Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

West Creek Hills El School

Public | K-4

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 25, 2013

I am a parent of 2 children, who studied in year 2012-13 (one is 4th Grade and other in Kindergarten). For both of them, teachers (Mr Baldwin, Mrs. Burt) were very helpful, and encouraging. Greatschools rating should be 9 for this school :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2013

I'm a parent with 2 children studying at WCH's,1 in 4th grade and another one in KG. I've found the teachers n staff at school very friendly n approachable...till now my kids 've enjoyed the school environment. I wish them to keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2013

Both my children attended WCH and there is good and bad. I was greatly impressed with Principal Fry, but McDonald left much to be desired. She definitely had her favorites and ignored the rest, for example, the same children had their average artwork featured in the newsletter monthly. It was a running joke to see "Suzy's" artwork in all 9 newsletters of the school year. And McD loved her photo ops. East Penn is a blue collar/ former rural school with new professionals moving in, but the cliques from years past are very much in place. Most teachers are former students or related to someone at the school. Very odd to those coming from other suburban areas. A big problem started when the school board president wanted to cut taxes since his kids didn't need higher education to make it as successful businessmen and he was proud to admit that they were cutting as much fluff as possible (foreign languages, art, music) & meeting the state's "minimum" standards. My kids are in high school now and EPASD is very good with special ed and speech difficulties, but just average with overall education. Not a school for those that thrive on academic thrills, but ok if staying local.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2013

My son has experienced bullying since he started in this school and there are a lot of clichs. My son has been in this school for 21/2 years now. For the first 2 years he had teachers that were willing to work with him but this year the teacher does not appear to work well with the students. If your child does not need any extra help, this school is great. But if your child is struggling, this school is not very helpful. It is a shame that a couple teachers can give the school a bad name.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

We started in WCH this year after homeschooling for 4 years. We have a kindergartener and a 4th grader. This school is a great school. The teachers are very involved with the students and are able to tailor lessons to meet the needs of the child. Both of our children are big readers and they have been provided many opportunities to grow. The staff is warm and friendly and are always helping the kids. It is a very wonderful environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

Poor Management. Have a No Bullying Policy that never gets enforced. Lots of 'Home Cooked' Favoritism and even Clicks at such a young age! Shows administrators Lack management skills and leadership ability!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2007

No better principal than Mrs. McDonald who cares for each and every child. Teachers are outstanding from Mrs. Yohn to Mr. Baldwin...fantastic teachers who know what they are doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

Mr. Richard Fry had this school on a course for success. He has accepted a position at Big Spring, And the Leadership has suffered a significant blow. This school is average when it has the potential to be a top elementary program. Poor Guidance services and poor admin services result in an unstable/usatisfactory rating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2006

We have two children in the school now and we feel so fortunate for them to be in such a wonderful environment for learning! I am often in the school and always find new and interesting things displayed in the hallways. The teachers always welcome parental involvement and have been excellent motivators for our little minds. We feel our children are experiencing a great start in their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2004

What a wonderful environment for children! Our family has lived in several different states and this school system is by far the best we've been in. 4 of my children have attended West Creek and we have truly enjoyed it. I am very pleased with both the quality of curriculum and administration as well. If you are looking for an elementary school that has the children's best interest at heart, you've found it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

106 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2012.

106 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
89%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2012.

92 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

91 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2012.

90 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students93%
Female91%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)64%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students78%
Female81%
Male75%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)36%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students99%
Female98%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students88%
Female89%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students94%
Female96%
Male93%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multi-ethnicn/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 71%
Hispanic 8% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
Black 5% 15%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

400 Erford Rd
Camp Hill, PA 17011
Phone: (717) 732-0142

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Harrisburg Academy
Wormleysburg, PA


Eisenhower El School
Camp Hill, PA


Zion Academy
Harrisburg, PA


Steele School
Harrisburg, PA



Hoover El School
Camp Hill, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT