Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North Brandywine Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 24, 2014

Our school has the most down to earth, dedicated, do anything for you teachers and staff. We are fighting financial issues in our school district and although there is not much to fund events, the school has a way of making day to day life at this school fun and exciting. I challenge any school in the country, let alone, PA, that can make horrible conditions seems uneventful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2014

North Brandywine Middle School has been a great experience so far. The principal, Ms. Taylor, is very attentive and involved along with many of the other teachers. My daughter has advanced academically since attending this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2014

This District may have it's problems but many of the schools in the District are awesome. We have a very diverse group of students and the teachers are great. Our Principal and Vice Principal are the best and really have an open door policy and listen to parents and help with any problems. My son loves this school and is getting a great education. The music program is top notch. I hope they add more computer classes and bring back world language and shop though. The school is old but they clean it well. The PTA is the best and work really hard to offset the cost of field trips for all our families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2013

This is a terrible school district as a whole! The teachers/staff are only human. They do the best they can. However, these schools have a very high rate of crime, drugs, and VIOLENCE!!! In fact, my son was getting beat up in the bathrooms. I had to pull him out. My daughter comes home with a new horror story everyday about the violence. I just started counselling with her to help control her panic attacks brought on by this violence. With that being said, the teachers do the best they can with the kids that are truly there to learn. Unfortunately for those kids, though, they are few and far between & fall through the cracks. TOO many distractions. You would be doing your child a true disservice by allowing them to go to Coatesville Public Schools - try a Charter School instead....just a suggestion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The staff and administrators at North Brandywine go the extra mile for all of the students entrusted to their care and also the staff is looked upon as family. The atmosphere that is shown everyday is one of success is the key to the future.


Posted August 29, 2009

I am a very happy parent of NBMS. My daughters have come so far. When they entered NBMS their test scores were low, but with the fabulous teachers and caring administrative team my daughters are now scoring advance on their PSSA's. My youngest daughter can't wait to return to school because she misses Ms. Sober and Mrs. Young. This is the best middle school in the district. Way to go NBMS!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

Since transferring to this district my son's test scores for reading dropped ten points. Education is not taken as seriously as my previous school district. I am looking into private school for my son so that he does not fall behind or end up average or below when he has the ability. And what is up with the homework? The homework levels are below standard. How are they going to prepare for high school and college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2008

I think this is a great school. Aside from the pushing and shoving in th hallways and the foul mouthed people running around thinking that they own the school. There are many racial problms in this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 29, 2007

it is a great school my daughter finley understands math thanx to Mr. Fraterman i give it five stars
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2006

This school is a great school it has wonderful teachers that teach them a lot and still have fun with the kids!1
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 25, 2006

I believe students can receive a good education here only if they have the best teachers(there are many)and happen to be in the highest academic classes. Otherwise students may be subject to numerous behavioral classroom distractions. School could use more clubs and extra-curriclar. Nbms used to have many great clubs and a high level of school spirit. This has diminished for many years. The facilities are extremely tired and the maintenance and cleanliness leave much to be desired. Many of the teachers are young and freshly motivated to make a positive mark on the kids. Academically, not much homework is given. No foreign language is taught. Most class sizes are huge while some are small due to inept scheduling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2006

Overall, I think my son is getting a good education at North. He had a difficult time adjusting his first year there, as there are some pretty tough kids and there were some fights, but his second year has gone much more smoothly. Most of his teachers are great--they are qualified and are genuinely interested in the kids. He gets really excited about some of his classes, like his computer technogoly class and cooking class. The building itself is in disrepair, but the school district has it on the list for rennovation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2005

this is just the worst school ever. The children push each other into the locker in the halls and say very foul words. The teacher seem to do a great job the problem is many of the children are very hard to handel and the teachers must spend to much time with these students. Leaving the ones who want to learn till last - I feel that all is done that can be and don't want my child to miss out on a great education. Please note I went to Coatesville area schools. I am doing fine but do think things would have gone better in a better school. Right now 2005 the sports for the 6th grader is none! Yes that is what I said you must be in 7th before you can play any sports. Level of parent involvement is very low in this middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

169 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
71%

2009

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2012.

170 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
63%

2009

 
 
65%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2012.

172 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
73%

2009

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2012.

169 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
76%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2012.

133 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
72%

2009

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2012.

137 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2012.

133 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
52%

2009

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 73% in 2012.

133 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
62%

2009

 
 
73%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students78%
Female81%
Male75%
Black61%
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities (IEP)39%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students67%
Female81%
Male56%
Black42%
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities (IEP)21%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female78%
Male65%
Black43%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities (IEP)16%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students73%
Female85%
Male63%
Black57%
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities (IEP)19%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Math

All Students74%
Female74%
Male73%
Black53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female80%
Male77%
Black61%
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)37%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students57%
Female54%
Male61%
Black29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic0%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities (IEP)24%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students71%
Female85%
Male56%
Black59%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multi-ethnicn/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities (IEP)24%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Pennsylvania used the Pennsylvania System of State Assessments (PSSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in math and reading, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The results for reading, writing, science and math are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The PSSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Pennsylvania. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 71%
Black 26% 15%
Hispanic 11% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

256 Reeceville Rd
Coatesville, PA 19320
Phone: (610) 383-3745

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Scott Middle School
Coatesville, PA



Gordon Education Center
Coatesville, PA


Graystone Academy Cs
Coatesville, PA


Downington Middle School
Downingtown, PA


Beaver Creek El School
Downingtown, PA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT