethnic46%
White65%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities (IEP)39%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students55%
Female63%
Male50%
Black44%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multi-ethnic55%
White55%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities (IEP)33%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
Female70%
Male72%
Black46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)50%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students57%
Female53%
Male60%
Black36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities (IEP)44%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students67%
Female65%
Male68%
Black46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities (IEP)55%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students48%
Female54%
Male44%
Black24%
Asiann/a
Hispanic16%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students39%
Female51%
Male30%
Black11%
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students56%
Female68%
Male48%
Black32%
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 71%
Black 20% 15%
Hispanic 18% 8%
Two or more races 11% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

450 Beaver St
Bristol, PA 19007
Phone: (215) 781-1020

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Ann School
Bristol, PA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT